We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ahs4y
Hong Kong, China

Right in the middle of the city

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 3, 2013
In typical Hotel Monterey chain style, very clean, organized and "European" hotel in a great location, with great service and at a really economical price. The combination can't be beat. Close to subway and bus lines. In fact the subway is a minute or so away. It is walking distance from the Imperial Palace as well, and from Shinjo Dori, the main shopping street with connections to everywhere.

Was a triple room, with ample room for the 4 of us. Funky wallpapers and colour combinations in the bathroom.

The only down side is that if you are hungry at night, restaurants in the area close early, and the hotel doesn't have room service.
Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$266
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $232
  • Vio.com
    $185
  • Expedia.com
    $243
0.1 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hotel Tou Nishinotoin Kyoto

$103
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $71
  • Vio.com
    $73
1.1 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$66
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $49
  • Agoda.com
    $44
  • Expedia.com
    $74
0.4 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
$206
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Vio.com
    $114
  • Priceline
    $142
1.5 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Pool
$211
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $237
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Priceline
    $149
0.7 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Restaurant
Room service
$86
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $61
  • Trip.com
    $56
  • Expedia.com
    $69
1.6 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
$110
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $117
  • Vio.com
    $87
  • Hotels.com
    $117
1.4 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
$85
  • Priceline
    $83
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $86
1.3 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$60
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $51
  • Agoda.com
    $47
  • Expedia.com
    $50
1.7 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Ryokan Yamazaki

$79
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $89
  • Skyscanner.com
    $61
  • Vio.com
    $63
3.9 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (2,299)
Filter reviews
2,299 results
Traveler rating
901
1,087
233
51
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
901
1,087
233
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nishiki market shopping area subway english japan luggage convenience castle teramachi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 2,299 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A well located hotel for most of the sites to visit. The staff were very helpful with tourist information and always had a smile for us. We would recommend this hotel very highly. I note on TripAdviser that some complain about the size of the rooms, but come on, you only sleep there!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanglCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I got an excellent deal on this hotel through Expedia. I signed up for a very small room -- 20 m2 -- in order to keep the prices down. It was worth it. All of the amenities were there -- a deep bathtub, soft cotton pajamas, an air purifier, fine green tea for the morning. The staff was remarkable: sweet, helpful, and extremely professional. The hotel is spotless. I would absolutely stay here again; I was struck by my good fortune staying here at such a reasonable price.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StregaElisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear StregaElisa,
Greetings from Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your voice with us.
We also would like to extend our gratitude for your kind compliments of our facilities, amenities and services.
It is uplifting for us to receive such compliments and it helps us further improve our service qualities.

For your information, on our own hotel website we offer the best rates along with various stay plans and detailed hotel information. Please visit the site at your convenience.

Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,
Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is close to close to Karasumoike subway. Look for subway exit number for the hotel, turn right, pass Kyoto art centre. Ask for map for suronding area. There is a big food and night market near the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Juliarty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in triple room, and Room was quite spacious for 3 of us. Room was clean and was serviced every day. Kettle was handy so we can have hot drink in the room. One minor feedback, there was no coffee provided, however this was complemented by Uji Japanese tea. Overall we were very happy with our stay in this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a Superior Double for one night. We took a taxi from the train station which was about 25 minutes and 1300 yen. We arrived earlier than the check-in time so luggage was stored and we had a stroll around the neighbourhood. The hotel is quite centrally located.

Check-in was smooth, the staffs' english was very good. Room was nice, included all essential amenities. They had some really comfy PJs as well.

Only thing that wasn't a good experience was with regards to the AC. All the buttons (and there were several) were in Japanese and a sticker referred us to an instruction manual on the desk. We got the AC started but after about 20 min it stopped. We called the reception and within 1 minute someone was at our door. He got the AC started again but we couldn't acutally understand what he did. After 20 min, the AC stopped. We finally figured out how to get it started again but it kept stopping (for such an amount of time that the room was uncomfortably hot and humid). We kept getting it started, and it stopped, about 3 times. In the end we fell asleep and the AC had actually stayed on till morning.

In any case, the hotel really should get an AC with english buttons, and perhaps fewer buttons as well to avoid confusion (basic, on/off, temperature and fan would suffice).

The cafe/bar ("The Library") was a very nice place to relax and enjoy some drinks (we didn't try any of the food).

On our way back to the train station we took the subway which was about 100-150 m to walk from the hotel and didn't take more than 10 minutes. About 310 yen pr. person.

All in all a good experience except for the AC incident, would go back.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecci16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews