We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a stay in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #35 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“A gem of a stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed January 23, 2010

More of a boutique hotel, loved the stay here. Location, value, cleanliness, it was WONDERUFL! I have recommended this hotel to several friends and they have not been disappointed, either!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winegal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    942
    205
    43
    23
See reviews for
404
745
329
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

The Hotel Monterey was everything I had hoped it would be and more.
The hotel was elegant and beautifully decorated. The wallpaper and furnishings may not be what you would choose for your own home but they were perfectly appropriate for the Monterey. Very stylish and decadent!
The rooms were immaculately clean, well stocked with every toiletry you can imagine, and the beds were very comfortable. I loved the decorative touches, such as little plaster flowers on the ceilings in the pink striped rooms.
The lobby, the lifts and the breakfast room where the buffet is served were luxurious and impressive. The buffet itself was fairly ordinary food-wise, but I have no regrets as getting to see the chandeliers alone made it seem worthwile!

It was ideally located one of Kyoto's main streets and within easy walking distance to great food and shopping, and a reasonable walk to Gion and many small temples and beautiful sights. (Catch a taxi from the station to the hotel though, we walked and I can assure you, it's a lot further than it looks on the map!).

The staff were incredibly helpful, supplying us with detailed maps, bus timetables, and holding our luggage following checkout. Kyoto itself is one of the most incredibly beautiful places I have ever been, such a calm easy pace, and little surprises around every corner! If you're visiting Japan, don't miss the opportunity to visit Kyoto.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thriller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This hotel was fantastic. The service was great, the staff all spoke excellent english, and were extremely helpful. The location cannot be beat and is centrally located to many attractions. It is within walking distance to Nishiki Market, Gion, and Northern and Southern Hirashyma neighborhoods. The price is also reasonable for a hotel in the luxury category. I stayed here during the busy maple leaf season, because, literally, there was no other room available in Kyoto - but I'm glad I did. I extended my stay another night and the rate was only $110 (plus taxes). The rate was $159 during the weekend. The room itself was lovely, extremely clean, and very spacious for a Japanese room. It felt like the Four Seasons. Wonderful stay!

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I just returned from 5 nights at hotel Monterey Kyoto
the hotel is in the perfect location, nicer than train station area
rooms and hotel were nicely decorated and staff were very helpful
I

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We booked the Hotel Monterey based on its very favourable reviews on TA and were not disappointed. In my view, the location, only steps away from Karasuma Oike subway station, with its access to both subway routes, is one of its major benefits. It’s also close to several convenience stores and coffee shops and a fairly funky shopping and restaurant complex. It is a little further to the bus stops that serve many of the famous temples, shrines and other major tourist attractions, but no big deal. These are mostly located in the hills at the edge of the city, and I'd rather be nearer the centre and be more conveniently located to dining and shopping options. Within a 15 minute walk are innumerable restaurants of all standards and price, stores, a market and a few tourist attractions.

The hotel lobby itself takes a moment to find as you have to take a corridor that runs behind the ground floor café bar, that passes the valet parking bay and wedding chapel. The hotel is clearly fairly new and everything seems fresh, clean and efficient. The architecture and interior decoration of the hotel is more amusing than offensive, but is a little bit kitschy and fake European. The reception staff spoke good English and were polite and helpful. The hotel has very good guest security.

Our room was a non-smoking standard double. The room itself is quite small by by US standards, but average by European and Japanese standards. The double bed itself was huge, firm and very comfortable – US king size. The room had basic rather than plentiful storage, very efficient A/C and was coordinated in nice brown and taupe tones with dark wood. We looked out onto the rooftops of surrounding buildings, which we were happy with as we felt this was possibly a much quieter option than facing Karasuma dori itself. The bathroom walls were finished in a somewhat eye poppingly jazzy stripy laminate, but it was spotlessly clean, the shower was terrific, the spa water a nice touch and the towels large and soft. It had the usual level and quality of complimentary toiletries found in hotels of this standard in Japan. Of course, it was also rather compact.

As we never ate in the hotel (as breakfast tended to be a quick coffee and pastry in a coffee shop on the way to some tourist sight) I cannot comment on the hotel's own restaurants or the food.

One minor point to take note: The hotel's website gives the correct location of the hotel, google maps show the hotel in a completely wrong location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
516 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We took the shinkansen from Tokyo into Kyoto station. The Metro was not as easily interpreted as there was no English on the signs/boards. The Karasume-Oike stop for the hotel did not have escalators or elevators so we had to trudge our suitcases up two flights. The hotel was two short blocks to the right, towards the direction of Starbucks.

Check in was efficient and as in most places throughout Japan, extremely polite. Our floor required the guest to touch the key tag on a console to open the glass doors to the area containing the geust rooms. This is probably due to the fact that the hotel has a popular restaurant on site and a courtyard used for weddings and other receptions so there is a considerable amount of foot traffic.

The lively shopping area of Shijo-dori is blocks away which is wonderful for exploring. The local Nishiki-Koji food market open during the daytime was fun to explore and be amazed at the price of fresh fruit in Japan.

The rooms are small but expected in Japan. Furnishings were modern and in dark hues. The best part was that the bath water is the same mineral water used in the spa so I did my share of relaxing soaks in the bathtub after four full days of sighsteeing.

We used unlimited day bus passes to visit most of the temples, gardens and palaces. We happened to be in Kyoto during the Nightime Lantern Festival in Gion so we spent two nights enjoying the flower shows, temples lit at night, shops and restaurants of Gion along with the rest of Kyoto. We ordered street food at the stalls with the longest lines and had a blast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dushi-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This art deco hotel is a wonderful combination of location, comfort, service, convenience, and cleanliness. The hotel and the neighborhood are immaculate, and there's shopping, fine dining, and sightseeing all within walking distance.

We recommend this as a fine choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#34 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Property: Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing