We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Accommodation of my Japan Trip”
Review of K's House Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
K's House Kyoto
Ranked #5 of 410 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at K's House Kyoto early Feb 2013 and was extremely happy with the hostel. Only about 15mins walk from Kyoto station and impossible to get lost on the way. If you've ever visited Japan you will know that cleanliness is somewhat of a national obsession (pretty sure that the public toilets are cleaner than my own!) and this standard is kept at K's House.

We were staying in a private room with ensuite, and found it immaculately presented with a pretty comfy bed, a touch firm but that seems to be the norm in Japan anyway. Room is compact but still fit two Westerners with lots of luggage no problem. And best of all, a full height shower! After two weeks of capsule bathrooms in other parts of Japan, I was in heaven. Toiletries were provided as well (shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc) plus a couple of towels.
Common areas were excellent as well, lots of comfy couches and tables to hang out in. Two full kitchens provided for guest use, so if you're on a cost saving trip this would be excellent to keep most meals in-house. Strong wifi available for free or a good amount of PC's scattered about for use at a nominal charge (like 100Y for 30mins). Also used the clothes washing and drying facilities a couple of times, also cheap (300Y for a big load to be washed and dried).
Did also pop into the cafe/bar for a couple of drinks and the buffet breakfast a couple of days, pretty nice space and the food and drink was reasonably priced.

Best of all K's House Kyoto is smoke-free, something you appreciate after staying in some accommodation in Japan that still allows smoking in the rooms.

Would absolutely recommend K's House Kyoto to any travellers - incredibly good value for money, very friendly staff with a good amount on English speakers, clean, tidy, great location. Was totally bummed to realise (too late) that K's also operates in Hakuba, where I could have saved a lot of money staying instead of the lodge we ended up in. As there are a fair few K's Houses scattered around Japan now, next time we visit I will be sure to book in to one or more of these hostels again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teds28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 835 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Family of four stayed in Japanese room. Middle school aged children loved the futons. Not much else in the room. There is a cupboard which holds the futons but when futons are out - it is impossible to open the cupboard - can place futons in such a way to get access to the cupboard but this means walking over other futons to get to yours and one was partly folded up against the wall - but this allowed us to put all our stuff in the cupboard - otherwise there is just a few hangers. Futons were fine for comfort - as much padding as a foam mattress on the floor. Bathrooms and kitchens were clean. Staff and other guests were nice. Saw other families with kids there. Not much space at all in the room once futons were out - fine for us as we only had two backpacks. Walking distance from station was fine for us - but if you had preschool children it would be a bit of a pain unless they were good walkers. Atmosphere and cleanliness when we stayed were very suitable for families.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a very welcoming hostel with friendly staff who give great advice and information on surrounding areas. The staff's English is great and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. It is a short walk from the station and also central for bike riding to nearby spots. Overall an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although this K’s House is much bigger than the others, it was still a lovely place to stay at a very reasonable price. Nice kitchen and eating/lounge area with great atmosphere – the bar downstairs was nice too, as were the bar staff! Breakfast is probably not worth it – we bought our own after trying theirs on the first day. Reception staff were helpful looking things up for us and giving us directions (make sure you get the 500 yen all-day bus pass if travelling a lot on the bus) and the hostel was generally clean. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilhelmshavener19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is an excellent backbackers that had a great lounge/kitchen area and superb vibe. The staff were all excellent and spoke superb english. The bathrooms were almost constantly being cleaned too. There is also an attached bar that lots of guest go to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gianouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Not too far from Kyoto station, K's house is tucked into a quiet side-street right off one of the main roads. It's staff is very friendly and helpful, and speak excellent English if your Japanese is rusty.

They upgraded us to a first-floor room, since we checked in a little early, and even though we were right across from the main entrance, the noise level was never annoying. The hostel was very quiet the whole time we were there.

Extra perks are the laundry room on the second floor, a common eating area/lounge/kitchen fully stocked with dishware, utensils and cookware, and free wifi throughout the building. The coffee shop attached to the hostel was also convenient and inexpensive and we dropped in a couple times for a snack and something warm to drink.

It's location is also great for sight-seeing. There's several buses that pass nearby on their way to the temples and Gion district, or you can walk to the train station in about fifteen minutes and catch a ride there as well. Restaurants aren't as plentiful in the immediate area, but there's several dining options just a couple blocks over, and the station itself is crammed full of them.

Overall, we had a wonderful time staying here, and will definitely be returning on our next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed in K's House before, and was, once again, not disappointed. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the train station - it's a bit hidden, but if you follow the directions they provide it's easy enough to find. We had a private room with an ensuite bathroom. Obviously it was not spacious, but for our needs, it was more than sufficient. The room was clean and tidy and included a air conditioning/heating and a TV with basic channels. Wi-fi was available in our room and worked quite well. More than anything, it is the wonderful staff that makes this hostel what it is. Any question we asked, any need we had, the staff went above and beyond to help in any way they could. They are VERY knowledgeable about the sights to see in the area, with advice on buses and trains as well as the attractions themselves. The availability of an easy-to-use laundry facility is also quite helpful, especially if you're staying for a longer period of time. As it is close to the train station and many sights and attractions, I would DEFINITELY recommend K's House for anyone wanting to spend some time sightseeing in Kyoto!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aniahime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Piece Hostel Sanjo
Piece Hostel Sanjo
#1 of 410 in Kyoto
503 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Piece Hostel Kyoto
Piece Hostel Kyoto
#2 of 410 in Kyoto
967 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#6 of 410 in Kyoto
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#20 of 410 in Kyoto
269 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
#10 of 410 in Kyoto
58 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Centurion Cabin & Spa Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K's House Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Kyoto

Address: 418 Nayacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8142, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 410 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $21 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Kyoto 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
K's House Kyoto is located only 9 min walk from JR Kyoto station. We offer you a variety of rooms as well as dorm beds and also spacious lounge, fully equipped guest kitchen, internet access and English speaking staff. We wish to offer all you global travelers a comfortable & memorable stay in Kyoto and also an opportunity to be in a cross cultural atmosphere and to meet new friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your K's House Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k`s House Kyoto Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing