We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”

Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma
Ranked #106 of 15,906 Restaurants in Kyoto
Neighborhood: City Center
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

We, a party of four adults and one infant, went there 20 minutes ago and were denied entry and the guy at the counter simply said "it is finished and come back at 10". It was raining and we were actually looking for good food as well as shelter. We asked for a take away and he said "finished". We thought that they were full pack. To our disgust, there were three locals came after us whilst we were standing there in the rain to look for our dinner place (pretty sure that they havent had a reservation by their body language). I would appreciate it if they said to wait but do not say that it is finished. What a disgrace to the lovely japanese people.

Date of visit: July 2016
4  Thank lokanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 159 of 352 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

We (Swiss couple) went there around 8.30 pm for dinner and we were looking forward for a gyoza dinner. My girlfriend is vegetarian so we thought it shouldn't be a problem to get veggie dumplings in a gyoza specialised restaurant (ra-men, we knew, was quite difficult as the soup is often meat-based). But unfortunately there are no vegetarian dumplings served. So she ordered a tofu based dish which was great, but she was looking forward for gyoza. However, as a meat eater it was a great experience as I tried the classic ra-men with BBQ pork slices and fried pork dumplings. Since we sat at the bar near the entrance we could check out the chef preparing our food which was quite interesting. I would recommend the restaurant for a mid-week dinner if you are looking forward for good local food - except you are vegetarian ;-)

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank rokezh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

English see below
結構有名な餃子屋さんのようです。炭の粉が皮に入った黒牛肉餃子などを食べました。値段はリーズナブル。

でも、衛生面で気になるところが2つ。まず、調理をしている女性シェフが軽い咳をしていたこと。顔を背けるなどしていたけど、基本マスクでしょ?もう一つは、ウェイトレスが餃子の皮をたたむ作業を手伝っていたんだけど、手を洗ったのかな?

ということで、味と値段は良かったけど、もう行きません。

This Gyoza (饺子; stuffed dumplings)restaurant serves spicy black gyoza, whose skin contains (edible) charcoal power. Food and prices are good and the shop is fairly easy to locate. But two problems re. hygiene:

One of the chefs was lightly coughing. She turned her face when doing so but following the Japanese custom, she should have worn a mask. Another is that the waitress was helping in the kitchen, folding the gyoza skin. But I was not sure if she washed her hands before doing so.

Overall, the food was OK (with the extra flavors??) but I will not return there.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pusapusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

My favourite were green gyoza. Also had normal gyoza. Great prices, fresh, great service. Can't go wrong for an expensive meal and great atmosphere

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank NatC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

We had an early dinner here and must have arrived at the perfect time, securing seats in front of the kitchen to watch all the action. We had 5 different varieties of Gyoza and not one disappointed, fresh and amazing flavours. We also split some spicy dan dan noodles which were great and certainly had some heat. Delicious dinner and reasonable prices too. May need to make a repeat visit before we leave.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.