We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very very tasty!”
Review of Musoshin, Gion

Musoshin, Gion
Ranked #9 of 28 Quick Bites in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Gion
Description: Our ramen restaurant, "Musoshin" is located at "Gion", the most traditional area in Kyoto city. Near Musoshin, there is a "Kaburen-jo" which is a kind of dance studio and stage for "Maiko"(apprentice geisha). So some Maiko often come to eat ramen to Musoshin. There were many foreign travelers who fell under the spell of the tasty ramen soup of Musoshin, and it became popular for them. If you come to Musoshin to eat our ramen, and if you like it, we will let you know how to make it!! Ramen is one of representative Japanese food. We are really happy if you spread our tasty ramen all over your country. Why don't you try it? We give you a big welcome!!
Reviewed March 7, 2019

Chanced upon this little place and were not disappointed!

I had the thai inspired ramen which was so tasty. I think the broth made it!
The pork ramen and vegetarian ramen were also a great hit!

Definitely worth a visit.

There is seating for about 6 people at the bar and 4 at the small table, so don't plan on visiting here with a large group.

You will need cash for the food ordering vending machine.

The staff speak limited english but we were able to communicate a minor dietary requirement with them.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 359 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2019

The recommended choice has only 6 seaters and it was full. Waiting outside in the cold was not an option. My SIL was great as he wonder around and found Musoshin. This is a larger ramen place with at least 12 seats. Selection and buying was off the vending machine at the doorway. Service was excellent as we took a bit longer for the selection and the kind gentlemen was there to assist and recommend. We were a party of 6 and we tried different varieties and I must say, they were all excellent. Certainly a place to visit when you are in Kyoto.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank AhKwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

Amazing, thick pork ramen. So so good. Speaks some English, Order at the machine (English labels), Sit at the bar, eat and relax. Bring cash.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Q2226YEphilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

Efficient service, great attitude, and most importantly really solid ramen soups and rice. A clear 5* at its price range
(Most staff English, a plus for visitors)

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank jcm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2018 via mobile

Thick and hot on a winter day, perfect. The chili paste condiments is spicier than i thought! Which makes it excellent for me! Anyway a MUST TRY. So so so good

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank aifaazahirahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musoshin, Gion also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Musoshin, Gion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing