We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel for sightseeing and using the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Ranked #74 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for sightseeing and using the train station”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is very close to the Kyoto train station, which makes it ideal for using public transportation, not only trains but also buses as there is a bus terminal at the other side of the train station. The access to the hotel is also convenient, with a subway communicating directly with the station. The hotel itself is average and what you can expect for the money paid. We used the Chinese restaurant one of the nights and the food and view of the city were good. We did not use the restaurant for breakfast as there are good places in the station.I would recomend this hotel for visitiing Kyoto Temples and the region

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrid_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    275
    143
    43
    18
See reviews for
209
111
87
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Kyoto Keihan Hotel is both convenient and inconvenient. It's convenient because it's connected to Kyoto station by an underground pass and takes about 10 minutes to walk. It also is one of the few hotels that seem to accomodate three people, and give them individual beds. Nobody ended up with a creaky, uncomfortable sofa bed. The service was great and the hotel was very clean and had a good view of the city. There is also a computer with internet in the lobby for those who need internet.
However, there is not much touristy stuff located around Kyoto station so you must always take a train/subway/bus to wherever you need to go. It sucks if you are one of those people who like to return to the hotel after a few hours to recoup. It was a little pricey, but it was worth it for the comfortable nights of sleep that I got.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayumeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour. It was clean and comfortable, a bit more space than the average Japanese room - basically all that you want as a base for sightseeing in Kyoto. There were vending machines on our floor selling drinks and snacks, including beer. Generally the hotel seemed fairly quiet and we got a good night's sleep.

It is over a big shopping centre/station complex so conveniently located for when you arrive in Kyoto. The underground complex is a bit of a maze, so take care to note a couple of things you will remember on your way through, to help you back again! There is no wifi in the hotel but if you have a cable, you can connect your laptop in your room for free. You can also pick up free wifi in the shopping complex below.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinzofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband at the end of August. We got a deal with the shinkansen and hotel from his company, so I am not sure of the cost compared to other hotels. It seemed a bit more upscale than the chain hotel I usually stay in though.

It is very close to the station, but as mentioned, you have to go through an underpass to get there. It was a little difficult to find it the first time, but after that, it was okay. It takes about 8 to 10 mins to get from the hotel back to the 'main' side of the station where the sightseeing buses are.

We got there early (9am) and so they looked after our bags until later in the afternoon. We received two drink bar tickets for the cafe downstairs, and when we went back to get our bags, we received two more! Their mistake, but it was good for us!

We stayed in a non-smoking twin room (bigger than a double) and there were no signs of it being used as a smoking room at other times (I have a sensitive nose to that!). There were a couple of stains on the desk though, like something really hot had been put on it.

Sleeping robes are provided. The bed was comfortable! The pillow was half beans and half soft, so you can decide what side you want to use.

There was construction outside, like they are painting the hotel or something. I only saw the scaffolding though, I didn't hear any noise or see any guys working.

The bathroom was a decent size, and typical for a business hotel in Japan, the shower is in the bath. Big towels, small towels, and facewashers were provided, along with shavers, toothbrushes and toothpaste, earbuds, and shower caps. The shampoo, conditioner and body wash was all decent quality.

The AC worked well and was easily-controllable.

There are vending machines on some floors selling drinks and food, but there are also convenience stores around the block, plus at the station.

We had the 'western' buffet breakfast for three mornings as it was included in the deal we had. We arrived at 7am the first morning and there was already a line! I guess everyone wanted to go sightseeing early! The food was okay, with salads, fruit, several kinds of bread rolls, weiners, potatoes, fish, rice, miso soup, scrambled eggs, cornflakes, juices, and some other Japanese food. The hot food wasn't too hot though, as it was being kept warm by what looked like a candle underneath.

i don't know about computer access in the rooms as I was too busy sightseeing to worry about bringing my computer. There were a couple of PCs in the lobby for people to use.

No pool and no fitness room as is usual at a business hotel. But you can get fit from walking around Kyoto sightseeing! :)

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and nice. I enjoyed staying here and I loved Kyoto!

Room Tip: Choose a room with twin beds, it's bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funkychicken76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Clean, good location and close to public transport opportunities. No problems with the service. They were a big help in organizing our work related trips around the city. The food was ok and plentiful. We enjoyed our stay and would consider this hotel is we ever come to Kyoto again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kindfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great location facing Kyoto station. Rooms ok, nice and clean, well resourced toiletries. No wifi in hotel, have 3 pcs with Internet access. Flat screen tv but all japenese channels. Has on site restaurent and bar

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Basic, no thrills, hotel located just south of kyoto station. No one is going to greet you at the door or carry your bags to your room but who needs that? The location is ideal if you want to pick up transportation each day to visit the sites. The downsides? Very smokey rooms and few if any non-smoking rooms. No wifi in rooms. No charm to speak of.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lunamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#79 of 373 in Kyoto
514 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#44 of 373 in Kyoto
2,093 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#68 of 373 in Kyoto
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#52 of 373 in Kyoto
635 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#22 of 373 in Kyoto
718 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 373 in Kyoto
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande

Property: Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Address: 31 Nishisanocho Higashi Kujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8003, Kyoto Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Keihan Kyoto)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing