We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
StanglCanberra
Canberra

Hotel Monterey

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 3, 2013
A well located hotel for most of the sites to visit. The staff were very helpful with tourist information and always had a smile for us. We would recommend this hotel very highly. I note on TripAdviser that some complain about the size of the rooms, but come on, you only sleep there!
Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$266
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $232
  • Vio.com
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $242
0.1 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hotel Tou Nishinotoin Kyoto

$103
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $77
  • Priceline
    $71
  • Vio.com
    $73
1.1 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$66
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $74
  • Agoda.com
    $44
  • Priceline
    $49
0.4 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
$206
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Vio.com
    $116
  • Priceline
    $142
1.5 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Pool
$211
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Expedia.com
    $237
0.7 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Restaurant
Room service
$76
  • Priceline
    $61
  • Skyscanner.com
    $56
  • japanican.com
    $95
1.6 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
$110
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $117
  • Vio.com
    $87
  • Hotels.com
    $117
1.4 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
$85
  • Priceline
    $83
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $86
1.3 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$60
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $51
  • Agoda.com
    $47
  • Expedia.com
    $50
1.7 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Ryokan Yamazaki

$79
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $89
  • Skyscanner.com
    $61
  • Vio.com
    $64
3.9 miles from Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (2,299)
Filter reviews
2,299 results
Traveler rating
901
1,087
233
51
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
901
1,087
233
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nishiki market shopping area subway english japan luggage convenience castle teramachi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 2,299 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I got an excellent deal on this hotel through Expedia. I signed up for a very small room -- 20 m2 -- in order to keep the prices down. It was worth it. All of the amenities were there -- a deep bathtub, soft cotton pajamas, an air purifier, fine green tea for the morning. The staff was remarkable: sweet, helpful, and extremely professional. The hotel is spotless. I would absolutely stay here again; I was struck by my good fortune staying here at such a reasonable price.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StregaElisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear StregaElisa,
Greetings from Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your voice with us.
We also would like to extend our gratitude for your kind compliments of our facilities, amenities and services.
It is uplifting for us to receive such compliments and it helps us further improve our service qualities.

For your information, on our own hotel website we offer the best rates along with various stay plans and detailed hotel information. Please visit the site at your convenience.

Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,
Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is close to close to Karasumoike subway. Look for subway exit number for the hotel, turn right, pass Kyoto art centre. Ask for map for suronding area. There is a big food and night market near the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Juliarty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in triple room, and Room was quite spacious for 3 of us. Room was clean and was serviced every day. Kettle was handy so we can have hot drink in the room. One minor feedback, there was no coffee provided, however this was complemented by Uji Japanese tea. Overall we were very happy with our stay in this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a Superior Double for one night. We took a taxi from the train station which was about 25 minutes and 1300 yen. We arrived earlier than the check-in time so luggage was stored and we had a stroll around the neighbourhood. The hotel is quite centrally located.

Check-in was smooth, the staffs' english was very good. Room was nice, included all essential amenities. They had some really comfy PJs as well.

Only thing that wasn't a good experience was with regards to the AC. All the buttons (and there were several) were in Japanese and a sticker referred us to an instruction manual on the desk. We got the AC started but after about 20 min it stopped. We called the reception and within 1 minute someone was at our door. He got the AC started again but we couldn't acutally understand what he did. After 20 min, the AC stopped. We finally figured out how to get it started again but it kept stopping (for such an amount of time that the room was uncomfortably hot and humid). We kept getting it started, and it stopped, about 3 times. In the end we fell asleep and the AC had actually stayed on till morning.

In any case, the hotel really should get an AC with english buttons, and perhaps fewer buttons as well to avoid confusion (basic, on/off, temperature and fan would suffice).

The cafe/bar ("The Library") was a very nice place to relax and enjoy some drinks (we didn't try any of the food).

On our way back to the train station we took the subway which was about 100-150 m to walk from the hotel and didn't take more than 10 minutes. About 310 yen pr. person.

All in all a good experience except for the AC incident, would go back.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecci16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked a Superior Double here for 4 nights. Quite a distance from the Kyoto train station so you need to get a taxi to get here as its a distance from the subway and not recommended to take the subway when you have bulky or heavy luggage (no probs if you only have a cabin bag).
Situated on a main street but walking distance to the city centre.
Decor is dark but elegant. Staff are efficient but not as friendly as the staff from the other hotels we stayed at in Japan. Maybe its because you dont need to go through the lobby to get to your room so there is little contact with them.

Room was very small. THIS is what we expected as rooms go in Japan as we were told they were small but all the rooms we had stayed in so far on our holiday were very roomy so this was a bit disappointing. We were told they were small but there was hardly any room for my bag as well as hubby's bag. We had to move furniture around so we could walk without bashing our shins on things and almost smacked into the wall each time we got out of bed. The closet is not even wide enough for a cabin bag so be aware of this. Walls are also quite thin, we could hear the neighbours conversations perfectly through the walls every night and when they were walking past our room.

Location was okay as Kyoto is a nice quiet city. Nothing really along the road that the Hotel is located on (few Starbucks, convenience stores, McDonalds) but there are a lot of places to eat and shopping a few minutes away, along Shijo Dori where there are markets, department stores and Cat Cafe's nearby.

All in all an okay stay (have stayed in much worse!!!) and a good base for exploring what Kyoto has to offer

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews