We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a great place to eat”

Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma
Ranked #106 of 15,906 Restaurants in Kyoto
Neighborhood: City Center
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center
Reviewed May 30, 2016

The reviews are right on. We tried 10 different types of Gyoza, and although there were some differences of opinion about which ones were best, it was mostly individual taste that made the difference. They were all excellent. The staff was quite efficient and friendly, and language was not an issue.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeneDoc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 168 of 352 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Ended up here by accident after I was shut out for second night in a row from a place recommended by my hotel. Sat at downstairs counter, so can't say what upstairs dining area is like. Watched everything made at cooking station opposite counter. Gyoza were excellent and vegetables cooked perfectly and deliciously seasoned. Couple next to me ordered a large bunch of dishes and said they were great. Shared some of their gyoza with me. Reasonably priced.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank ALA150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed this tremendously. We have an Asian restaurant at home that serves these, but the ones we had here are so much better. Sometimes you have to get out and search for good regional restaurants to see how the locals eat. We had 4 different types of gyoza with a beer and a soft drink, and the bill came to $40 USD! You can't beat that for a nice meal. Again, it's not fancy, but it's good food. We were tired of the luxurious restaurants and wanted to experience what the Japanese eat daily.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016

We came here after reading several great reviews and decided to check it out. The reviews were spot on. The food here was amazing and service was friendly. It is on a quaint street of the street market. We ordered the spicy pork dumplings and the black beef dumplings, which were both superb. For our entrees we ordered the beef short rib noodle soup and the spicy beef noodle soup. Both were very hearty with delicious juicy meat and yummy broth. I ordered a mango beer, which is basically the beer they had on tap with mango puree. It was actually quite good. We will definitely be coming back to this place the next time we are in Kyoto.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank twinklec28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

We visited the tiger hall and were very impressed! Me and my girlfriend ordered 2 types of gyoza, Dan Dan noodles and some fried chicken which was the perfect amount for 2 people.

The dumplings were awesome and the noodles were some of the best we have had in Japan! The service was also very good.

Highly recommend this restaurant!! 10/10

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank joehowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.