We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Expedia.com
$48
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/18/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$48
Orbitz.com$48
travelup.com$83
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,299)
Filter reviews
2,299 results
Traveler rating
900
1,086
234
52
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
900
1,086
234
52
27
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,299 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2019

The room was cosy enough for the both of us, and was pretty comfortable despite its size. Claustrophobes might beg to differ but we quite enjoyed our stay. The fridge wasn't particularly efficient in chilling our convenience store treats but that's about it for our issues. The check-in/out process was fuss-free, the streets nearby are lined with many cafés and convenience stores, and the subway is a stone's throw away. Not to mention Nishiki Market being just 10 minutes away. We didn't go for the breakfast option, what with everything else outside to be explored and savored. I'd like to try staying elsewhere on my next visit but this place will always be a great option for straightforward comfort and convenience.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jailthebluage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are pleased to read your highly apreciated reviews. We are looking forward to your next coming to Kyoto.

Best regards,
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front desk M.SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Good sized rooms, good location accessible by subway. There are cafes that lined the street, coffee places and convenient stores. The hotel lobby is decorated in an English style. There is a wedding hall and a restaurant in the street level. The staff were helpful and efficient, the check in too mins.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank veronc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very glad to read your good comment. Our hotel is located near subway stations. It is easy to go to Kyoto station by subway, and also by taxi.
We look forward to your next visit to Kyoto.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights as recommended by our Inside Japan travel agency.

It is just a few minutes walk from the subway station (3 stops from Kyoto Station), so super convenient. It has a mini mart convenience store across the street plus a Starbucks etc.

WiFi was not very good, but we had our own device.

Front desk staff including concierge were just great. Very helpful on everything from dinner recommendations and reservations to luggage forward to directions for our 3 days out and about in Kyoto.

Breakfast was just “ok”, nothing great. And coffee options were not good.

Good value for money and location with very friendly staff.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tom_M71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very glad to read your heartful reviews.
We are looking forward to your next coming to Kyoto.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk
M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

We stayed here for part of our Okasa trip and were pretty disappointed. The lighting is dull and dark, and upon arriving the staff at reception didn't have great customer service. Our room was very small (bathroom was even smaller!) and everything seemed dated. Furthermore the decor was meant to be heritage but seemed creepy. Upon entering the hallway from our room or walking back to our room from the lift there was always a strange smell which made me question the cleanliness of the place (again hallways really poorly lit). Would not recommend.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vivianhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. But we are very sorry for our inconvenience.

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk
M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

This is a quirky but charming hotel! The decor is a little intense, but the overall experience is very pleasant. The hotel is full of little treasures, from the chandeliers (yes, really) over the breakfast buffet, to the indoor chapel, it’s a charming little place. More importantly, the staff are friendly, the bed was ridiculously comfortable, the shower has power jets and plenty of hot water,the hotel was clean and fresh (no cigarette odour etc) and very quiet. I’ll be recommending this one! To top it off, it’s just a block from Karasuma Oike Station, a bus ride away from the likes of Kinkaku-Ji and Kiyomizu-dera and an easy enough walk/bus to Nijō Castle, Gion, Nishiki Market, Yasaka Shrine and other awesome spots.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Trudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We very glad to read your reviews. As you mention, all of our guest rooms are non-smoking. We are looking forward to your next visit to Kyoto.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk
M. SAGA



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews