We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location only!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Ranked #73 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Limited English spoken here.No concierge.
However close to Kyoto station and downstairs is the Keihan Regular Tour Bus company where you can book tours with credit card.
Had i known that the Keihan bus also serves Kansai airport directly, I would have taken this route to the hotel from Kansai airport.By train you have to lug your own luggage to the airport train terminal and then from the Kyoto terminal to the station whereas the bus stops right at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 598 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Located next to Kyoto station this hotel is easy to find and is in a great location from which to explore Kyoto. As I was on a business trip I stayed in a single room - which was quite compact - but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I only stayed one night so can't do a more in depth review, but worth noting are the top floor restaurant and bar areas, where the panoramic views over Kyoto and the surrounding mountains are breath-taking. I have to admit though that viewing the changing colours of the sky as evening turned to nigh time, whilst sipping on a cold beer, was an experience that would have been better shared with someone dear rather than, in this instance, just a work colleague.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy-n-deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I fully enjoyed this hotel in Kyoto. We stayed here two nights as a part of a Japan tour and was very happy with it. Great room, great bathroom, location is excellent, very close to station and lots of shopping options nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos_Gonzalez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel Keihan Kyoto have excellent location, it located in front of Kyoto station, so u can get around Kyoto easily using train or bus ( bus station also located inside Kyoto station).

Avanti Shopping Mall located next to Hotel Keihan Kyoto.

Check in and check out fast and the staff are friendly.

Overall its a pleasant stays.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budi_Mulyadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The room rates are quite good considering that breakfast is thrown in plus its close proximity to Kyoto Station. However most of the things in the room are quite ancient. I wanted to cry when I saw a pathetic -looking thing supposedly a kettle (very mini, never seen in any other hotels) in our triple room. It will take ages to boil enough hot water for the 3 of us. Luckily, upon request they managed to change it to a normal one used by all hotels. Secondly the waste paper basket in the bathroom is again pathetically mini. I replaced it with one I bought from Daiso (5th Floor Avanti) for Y100. There is no safety box in the room hence we have to use the one at the reception. Breakfast on 13th floor was delicious though. Wifi in room is terrible despite having wifi on all floors. Had to use the wifi in lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

The previous reviewer has already given helpful and comprehensive instructions to get to the hotel. It was worth it to get the breakfast option from agoda. I made a double booking unwittingly and didn't even realise my boo-boo until the hotel notified me. Extremely extremely thankful that I was able to cancel my booking without any penalty and got back my full refund.

I'm happy with the room size - 25 sqm - not something you can get easily at a cheap price.

will stay here again :)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank FineCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in Japan for a 16-day trip just over the last two weeks and more. Kyoto was our second city after having spend 3 days in Tokyo (our other stops included Osaka, Hiroshima, Miyajima, and Gunma). After reading mixed reviews about Hotel Keihan on Tripadvisor, I was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel is located at the side of the station that is nearest the shinkansen and furthest from the bus terminal. The bus terminal is at the other side of the train station. After alighting from the shinkansen, look for the Hachijio East exit. It will bring you past the metro station and onto the street level. Before you leave the train station building, turn to the left and keep going to the end of the building (along the way you will see a MacDonalds on your right) until u see a ramen shop in front of you (the ramen here was tasty) and there is an exit just beside it. Getting out of this exit, there is a pedestrian crossing on the left hand side which will bring you to the hotel. This is the way to the hotel that will use the least no. of staircase and the way we preferred and only discovered on Day 3 or so. It's possible to get to the hotel through the underground passageway to Avanti, the shopping mall next to Hotel Keihan. If u reach the hotel via the underground passageway to Avanti, there is immediately to the left-hand-side just before you enter the mall, a long series of steps (more than 20 steps). Take the steps and you will reach the hotel. If stairs are not preferred, enter the mall and look for the nearest escalator and aim for the second or third floor. The hotel entrance linked to the mall is located southwest of the escalator when you arrive on that floor.

The hotel staff spoke relatively poor English (as compared to Tokyo) but still manageable. In Japan, all the hotels and ryokans that we stayed in were very strict on the check-in timing. We could only check in at the specified time and not earlier. But they always allow us to deposit our luggage with them if we were early for the check-in. The one-day bus and subway passes can be bought from the hotel lobby. We bought one-day bus passes that come with the bus map for Kyoto. Unfortunately the staff gave us poor advice on our first day to take bus 205 to Kyoto Imperial Palace. In the end we took more than 45 minutes to the Palace by bus 205 when we could have reached there in less than 15 min if we took the subway. Subsequently we took the Raku buses 100 and 101 for our sight-seeing which were infinitely more time-saving and more comprehensive (the wordings on the buses are bigger and a description for the stops were pronounced in Japanese, Chinese, English and Korean). The bus-passes can be used for the Raku buses.

The hotel was dated but it wasn't really a problem. The smokiness that some travelers experienced in the lobby was not that bad during our stay. Our twin room was spacious and overlooked the Shinkansen station. It was the first room nearest the lift lobby so there were some noise from people passing by talking in the morning but the sound was muffled so it was not an issue. The whole floor was non-smoking so it was not smoky in the room nor along the corridor. The standard in-room amenities were available (bedroom slippers, toothpaste and toothbrush, combs, shower gel, shampoo, hairdryer, bedroom slippers, hangers). There is a room along the corridor that has vending machines that sell drinks and issue ice. We still got lost within the station every now and then trying to get from the bus terminal to the hotel when we tried out new routes. It was about a 10min brisk walk through the station between the hotel and bus terminal. The area around the bus terminal was more happening with Yodobashi, Daiso and some eating places and there were some hotels right in front of the bus terminal. There were also a couple of higher-end hotels located right within the train station. Given another opportunity to visit Kyoto again, we would still stay in Hotel Keihan given its convenient location and spacious room, until we could find another better hotel (at the same price range).

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not near to the lift lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P_chan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Kintetsu Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#80 of 376 in Kyoto
527 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#46 of 376 in Kyoto
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#74 of 376 in Kyoto
563 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#53 of 376 in Kyoto
648 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#26 of 376 in Kyoto
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande

Address: 31 Nishisanocho Higashi Kujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8003, Kyoto Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Keihan Kyoto)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $102 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing