We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kyoto
Post
Inbox
Search

“The friendliest and yummiest vegan restaurant I've ever been! :D”

Sujata's Restaurant-Nest
Ranked #725 of 16,437 Restaurants in Kyoto
Price range: $700 - $2,000
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center
Description: Located near Kyoto University, on the way to Ginkaku-ji Temple, Sujata's Restaurant-Nest serves hearty Japanese and Indian food. Originally established in 1986 with the inspiration from her meditation teacher Sri Chinmoy, the restaurant continues to serve both the local community and a wide range of international visitors, who come to satisfy not only their appetite but also their hearts. Free introductory meditation class is held from 7pm on Saturdays. Please call beforehand to reserve a seat. We look forward to serving you soon!!
Reviewed March 4, 2019

The space is very cosy, the host is lovely, smiley and very communicative. She makes people feel like we were all invited to have a meal at her welcoming home. The food is cooked when ordered, but it was quickly served. It was all delicious, and I was just sorry I didn't manage to eat more. Will def go back whenever I'm in Kyoto again!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eagertotrymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 18 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2018

We tried Sujata today at lunch for the first time. It is a quiet, small cafe. We made reservations in advance, so the food was already prepared for us upon arrival, which was a pleasant surprise. The owner, an older Japanese woman, was very kind. The food was just delicious and beautifully prepared (each of us ordered the Japanese set meal). We would definitely return.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TasteBudTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

An excellent place. Nice atmosphere like home. The food was freshly cooked with love, it was very tasty and healthy. Price is very much reasonable.
I loved it. Must go place.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manjunathdoddam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016

Lunch at Sujata's Restaurant opposite Kyoto University was quite pleasant. Impressive for a one-woman show. Vegetarian salad was crispy, tangy, and pleasurable. Chickpea curry was fine, but the spice balance was a bit off. Samosas were good. A really nice find in Kyoto.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ajkl2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

The Vegan goddesses have blessed Kyoto. This one is another must. ;-) Love is in the cooking. Joyful vegan atmosphere.

Small cafe. Despite the somewhat limited menu selection, every item was totally delicious and delightful, cakes included. English speaking staff. Traditional Japanese style lunch and dinner menu, vegan Japanese dishes (no fish sauce). Generous portions. Not as expensive as Shojin Ryori. Friendly host. Finishes at 6pm every day.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Live V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sujata's Restaurant-Nest also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Sujata's Restaurant-Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing