We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ramen in Japan”
Review of Musoshin, Gion

Musoshin, Gion
Ranked #10 of 28 Quick Bites in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Gion
Description: Our ramen restaurant, "Musoshin" is located at "Gion", the most traditional area in Kyoto city. Near Musoshin, there is a "Kaburen-jo" which is a kind of dance studio and stage for "Maiko"(apprentice geisha). So some Maiko often come to eat ramen to Musoshin. There were many foreign travelers who fell under the spell of the tasty ramen soup of Musoshin, and it became popular for them. If you come to Musoshin to eat our ramen, and if you like it, we will let you know how to make it!! Ramen is one of representative Japanese food. We are really happy if you spread our tasty ramen all over your country. Why don't you try it? We give you a big welcome!!
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Great spot in Kyoto for ramen. It doesn’t look like much from the outside and you order from a machine as you queue but then as soon as you get a space at the grill they bring your food straight over. The ramen tastes amazing and the roast pork included sliced roast pork and a small amount of braised pork which tastes out of this world! Cheap, quick but not lacking in quality at all- just efficient!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank hollie242018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 360 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

The Thai Ramen (No 5) was something special, a little spicy and a good variety from the normal ramen. It was nice. The 2 pieces of chicken in the soup was nice. If you are hungry, go for number 10 which comes with a rice in addition to the noodles : both nice. Only 2 minutes walk to Gion Shijo Station. Buy a ticket at the machine first, then queue to wait for seat.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank globejumper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

Ramen was below average, very slimy guey soup.. noodles good, chicken was amazing.. but ramen would pass

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank dovilej682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

The taste of the ramen was ordinary. It did not distinguish itself from the other ramen places. Price is very reasonable (990 for a combo) and ordering was not too complicated. The rice was also ok.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Thi-minh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

Chanced upon this little place and were not disappointed!

I had the thai inspired ramen which was so tasty. I think the broth made it!
The pork ramen and vegetarian ramen were also a great hit!

Definitely worth a visit.

There is seating for about 6 people at the bar and 4 at the small table, so don't plan on visiting here with a large group.

You will need cash for the food ordering vending machine.

The staff speak limited english but we were able to communicate a minor dietary requirement with them.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musoshin, Gion also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Musoshin, Gion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing