We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Nice, Good Service...except the annoying owner's kid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guest House Ikoi-no-ie
Ranked #155 of 333 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Clean & Nice, Good Service...except the annoying owner's kid”
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We were quite disturbed by the noise the owner's kid made every early morning (like 6 or 7am) before we planned to get up and also one time in the afternoon during our afternoon nap after an exhausting day. The screaming, yelling, shouting and running around was just unbearable as we often go out for a full day and coming back to the hostel was purely for a good rest. Besides that, the place was very clean, the Japanese-style rooms were very interesting for foreigners like us. We didn't book early enough so the ensuites were full and got a room with no toliets. Actually, sharing toilets & shower was totally alright as there aren't many rooms in the building. Yet of course, because of that, we avoid drinking too much water before bedtime. The owner was very helpful & resourceful and we greatly appreciate the good service. Tips: 1) Walking distance from Kyoto Station to hostel is about 15 mins, not too far, walkable distance. 2) When you leave for Osaka international airport, you can ask the owner to help you book MK Taxi (shared cabs with others) 3,500 Yen per Person, a convenient way to go to airport. 3) There is a public bath place around the corner, 400 Yen per Person, they have hotspring tubs and there is even an outdoor tub for ladies side (but need to be naked with people of the same sex). If you go, please bring a big AND a small towel, the small towel is to wipe off afterwards before getting out to the locker place (we didn't know & ended up looking very rude). In the future, we would still consider going back to this hostel, given that next time we will stay as far as we could from the owner's floor & perhaps give it a few years until the kid is a bit older. He was totally like uncontrollable and his mom would start yelling at him sometimes...geez...

  • Liked — Very clean, Japanese-styled room, good service, free internet/computer
  • Disliked — The owner's kid, noisy as hell...yelling, shouting in the worst time of the day...extremely annoying.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fapoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagomi-no-wa, お客様担当マネージャー at Guest House Ikoi-no-ie, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thank you so much for leaving the comment on Trip Adviser, and sorry we didn't respond the message back to you any faster.

First, we apologise for the kids and that you felt annoyed.

But, We are glad you had a pleasant time in our guest house.

Everything that you have pointed here is true in every aspect:
1)it's very easy to access from the Kyoto station, which you are most likely to arrive from the airport.
2)The staff must study the tourist information of kyoto in order to provide visitors with fittable advice to any sort.
3)Trying public bath makes another interesting experience in Japan.

And for all the other things and advice that you have taught us, Thank you. These kind words mean so much to us. We would like to continue what we can do to make a comfortable and relaxing atomosphere.

Since your last visit, Kyoto hasn't much changed but our hostel has improved the service to another level.
We hope to see you again in near future.

Best regards
Ikoi-no-ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
16
30
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

We (party of 3) travelled to Kyoto, Japan in early Dec/07 and stayed at the ikoi-no-ie for 2 nights. We were extremely unhappy with this place. First of all, the hotel website said it's a few minute walk from Gojo subway station but it's very misleading. We walked at least 10 minute before we were able to locate this guest-house.

On arrival, the owner informed us there's no space at the "main building" and hence we will be staying at the building across from them. He informed us they will not change the linens/towels for our 2-night stay so we asked for extra towels. He actually tried to "negoitiate" to give us 2 towels (even though there were 3 of us) and when we asked for some glasses in the room, once again he tried to give us 2 glasses instead of 3.

When we got to our room, we were disappointed to see the room was very small. The toilet seat was broken and the bathtub cloaks when we tried to take a shower. The most ridiculous thing was, there was not any hooks whatsoever to hang your stuff whether in the bathroom or in the guest-room itself so we had to put our clothes on the bed or in the suitcase.

We definitely would not stay there again and do not recommend anyone to stay there either. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagomi-no-wa, お客様担当マネージャー at Guest House Ikoi-no-ie, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear McJo,

Thank you for your message.

We are sorry for not responding to you sooner. Also, we apologise for the inconvenience and stress we imposed upon you.

The given map on our webside was certainly not clear. Taken your words sincerely, we have made the best effort to improve it.

In order to improve our service we have gathered the best staff to avoid miscomunication with the guests.

The inconvenience of the room has been taken into account. We installed hooks and fixed the bathrooms.

Again, we are very sorry to have given you unsatisfying time.
Day to day, we are making the best effort for the dear guests to have a wonerful time in japan .

Ikoi-no-ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

[--]

A nice Ryokan in a quite street, about 5min. walk from Gojo station.

Helpful?
3 Thank GorGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagomi-no-wa, お客様担当マネージャー at Guest House Ikoi-no-ie, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you very much for your message.

Yes, one of our hotel's strong points is that it is easy to access.
It is 5 min from the nearby station, and 10 min from one of the Kansai's biggest junction, Kyoto Station, from which you can go to Nara, Osaka or Kobe.

Again, we really appreciate your feedback.
We will do our best to improve the service furthermore.

Ikoi-no-ie
Teshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Nagomi Ryokan Yu
Nagomi Ryokan Yu
#59 of 333 in Kyoto
141 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Nagomi Oyado Sato
Nagomi Oyado Sato
#205 of 333 in Kyoto
23 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Guesthouse Jiyu-jin
Guesthouse Jiyu-jin
#56 of 333 in Kyoto
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#11 of 333 in Kyoto
261 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hale Temari Kyoto Rokujo
Hale Temari Kyoto Rokujo
#116 of 333 in Kyoto
2 reviews
Gojo Guest House
#36 of 333 in Kyoto
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Ikoi-no-ie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Ikoi-no-ie

Property: Guest House Ikoi-no-ie
Address: 885 Ushitora-cho, Rokujodori, Shinmaachi Higashiiru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8304, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 333 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guest House Ikoi-no-ie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our cozy and clean guesthouse in Kyoto, you will experience memorable stays in our Japanese-style room with comfortable futons and reasonable price. Convenient location for sightseeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Guest House Ikoi-no-ie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing