We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute house in a sweet neighborhood”
other travelers have booked this property
Yasaka Pagoda in Gion's Ninen Zaka area  (A minute walk from Kiyomizu Machiya Inn)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yasaka Pagoda in Gion's Ninen Zaka area  (A minute walk from Kiyomizu Machiya Inn)
View from our Lane Entrance Wall Gallery (Left) in front of our Lane Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Yasaka Pagoda in Gion's Ninen Zaka area  (A minute walk from Kiyomizu Machiya Inn)
View from our Lane Entrance
Wall Gallery (Left) in front of our Lane Entrance
Lane Entrance to Kiyomizu Machiya Inn
Front View of Kiyomizu Machiya Inn
Front Door
Entrance
Entrance
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Full Kitchen
Dining Area
Sitting Area
Full Bathroom with Washer/Dryer
Unit Bath and Shower
Toilet (Japanese Hi-Tech Toilet TOTO)
Hallway
Western Bedroom (Sleeps 2)
View of Yasaka Pagoda from Japanese Room
Winter View from Western Bedroom
Japanese Style Tatami Room (Sleeps 2:  We provide top quality futon beds.)
Japanese Bedroom (2F)
Patio beside Japanese Room (2F)
View from Japanese Room
Patio
Den (Sleeps 1:  We provide top quality futon bed.)
1F Floor Plan
2F Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alice L
Tamuning, null, Guam
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute house in a sweet neighborhood”
Reviewed May 3, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

we had a bit of trouble finding the hse as it is on an "alley", not an actual street. None the less we really enjoyed our stay. It was convenient to groceries, buses, shrines etc. Anything you would need. There is a combination washer/dryer. They worked well, do not overload. Clothes came out wrinkled and twisted. There was an iron and ironing board provided. A helpful addition would have been a portable Wi-Fi for the guests use.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Quiet beautiful stay with great responsive owners”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We visited during cherry blossom season and were so lucky to have been able to stay at this machiya. Akemi and Trevor went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed from instructions with photos, to custom tips on navigating the city. The home itself was very comfortable and spacious for our family of 3, the evenings were very quiet, and the days were bustling with men and women in kimono in this picturesque part of town. I had something I needed after we left and the owners continued to be just as responsive as before we arrived. Thank you Akemi and Trevor! The machiya is beautiful of course - but your help made our stay great!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
Thank you very much for the review and kind words! We are always looking for ways to improve your stay, so we take feedback seriously.

Our Kiyomizu Machiya Inn is located in the old historical neighbourhood of Gion Ninezaka arguably the oldest in Kyoto! There are plenty of world heritage sites, restaurants, shops and pubs all within a short walk away. You can even see the Geishas going to work in the evening at the various teahouses close by.

Thanks again for giving us the opportunity to make your stay an enjoyable one in Kyoto. We hope to see you again! Arigato
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAJerome
Westchester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic Machiya in Great Location”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family of five stayed at the machiya for six nights in June. Apartment is well appointed with good amenities. It's located on a quiet alleyway next to one of the best streets in Higayishma next to Yasaka Pagoda. Very historic with so much charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Thanks for the review and kind words. We are happy you enjoyed the machiya and one of the few remaining historical neighbourhoods in Kyoto!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZN9999
Mollymook, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Top location and Top accomodation”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here for 11 Nights, 3 adults.

What a great stay we had, the machiya had everything we needed and was comfortable and pleasant place to stay. It also provided a greater experience than staying in hotel. It is located in very quiet spot but only 1 minute away from some of the best tourist spots in Kyoto.

Once out into lively streets surrounding you are many temples and gardens plus a growing number of cosplay visitors in kimonos.

The higashiyama area is full of narrow streets and tourist shops, restaurants and fabulous temples and shrines. It is one of the big must see areas in Kyoto. And all this is right in your neighbourhood. what a special experience.

We have been to Kyoto many times and know this area well, but even for us it was a treat to stay in this Machiya.

Only a 15-20 minute walk to the nearest subway and also the same time to walk to downtown shopping district and Gion.

You will enjoy staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated toilet seat
Liked least: location of toilet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2016
Hi Mike,

Thanks so much for the nice review. We too absolutely love this neighbourhood. Such neighbourhoods have practically disappeared in Japan, so to experience it's old world charm is extra special.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and thanks again for the kind words.

Warm regards,

Akemi and Trevor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarryHarr...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent accommodation. Excellent Location!!!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We could not have asked for a better place to stay. We would recommend it to anyone we know.
There was everything that one could ask for in the Machiya and the office support service was extremely helpful with taxis and local information etc. Location could not be beaten, in a very quiet lane but in the midst of the Gion at the same time. Everything that goes to making a great holiday was supplied.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Dear Marie and Harry,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy you were able to enjoy our Kiyomizu Machiya Inn and the surrounding neighbourhood. It really is the best way to experience and get a taste for the old Kyoto.

Kind regards,

Trevor and Akemi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing home with everything you could possibly need.”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Thank you for the opportunity to stay in such a unique and interesting area of Kyoto. The home was most welcome after small hotel rooms in Tokyo and was beautifully appointed with all the amenities you could need. Communication was excellent and no problems in finding the area and accommodating our needs to arrive late on a Saturday. A truly wonderful experience and well worth a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ease of access.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2016
Hi Lisa,

Thanks for the wonderful review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Kyoto.

Kind regards,

The staff if Kyotomachiyainn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lins12081
Hailey, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, Beautiful Home and Location”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We very much enjoyed our time at KMI. It's close to so many wonderful Kyoto sights and just steps away from Yasaka Pagoda. It's also a 10 minute walk from Kiyomizudera. The house is warm and comfortable while maintaining the charm and character of the traditional machiya. I was hoping to get a taste of old Japan without knowing yet that we'd be staying in the area that takes you back to old Japan. If we are fortunate to ever return to Kyoto I would not want to stay anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds harder than what we're used to. But very much adaquate
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing