We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value”
Review of Urban Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #95 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Mullumbimby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good value”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We found this hotel to be quiet, comfortable and the service good. There is a bus that leaves from outside the hotel; as well as the nearby train station. One of the highlights of this hotel is the local restaurants nearby which are good value and allow travellers to experience local food and life. There is a cafe with the sign Lawsons in the street behind the Hotel. It is awesome and the couple there have been brewing coffee there for 40 years. The coffee is brewed traditionally and was the best we had in Japan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 742janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, June 8, 2015
Thank you for staying with us.

We made restaurant map(Japanese, English, Chinese) near here.
There are a lot of kind food restaurant, for example Soba, Yakitori , Chinese, and so on.

I know the cafe you said.
The coffee is very nice smell and tasty.

If you will come Japan in the future , we are waiting your booking!
Thank you very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    147
    108
    14
    5
See reviews for
37
99
79
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
112 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is just a 5 min walk from the Fukakusa Station of the Keihan Line. We travelled from the Kansai Airport on the Kansai Thru Pass, which allowed us to travel on (almost) all privately-run railways and was quite convenient. It's in a quiet neighbourhood in Fushimi which is of walkable distance to the famous Fushimi Shrine.

The hotel room was not too big, which was typically Japanese, but had all amenities included- toothbrush, slippers, shampoo, conditioner, socket converters, etc. You could also rent a bike for 1,000 yen a day (not that cheap, but Kyoto is a very bikeable city and it'd be a waste not to bike it!)

For connection to Kyoto Station, you could take the bus "South 5" which stops directly in front of the hotel, but it comes hourly so you hv to time your trip carefully. Otherwise, you could also walk to the nearest metro station, Kuinabashi, which is just 15 mins away.

All in all, it is quite value for money. Recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, June 8, 2015
Thank you for staying with us.

Fushimi Inari shrine is the beautiful sightseeing place in Kyoto.
I love it, too.

There are rental cycle service in this hotel.
From 9:00 to 19:00, you can rent standard bike 1000yen or high class bike 1300yen.
They are useful and good for health!
There are many buses and cars in Kyoto city road, you may run fast at the congested street.

We sell city bus ticket 500yen, city bus and subway 1day ticket 1200yen ,
and Keihan railway 1day ticket 750yen.
They are useful ,too.

Thank you for your review.
We are looking forward to seeing you in the future !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a hotel in a peaceful neighborhood of Kyoto (a very beautiful and peaceful city in general).The hotel is located near Japan rail Inari station; there is another station nearby by a private rail also. The famous Fushimi Inari shrine is nearby and where there is a big tourist area nearby full of café, shops, restaurants near that. The hotel offer bicycles on rent ,a good way to explore the peaceful neighborhood. There is a canal nearby for lovely morning walks. Hotel has self-laundry rooms , drink vending machines, a breakfast café & a small souvenir shop. The staff is as helpful and ever smiling. The rooms are good and compact. The bath is attached with basic toiletries with housekeeping services are available. There is a good Indian restaurant one block away called Raju Indian and several convenience store right across the road. Overall it’s a good hotel to stay within budget. Hotel is just 2 stations away from Kyoto station, the big entertainment hub of Kyoto city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davechinwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, June 8, 2015
Thank you for staying with us.
We locate near Fushimi inari shrine.
A lot of people are coming Kyoto to see Fushimi Inari 'Senbon Dorii'

We heve vending machine on 3rd and 6th floor, we have coin laundly machines and drink vending machines.
We have lots of kind drink and alchol and we sell cheap price.

If you will come to Japan in the future, we are looking forward to booking room.

Thank you for your comment !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Given the price we paid for (8500 yen per night), the hotel really outstanding. Would recommend to others. Hotel is dated and small but clean and comfortable. Good location. Close to train station, convenient stores and a few restaurant. There is also a beer shop nearby, which is a plus for us.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhyWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
アーバンホテル京都, at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, December 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us!
How was your trip? We would be happy if you have a great time.
Fushimi inari shrine is located near to Urban Hotel Kyoto.
Thousands of orange gate is reary fantastic!
Fushimi inari shrine is very croeded with many visitors on New Years Day. This shrine is famous for GOD of thriving business.
If you have chance to come to Japan, we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My only key issue with this hotel is that the room is really small, with barely enough space to lay out your luggage. The aircon functioned well but has no thermostat control.

Otherwise, I found the hotel to provide decent value. It's location is few stops off the the main tourist area of Gion but the neighbourhood is safe and quiet at night. The closest train station Furukawa is about an 7min walk and Inari Station another 2 mins further. There's a convenience store just opposite the road and several eateries including an Indian restaurant close by although the local ones mostly didn't have English menus. There is also a 24hr coffee and deli joint at the pump station close by.

Housekeeping was very good. Room, toilets, bedsheets and towels were all clean and I especially liked the mattress. Overall, the location and room size are reflective of the price but if you tend to want to do most of your shopping and eating in town, where excellent eateries can be found and then crash for the night, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tantiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
アーバンホテル京都, フロント at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, September 28, 2015
Thank you for taking your time to review us a great review.
We always appreciate the worthy feedbacks that are given by our valued guests whether it's positive or negative.
We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are look forward to having you back at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Good price, good-enough comfort and friendly staff. This suburban hotel is close to station where access to Kyoto Station is convenient and quick. The in-house breakfast is also pretty good, and cheap enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfe-co2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I was late booking and there was little choice in Kyoto itself and what was available was very expensive. This hotel is about 20 minutes on the JR line from Kyoto. Not a big deal as I had a JR rail pass. Trains run about every 10 minutes or so. They are crowded in rush hour. The hotel is steps away from the station. Not much in the way of dining in the area. Two convenience stores but no 7-11 for non-Japanese ATM cards. The room was quite basic but clean. Reasonable but slow Wi-Fi but the wired internet was fast with my Apple Airport Express. No English TV channels. Staff were helpful. There was a laundry room apparently but I did not see it. Given the same circumstances I would stay there again

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Phlogiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Urban Hotel Kyoto Nijo Premium
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#57 of 369 in Kyoto
688 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#70 of 369 in Kyoto
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
#137 of 369 in Kyoto
303 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#12 of 369 in Kyoto
479 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Kyoto

Property: Urban Hotel Kyoto
Address: 4-59 Fukakusa Nishiura-cho, Fushimi-ku, Kyoto 612-0029, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Hotel Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Hotel Kyoto is located a 10-minute walk from Fushimi Inari Shrine and a 5-minute walk from Fukakusa Train Station of the Keihan Line. Completely renovated in June 2015, all guestrooms are non-smoking rooms and come with free WiFi access. Parking is also available. Guest rooms offer both air conditioning and heating facilities. Each room is equipped with a fridge, an electric kettle and a TV with satellite channels. The en suite bathroom comes with toiletries and a hairdryer. Bicycle rentals are available at the hotel for guests who wish to explore the surroundings. The hotel also has a souvenir shop and a launderette. For breakfast, a Japanese-style and Western buffet is served at restaurant Kyo Wasabi, while the cafe & lounge Lavender offers a toast set. Tofuku-ji Temple is 20-minutes away, while Nijo Castle is 30-minutes away. It will take 40-minutes to reach Kiyomizu-dera Temple, the Heian Shrine and the To-ji and Gingaku-ji temples. Fushimi Ward is a great choice for travelers interested in temples, sightseeing and food. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Urban Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing