We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful machiya and excellent location in Kyoto!”
other travelers have booked this property
Protector of the house, Samurai Bob, in the 2nd floor Japanese tatami mat room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Protector of the house, Samurai Bob, in the 2nd floor Japanese tatami mat room
Entrance into the traditional Japanese garden The spacious living, dining and kitchen area is great for a large group
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Protector of the house, Samurai Bob, in the 2nd floor Japanese tatami mat room
Entrance into the traditional Japanese garden
The spacious living, dining and kitchen area is great for a large group
Modern dining area with 100 year old wooden door to access the bathroom
The living room with 'Hibachi' table and 52 inch flat-screen TV
The modern kitchen with induction stove, dishwasher, Nespresso machine, etc. with our Hotei-san gods
Our three traditional Hotei-san (Fushimi doll), gods protecting the house against fire
Japanese tatami mat room (with old traditional wedding kimono)
The old traditional wedding kimono
Ichimatsu ningyo doll, a traditional present for young girls
The LDK and the Japanese tatami room are separated by a  Fusuma paper door
The main bedroom upstairs, with two single beds
The Japanese tatami mat room on the 2nd floor,  with special red wall, 'Geisha tea house' style
The Japanese tatami mat room becomes a bedroom with two futons
The fully automatic washer/dryer is very convenient for travelers
The bathroom, wooden walls and automatic bath control system
2nd floor toilet
Tsukubai in the garden
The garden during the 'Kouyou' season (Autumn)
Floor Plan
Kinkaku-Ji, the Golden Pavilion
Fushimi Inari Taisha Shrine (10-12 minutes by Bicycle)
Tofukuji Temple (7 minutes by bicycle)
Toji Temple (15 minutes by bicycle)
Toyokuni Shrine (9 minutes away on foot)
Yasaka Pagoda (20 minutes away on foot)
Kiyomizu Dera Temple during a night light-up (20 minutes away on foot)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
molemansu...
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful machiya and excellent location in Kyoto!”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful machiya and an excellent location within Kyoto. It is within walking distance to many temples, shrines, restaurants, and shopping. Also very close proximity to bus and subway stations too.

The machiya itself was perfect-the environment, design, furnishings, etc., and with details to attention (even providing the washing powder, paper products, tea, fully equipped kitchen with utensils, etc.)

The rooms were comfortable and cosy. The staff was very friendly and attentive and only around when requested. The wi-fi was very fast and there were English options available on the television through YouTube, etc.

We had a great experience and we will definitely recommend the apartment to others as well!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Thank you very much for your comment. We're glad you enjoyed the house and your stay in Kyoto, and we hope to have again the pleasure of welcoming you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannahsia...
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful ”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The house was lovely. It was cosy but big enough that 4 of us stayed there for two weeks without feeling like we were falling over each other.

The two tatami rooms are beautiful, one with samurai armour and the other with a wedding kimono. The futons were actually very comfortable! I'm told that the western beds were comfortable too.
The dining, sitting and kitchen area was nice but we couldn't get the Netflix to work and make use of the nice big TV but that's probably just us not being able to work it out!
The bathroom was my favourite room in the house because the bath was so lovely!

It's easy to get around from here, lots of busses go past and it's not far from the river, you can walk or cycle along the river path to reach places like the downtown area.
There's a couple of supermarkets close to the house too and some nice little places to eat.

The owners were very helpful and organised soccer tickets for us as well as giving us the suggestion of going to the flea market which we didn't know about.
We really enjoyed our stay here!

I look forward to coming back to Kyoto myself with my best friend in a years time and I'd love to stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thanks a lot for your comment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
(For the Netflix issue, you should have asked us!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeleine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional home”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This place is beautiful! It's so authentic, yet with all modern conveniences that you'd need.

It was a little tricky checking in and finding it as it's at the end of an alley, off an alley, down a side street. :o) Once we found it though we were toughly impressed.

We stayed in June 2016 with 5 adults, one 6yo and one 3yo. We were nearly at the full capacity of the house, but never felt cramped.

The kitchen is well appointed with a great, large dining table we all could fit around, as well as a couch. The laundry and bathroom were fantastic and 2 toilets so there were never any issues.

There were plenty of bus stops around to easily get to all the attractions. Although we didn't find many restaurants round close-by (although maybe we just headed in the wrong direction). There was plenty of tourist information provided by the owners so you could easily plan the next day's itinerary.

The stairs are SUPER steep. The kids always had to go down on their bums. My husband is tall and he did bump his head many times coming down the incredibly steep stairs, but he had that problem all through out Japan. ;o)

The beds upstairs were fantastic. The beds down stairs were thin and hard, so we did do some bed shuffling to help fix this issue.
The walls between the rooms are just paper, so if you have any snoring travel mates, it can be hard to escape.

I would highly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authentic feel to the place, especially Bob the Samurai.
Liked least: beds down stairs.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thanks a lot for your comment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the house.

Regarding the stairs, they are not that steep... ;-) Traditional stairs are more like ladder !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Wi
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved this Town House”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this wonderful property with my wife and 19 yo daughter.

The check in/reception office is a short walk from the central Kyoto JR station. The friendly and efficient reception staff spoke excellent English.

The taxi ride to the the townhouse form the check-in office cost about 830yen.

The property was easy to find.

The property is immaculately presented and had all of the things we needed for our stay and more.

There are good places to eat within a short walk of the property.

Transport (bus) is a short walk but if you are keen the walk to town is not onerous.

Potential guests who have disabilities or who are aged need to be aware that there is set of steep stairs to negotiate. We did not find this a problem but some might.

The owners were exceptionally helpful and maintained contact via email leading up to and during our stay.

We will certainly stay in this property again (or one of those in this 'stable') if we are lucky enough to return to Kyoto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: we loved this place!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are travelers too and are trying to provide a good experience for our guests, from start to finish!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGuerra
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy house, good location”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Kyoto Sanjusan Samurai Machiya is a very pleasant place to stay. It is cozy and confortable. The faciliteis provided (kitchen, bath, TV) are perfect for a family. We were 6 persons and this two-floor house had enough space for us. There is a room in the first floor where two people can stay. So, for an older traveller, there is no need to use the stairs.
It was not so easy to find the house, because the taxi driver left us in a different street as that signed in the map. But once we know the way, we can see that is very well located, not far away from the Kyoto train station. It is at a walking distance from Family Mart, a convenience store that helped us quite a lot.
Akiko and Patrick are very friendly and provide some important information about Kyoto.
I really recomend this special house for your vacation and hope you have a time as nice as ours!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its location
Liked least: It was a little difficult to find the house, but Patrick found us!!!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Thank you very much for your comment. We're glad you liked the house and enjoyed your stay. And yes, we're always happy to help our guests discover what an amazing city Kyoto is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephsmi...
washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

good location near the JR station, nice decor inside, rooms are spacious by Japanese standards. good communication between the owners and renters, would definitely recommend this property to anyone

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Thank you, Joseph.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous spacious apartment in a good location”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Machiya. The apartment was spacious by Japanese standards with separate bedrooms and lounge/kitchen area. The bedding was a combination of western and Japanese bedding, both of which were comfortable. The living area had a lounge, large TV, western style dining chairs and table and well equipped kitchen. The bathroom/laundry downstairs was a good size with generous bath and 2 separate toilets were a big bonus - one upstairs and one downstairs. The area was residential and quiet but with good access to public transport. It was only a short bus ride to Kyoto's main shopping/entertainment area and walking distance to some of the temples and museums. The check in process was easier than I had anticipated and there was a quick response to the minor issues we encountered e.g. the missing hair dryer was promptly replaced.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Thank you, Bronwyn. We're glad you liked the house and enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing