We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful adventure in the mountains”
other travelers have booked this property
I am 150 years old.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
I am 150 years old.
2nd floor ,Attic room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
I am 150 years old.
2nd floor ,Attic room
A traditional Japanese room with buddhism alter.
Tatami room 2
Japanese sleeping style Futon
Garden
Our neighbors surrounded by trees
'Irori' room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Shower room
Toilet
Laundry machine
Free-rent bicycles
Cherry tree nearby our house
Here is so many fireflies !!
Waterfall
1000 years old cedars forest
Mountain view
Neighborhood landscape
Neighborhood landscape
Our neighborhood
Fushimi Inari shrine
Golden Palace
Bamboo forest
Our dog Gon
Our dog Azuki
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
letsgo220...
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful adventure in the mountains”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were very fortunate to find this amazing little house owned by Hideo and his beautiful wife Yukako. We spent a fantastic weekend and which provided us a wonderful opportunity to experience the Japanese countryside in Keihoku which is about a 1 hour, scenic bus ride from the Kyoto train station. Hideo and Yukako have good English speaking skills and they are very engaging and kind hosts. WE had many laughs together, good conversation and we were treated like family. The beds were comfortable with a large kitchen and dining room. Plenty of room for the whole family. I recommend adding on some of the activities Hideo offers to enhance your visit. Cooking and enjoying a meal, a hike in an ancient forest to see 800 year old cedar trees, there are bicycles for riding around the beautiful pastoral farmlands. Yukako is a great cook and you can arrange to add on meals to your stay for a small fee.This is a great opportunity to leave the big cities of Japan behind and see the countryside. You will have an experience to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts were amazing and traveling up the mountainside with Hideo and Yukako to the forest preserve.
Liked least: not much
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
We enjoyed life with them very much. They helped to entertain TV show for us. Then Japan people can watch TV program "jinsei no rakuen"(paradise of life) on Dec 3rd at 18:00 Asahi TV. I will enjoy this program. And I will send DVD soon.
Thank you very much for everything.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbar2016
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Unique wonderful place to visit!”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was such a pleasure and beautiful experience to visit . We can't thank our hosts Hideo and his wife enough for all the personal attention and private touring that we booked with him. We felt like visiting family and would definitely return .The house was nice and clean and had everything we needed. The nature and area around is absolutely stunning with lots of hiking trails ,waterfalls etc. Kyoto is also only about one hour away .We would highly recommend to visit!
Thanks again
Marianne & Hezy

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
I enjoyed all activities with you very much. We could get many knowledge from you about American culture. Yukako and I enjoyed good dinner in chicken restaurant. This restaurant master want to meet you again like us. You are very funny person. Please come back again near future. I bought big bike now. Then please bring international drivers license in your hand.

Thank you again.

Yukako and Hideo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita A
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid vacation Tokuheian-an”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our visit to Kyoto countryside was most definitely the highlight of our trip to Japan!
We fell in love with Keihoku. Our gracious Hosts Hideo and Yukako were amazing! Very warm and friendly they felt like old friends.It was the most relaxing and fun vacation . We enjoyed the many tours they have to offer , hiking , sightseeing, shopping enjoyed nice dinners together sharing stories and laughter! I highly recommend a visit here if you want to relax and enjoy the "Real Japan". This beautiful Thached house is truly a wonderful place for all to enjoy, very clean and comfortable with such an amazing traditional feel! Hideo and Yukako will make sure all of your needs are met, They made our dreams come true! I enjoyed the vegetable garden . The fresh vegetables were delicious ! Farm to table fresh! As well as the seaside tour, a fish market with fresh seafood just off the boat so delicious , some cooked on site at a small cafe and some we took home and prepared ourselves. Yukako is an AMAZING cook!
Really enjoyed learning new recipes from her. All in all I feel they offer something for everybody! I hope to return , it really felt like home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Thank you Anita and Oscar very much. You helped so many job. Reair the gutter,plant tomato and maple trees,built a foot rest by wood,farming,make a good food,give us the good ideas and so on.
They were very kind ind friendly too. They always respect us and Japan culture very much. We enjoyed all activities with us. I want to support them more. Please come back here again.
Thank you again.
Yukako and Hideo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlpc17
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in this lovely place for 4 days. Hideo was very helpful picking us up from the bus stop where we then went to the supermarket to buy supplies for meals. They had cute dogs which were great entertainment for the kids and the dogs even followed us up the back of the house and into a wooded area where we often went for walks. We ate at restaurants walking distance away from the property and we also had two delicious meals with Hideo and Yukako. When we cooked for ourselves Hideo let us use some of his fresh produce from his vegetable garden. There was a horse riding place again about 10 minutes walk away from the property they didn't speak much english there but it was great fun for the kids! The traditional Japanese style made it a great experience for our family. Overall we loved our experience in Kyoto the hosts being very helpful and would definitely recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
We stayed thatched house with Helen and Adam family. They were very kind and friendly people. We loved their 2 daughter's smile and their help. 2 daughters always took care of our dogs. We could talk about wide stories at the same dinner table. It was so fun time. I hope you will come to us near future. We are looking forward to your daughters growing up!
Thank you again Hideo & Yukako Gab,Gon,Azuki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
17HCW17
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed 4 nights here and loved it. Don't be put off by the 'sleeps 15' - I nearly was but you are charged by the number of people that stay. Hideo picked us up from the bus stop and took us to the supermarket for supplies for breakfast etc. We had dinner (reasonably priced) with Yukako and Hideo two out of the four nights and it was the best food we ate in the four days. The kids also enjoyed the food. We cooked a couple of meals for ourselves and Hideo kindly let us help ourselves to the fresh vegetables from his garden. There are a couple of restaurants within 10 minutes walk so if you don't want to cook or eat at home there are options.

The property backs onto a wooded area that is nice to walk through. Our children loved walking and playing with the three dogs. Hideo or Yukako were always around to help advise us on what to do or where to go and speak very good English. Hideo will let you borrow one of his cars for a nominal fee plus petrol and I would recommend you do this. You just need an international driving licence. It enabled us to drive to the sea and round and about and to the local onsen without having to rely on Hideo.

A big plus for us was the riding stables 10 minutes walk from the house so the children could ride. Whilst this is not a four star hotel (and therefore might not suit everyone's taste) you really do get the full Japanese experience in a traditional house sleeping on the futons with a lovely thick duvet (it was cold in the evenings and mornings). The Japanese pillows were like rocks though, filled with some sort of grain so be sure to ask Hideo for the softer ones or bring your favourite pillow along!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
We stayed thatched house with Helen and Adam family. They were very kind and friendly people. We loved their 2 daughter's smile and their help. 2 daughters always take care of my baby dog(golden retriever). We could talk about wide stories at the same dinner table. Thank you very much to say "OISHII(delicious) to Yukako. I hope you will come to us near future. Adam is very lucky man. Because he always can stay with 3 beautiful ladies. I think Adam is very happy! I hope you will continue travel in Japan.
Thank you again

Hideo & Yukako Gab,Gon,Azuki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kyoto City Escape”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I found this place relaxing as well as interesting, not only because of the Keihoku area but also because staying in this thatched roof house was an experience all in itself. I enjoyed this stay because it was away from the noise of the Kyoto and surrounded by the farming community that still had much to offer in ways of temples and natural beauty. If you really want to experience Japan, I highly recommend this place. As well, the homeowners are extremely friendly and incredibly helpful, I could not have asked for better hosts.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
We are very happy to read hiscomment. We could enjoy dinner with him. He always be polite and friendly. I hopehe will come back again. We want to visit his coutry near future. He was nice guy. If he will visit us again, I will support him more.
Thank you.

Yukako and Hideo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine...
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tout la maison et nos hôtes
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2016
Thank you very much for your good comment.I roughly understand. :)
I hope French guests will see this comment for getting French guests.
Hideo,Yukako,Gon&Azuki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing