We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #40 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is close to close to Karasumoike subway. Look for subway exit number for the hotel, turn right, pass Kyoto art centre. Ask for map for suronding area. There is a big food and night market near the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jphoea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in triple room, and Room was quite spacious for 3 of us. Room was clean and was serviced every day. Kettle was handy so we can have hot drink in the room. One minor feedback, there was no coffee provided, however this was complemented by Uji Japanese tea. Overall we were very happy with our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a Superior Double for one night. We took a taxi from the train station which was about 25 minutes and 1300 yen. We arrived earlier than the check-in time so luggage was stored and we had a stroll around the neighbourhood. The hotel is quite centrally located.

Check-in was smooth, the staffs' english was very good. Room was nice, included all essential amenities. They had some really comfy PJs as well.

Only thing that wasn't a good experience was with regards to the AC. All the buttons (and there were several) were in Japanese and a sticker referred us to an instruction manual on the desk. We got the AC started but after about 20 min it stopped. We called the reception and within 1 minute someone was at our door. He got the AC started again but we couldn't acutally understand what he did. After 20 min, the AC stopped. We finally figured out how to get it started again but it kept stopping (for such an amount of time that the room was uncomfortably hot and humid). We kept getting it started, and it stopped, about 3 times. In the end we fell asleep and the AC had actually stayed on till morning.

In any case, the hotel really should get an AC with english buttons, and perhaps fewer buttons as well to avoid confusion (basic, on/off, temperature and fan would suffice).

The cafe/bar ("The Library") was a very nice place to relax and enjoy some drinks (we didn't try any of the food).

On our way back to the train station we took the subway which was about 100-150 m to walk from the hotel and didn't take more than 10 minutes. About 310 yen pr. person.

All in all a good experience except for the AC incident, would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecci16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked a Superior Double here for 4 nights. Quite a distance from the Kyoto train station so you need to get a taxi to get here as its a distance from the subway and not recommended to take the subway when you have bulky or heavy luggage (no probs if you only have a cabin bag).
Situated on a main street but walking distance to the city centre.
Decor is dark but elegant. Staff are efficient but not as friendly as the staff from the other hotels we stayed at in Japan. Maybe its because you dont need to go through the lobby to get to your room so there is little contact with them.

Room was very small. THIS is what we expected as rooms go in Japan as we were told they were small but all the rooms we had stayed in so far on our holiday were very roomy so this was a bit disappointing. We were told they were small but there was hardly any room for my bag as well as hubby's bag. We had to move furniture around so we could walk without bashing our shins on things and almost smacked into the wall each time we got out of bed. The closet is not even wide enough for a cabin bag so be aware of this. Walls are also quite thin, we could hear the neighbours conversations perfectly through the walls every night and when they were walking past our room.

Location was okay as Kyoto is a nice quiet city. Nothing really along the road that the Hotel is located on (few Starbucks, convenience stores, McDonalds) but there are a lot of places to eat and shopping a few minutes away, along Shijo Dori where there are markets, department stores and Cat Cafe's nearby.

All in all an okay stay (have stayed in much worse!!!) and a good base for exploring what Kyoto has to offer

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel lobby impressed us immensely and when we stepped into the room, we went WOW! The room and bathroom walls sported such an artsy design that made us fall in love with the room immediately! Room size is not large but is larger if you compare it to the hotels in Tokyo.

The complimentary toiletries provided are very comprehensive and even includes hair brushes and body sponges, besides the usual shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, etc. Pyjamas is available and comes in separates (pants and shirt) and they provided us with medium size. You can let the hotel know if you need another size.

When you exit the hotel, turn left and you will reach the Karasuma-Oike station's Exit 6 after walking for 5 minutes. Kyoto attractions are mainly served by buses and the one-day bus pass is useful for getting around. However, the summer heat proved too much for us and we took cabs a lot. From the KR Kyoto Station to the hotel, it cost us 1,040 yen and slightly more to get to Gion. Takashimaya to the hotel would roughly cost 700 yen by cab.

Bring lots of bug spray if you are visiting in summer as I got bitten every single day while visiting shrines in Kyoto. The mozzies are even flying into the underground malls and convenience stores. Bug spray is also available in their local pharmacies if you need to grab some.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

the hotel is ideally located downtown to walking distance from many restaurants and market streets, near the metro station and 10 minutes from most of surface bus connections. Personnel is fine and availbale for all needs

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here as I was attending a conference while my partner was exploring the city. Location was perfect for both of us, as we were in the heart of Kyoto (very close to the Manga Museum) but also really close to the subway, making the conference trip really easy. The room was great and the staff were really helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livvil80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $91 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing