We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
373
69
16
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
69
16
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate onsenbamboo forestkaiseki dinnermassage chairryokan experienceprivate hot springprivate open air bathtogetsu bridgetenryuji templebeautiful ryokantatami mat roomhozu rivertime slotbooked directlyamazing hospitalityrelaxing stayryokan staff
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 464 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018

My husband and I stayed here one night in August 2018. We also had dinner and breakfast. This was a lovely stay. The staff is kind and helpful. Service is top-notch from the moment one arrives. We had dinner and breakfast, and the staff was very accommodating to my vegetarian food requests. The multiple small plates of food were wonderful and we had a leisurely meal. Our room overlooked the river. There is a wonderful hot spring pool one can use after showing. So relaxing! Accommodations were comfortable and spacious (especially compared to compact hotel rooms throughout our travels in Japan!). We were within easy walking distance to several World Heritage sites, including the beautiful template and gardens, bamboo gardens and monkey park. I loved staying here and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole_from_GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Carole_from_GE,

First of all, we were very much grateful to provide you the "ryokan" experience for your special occasion with your husband.
As we are traditional Japanese inn "ryokan", and it is our honor that you have "experienced" cultural atmosphere.
In a Ryokan, more out of the basic necessities in life; food, shelter, clothing and onsen. An experience different from the common hotel.
A Ryokan is an accommodation facility original to the owners taste, influenced by Japanese culture, style and feel. A service that can't be found anywhere else in the world, only here in Japan.
We are truly pleased to receive your review which have shared a part of your experience.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again next time of your trip.

Yours sincerely,
Arashiyama Onsen & Japanese Cuisine Ryokan
Arashiyama BENKEI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

My wife and I stayed her one night in early August 2018. It was fairly easy to get to if you take the local train from Kyoto Station and walk 1 Km or get a cab. We were greeted at the entrance and received help taking our luggage inside. We were then told about the hotel, locations of the baths, dining options, nearby sights. The facility is well located, close to several UNESCO temple sights, bamboo forest, and monkey park. Our room had a nice view of the river. Highly recommended though definitely a splurge but we were celebrating an upcoming birthday so had an excuse. Service was impeccable. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jonathan B,

Thank you very much for your previous stay in Arashiyama BENKEI.
We are very much pleased to receive your review and we'd very much like to appreciate for your choice of staying in our "ryokan" and making such a kind of impressions and explains detailed location and surroundings.
All of our staff are always kept well-mind to dedicate to our guest for the best service to suit every different guest, and it is our honor to receive a guest's review to know their true impressions.

Thank you very much again for your support of giving us review.

Yours sincerely,
嵐山辨慶
Arashiyama Benkei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here and had a wonderful time of relaxation and fine dining on the wonderful multi-dish meals.

The personal room banquet is a wonder to behold as plate after plate of intricately prepared meal is brought to you by the staff.

The Benkei is situated near some of Kyoto’s most well known tourist features but you may struggle to tear yourself away from the relaxation.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank TheWanderingPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear TheWanderingPilgrim,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our ryokan
"Arashiyama Benkei".
We are truly pleased that you have chosen our ryokan to stay for your wonderful trip in Kyoto.
And also, we'd like to take our chance to thank you for giving us a review with your kind impressions with the great understanding of "ryokan" culture.
Your detailed impressions will help us maintaining our ryokan as "foreign friendly" authentic Japanese inn.

Thank you very much for your kindness again, and we really hope to see you and welcome you again here at Arashiyama BENKEI.

BEST wishes,
ARASHIYAMA BENKEI

Benkei Tips;
Get the best out of "ryokan"
In a "ryokan", you can get more out of the basic necessities in life; food, shelter and clothing. An experience different from the common hotel.
A Ryokan is an accommodation facility original to the owners taste, influenced by Japanese culture, style and feel, and the service of this unique accommodation cannot be found anywhere else in the world except Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Nice place, nice location and nice staff! Room was costly and a bit too small Dinner was too rushed as they kept serving new courses before previous serving was enjoyed. Overall I would say it was a bit too costly vs what you get.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A_12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear A_12014
First of all,
Thank you very much for choosing our ryokan for your previous stay in Kyoto, Japan.
And we are truly grateful to receive your review with very honest comments.
We sincerely respect your point of views and consider your impressions for our improvements.
As we are the traditional Japanese inn "ryokan", the "value" is not only for the accommodation, it is for the total "experience" for the unique tradition of Japan, and its spirit of treating our guests.

You review would remind us what we are and how we should keep up.
Thank you so much and we hope you to choose our ryokan again by any chance.

Best regards,
Arashiyama Benkei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Best location in Arashiyama, great accommodation with private onsen, great river view, elegant Kaiseki dinner. Very comfort and relaxing Japanese experience. Very friendly and professional service.

No complaint for the entire stay and perhaps maybe the price tag though it worth for a fantastic Japanese experience.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank 800wilfredc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Dear 800wilfredc,

Thank you so much for choosing our ryokan "Arashiyama Benkei" for your visit in Japan.
It was our honor to serve you an unique cultural treat with traditional atmosphere.
We are pleased to know that you have satisfied our services. As we are ryokan as well as serving traditional Japanese cuisine with full of ideas, providing "Benkei Style" course meals and unique Japanese hot springs "onsen", your review is really a valuable thing for our source of service.
We thank you so much for sharing your moments during your stay at our ryokan, and we hope you to visit Japan, Kyoto and select our ryokan again for your special occasion.
Best wishes,
Arashiyama Benkei

*Please check our annex "ARASHIYAMA Premium Residential Inn" which is located at 50m back of our main building. It has 2 new residential style rooms with private onsen bath which are specially projected by Arashiyama Benkei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews