We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Nearby Hotels
$300
$208
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$412
$188
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$530
$213
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$303
$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$386
$252
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$490
$291
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$358
$274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$338
$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$318
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sakura Terrace(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$308
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
96
62
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
62
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskyoto stationthe staff was friendly and helpfultraditional stylestayed for nightsaccommodationjapancapsulebakery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 163 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The owners backpacked extensively themselves and it shows in small things. From a paper guide with  information you will actually use, to free umbrellas to lend when raining to wifi with multiple acces points to great English speaking staff that gives you a little map of the area with local eateries and a thank you present at checkout. Not to mention the good value tatami rooms that are cleaned daily. This inn has it all nailed down to perfection!
The only remark I have is one that the staff can't do much about but is important to know. The rooms lie on a quiet street but the (un) loading of trucks from the clinic/hospital opposite will wake you up late at night (12pm) and early in the morning from 5am. we stayed on the first floor maybe it's less noisy on higher floors. Use earplugs and you'll be fine.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank graskaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel really wants you to enjoy the best of what Kyoto has to offer. The guide book inside the room compiled all the necessary information for tourists such as opening hours of temples, dining options, Kyoto side trips and etc. It was easy to communicate with the front desk staff because he could speak in English and was very friendly. The hotel is not that far from Kyoto Station and you could walk for 10 minutes to get there. There are a few nearby bus stops too. The free kimono experience was definitely worth doing if you've never tried one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days. We liked our room very much and they cleaned the rooms everyday which is very important for us.

The staffs were very kind and helpful. Alao there was a guidebook in the room that helped us a lot.

The location of the hotel is very good. You can easily find the hotel from Kyoto station and all buses start from kyoto station so it's easy to go any other places from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Şeyma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been to many budget-friendly ryokans in Japan, so I expected the Budget Inn to be just like others where the staff barely speaks English and the facilities lacking. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that Budget Inn was tailored to fit foreign travelers. Everyone at the front desk speaks English very fluently and they were very helpful and knowledgable about Kyoto. I stayed there one night with my parents. The room was a bit small for three people, but still comfortable with quite thick mattresses (not the typical Japanese futon) and en-suite bathroom. WiFi was free of hassle (sometimes you need to register and login to access even the so-called free internet here!) and you could borrow stuff from the common room (alarm clocks, extra hangers, etc)
last but not least, it's just a few minutes walk from the station so it's perfect to explore the city on public transport. I'd definitely stay there again next time I go to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SriSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Budget Inn for a total of 8 nights in June 2013 for a business cum leisure trip. The spacious 25 sqm private room with attached bathroom and a small but functional kitchenette keeps us comfortable throughout our stay. The walking distance to Kyoto train station is around 10 minutes using inner paths (try to avoid using the main road as it takes longer and can get busy at times). There are supermarkets, Lawson, and nice eating places nearby the hostel, and there is a little playground nearby their sister hostel, Tour Club, which is in the same area. The hosts speak very good English and attended to all our queries/needs politely and even provided us extra futon at no charge (probably because we stay there for 8 nights!).

We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estherhallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews