We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kikokuso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kikokuso
Ranked #74 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and this was by far one of the best experiences we ever had. The property was amazing and very clean, attention to detail was top. The entire staff was very friendly and went out of their way to assist you anyway they could. They even drove us to the train station on the day of our departure at 6am.

The food was another highlight. This is not your typical hotel or b&b meal. The meals are good enough to be served at a top restaurant. Overall, this was the best part of our trip to Kyoto and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    23
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
101
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Spent 2 nights(daily of 5) in january. Fantastic attention by owners. Excellent food. Large traditional rooms w tatami mat beds. Vastly different experience to a hotel and would thoroughly recommend for a short stay(knees would not cope for long period sleeping/.resting/eating on the floor). Only downside is no credit card so for an expensive place a lot of cash is required

Room Tip: Choose the large room by th elfish pond which is right next door to the hot tub and the toilets as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John19661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I visited Kyoto in October 2013. One of the places we stayed for one night was Kikokuso. We stayed in the large upstairs room with private bathroom. The most outstanding thing about Kikokuso wasn't its atmosphere (which was fantastic) or the food (which was delicious) but was the wonderful service provided by the family who run the establishment. From taking our bags when we arrived early and helping direct us to local attractions, to driving us themselves to our next hotel when we asked for a taxi to be called they made sure to provide outstanding hospitality and help you feel relaxed and treated specially. The location is convenient to Kyoto station although a bit out of the main district. However an easy bus trip takes you to many sites and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dy357lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I, along with our 3 year old daughter, stayed at the Kikoku-So Inn, and it turned out to be the highlight of the trip. The service was over the top, and the food was absolutely outstanding. The Chef is deserving of a Michelin star. Foodies with families will love this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time at this Ryokan. The hosts were super friendly and the food was all freshly made and delicious. We were so comfortable that we didn't even feel the need to go anywhere!

I'd highly recommend this Ryokan if you're looking for a convenient place to stay but still would like the traditional Japanese cultural experience!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jabednego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a small, family run ryokan. The host is polite and friendly. We stayed for 1 night. The ryokan itself is quite simple - the room is a little small and crowded. It has a wash basin, but no toilet / bathroom. The garden is small but pretty. The common area feels a little crowded. The public bath needs to be reserved, but is quite nice. The food is decent.

The location however is not very good. It's right by a street, and the traffic is loud during the night.

With the standard in Japan, I feel that this ryokan is OK, but not exceptional. With the price paid, you can find many other ryokans in Kyoto with better location and facility. The previous night we stayed in Ryokan Karaku in Gion which is superior in my opinion. The homey feeling and the friendly host are definitely commendable, though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yiye34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night with group of 8 and loved it. The hosts were extremely helpful and yes we did experience that Japanese are nice by nature but here it was like icing on the cake. It completed our great experience in Kyoto and made the trip unique. It's truly little piece of peace in the middle of the city. Really awesome experience and truly loved the place and our hosts.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bernatka113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Motonago
#9 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#57 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Watazen
Watazen
#52 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikokuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikokuso

Property: Kikokuso
Address: Kawaramachi Shichijo Agaru Hitosujime Nishi Iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8143, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Kikokuso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kikokuso Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing