We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #32 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice room and a nice hotel in a great location (same block as a central subway stop). The we had was extremely small though so I recommend to check dimensions if that is a consideration. Also, there was no hotel bar but plenty of great restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. The restaurant they did have was rather pricey and formal. The staff spoke adequate English and were able to provide good recommendations for food and sightseeing. Great shampoo, conditioner and hair dryer.

Room Tip: Check dimensions if that is a concern - our room was very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    934
    204
    43
    23
See reviews for
402
738
328
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The decoration of the hotel is quite different from other typical Japanese hotel. The room is a bit bigger than average, double room has enough space to put 2 big luggage. The location is also great, you can use either subway stations; Shijo or KarasumaOike. If you have a big luggage, you can use exit 3 at KarasumaOike station with the elevator. You can walk to Shopping area such as Karawamachi and Teramachi within 5-10 minutes. Nishiki market is just located a block away from hotel. If you want to buy 1 day bus pass, you can also buy it at the hotel reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tob_cafe2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked this hotel 2 months ago and got a very good rate. Check in was easy. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel has more of a European feel. The room size is smaller than US standards, but relatively well organized, although the bathroom was slightly cramped, with no counter space (just shelves). Shower pressure was good, as well as the bidet toilet. It came equipped with disposable toothbrushes, hairbrush, and razor, as well as PJs and slippers. There was a hot water heater as well as tea for drinking. No complimentary water. The bed was on the firmer side, but still comfortable. We were able to change out the pillows and comforter due to feather/down allergies. Wifi was easy to log on and there was no trouble getting on the internet with the laptop, Ipad or Iphone. The staff was helpful in making restaurant reservations, taking care of stamps and mailing out postcards, as well as directing us to the grocery store (1 block south) and the bike rental place (Inoue-ya, 1 block West, $735Yen per day). They let us store the bikes overnight in the parking area. We didn't get a chance to try the restaurant or the baths.

Location was great for this hotel. Very central, 1.5 blocks away from the subway, in walking distance to most sightseeing in downtown. Grocery store, convenience stores (including 7-11, which was 2 blocks away), bike rental were all close by. I would highly recommend biking Kyoto, since you can see most of the sights that way and it's relatively flat. The bike rental place has a map that's pretty easy to follow.

Cons: Small sized bathroom, no in-room safe
Pros: Helpful staff, location, Wifi

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltsao01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is located very well near an undergroundstation and is 2 stops from main Kyoto train station. If you arrive with heavy luggage via train a taxi to the hotel will cost about A$9. We found to rooms to be clean and comfortable albeit small. Prices were high but we went in the high season (cherry blossom - worth the extra money!). There is a very good concierge service who will handle retaurant reservations and gave us printed instructions for the taxi drivers - extremely useful as taxi drivers and restaurant owners generally spoke no English. Breakfast was offered for a hefty Y1900 per person but there is a Starbucks very close which offers much more affordable fair. Overall we found the Monterey an excellent option in Kyoto and would vertainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 11th floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked directly with the hotel for two rooms for my family of 4 and the hotel was very accomodating in granting my request and gave us rooms with doors across each other. So it was very convenient for me and my husband to check on our 2 sons on the other room. The hotel was also one of the pick up points for the tours that I booked online. I would like to commend Ms. Magaro Ishihara for graciously assisting me on my request to coordinate with the local tour provider as to the pick up time and other details of the tours. The hotel location was also very convenient, very near the Karasuma subway exit, walking distance to Terramachi Shopping Arcade for reasonably priced souvenirs, and so many stores nearby like Fresco, Family Mart, Daimaru, Starbucks, McDonalds, ramen shops. It's a 15-minute taxi ride to/from Kyoto Station. The front desk people were always ready with maps when we asked for directions and restaurants nearby. The uji macha (green tea) in the rooms was very good, complete with teapot, tea cups, timer and instructions on how to prepare a savory tea drink.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psl1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. Hotel was very clean, i love the wallpaper they have in all the different rooms.

Location was good, close to Gion so if you wanted to head out at night for a nice fancy dinner or just to go geisha spotting it is not too far. We took a taxi there for 2 nights to have dinner and it only cost us roughly $10 - $15.

Hotel is in walking distance to train stations. You also have a Lawson and a little supermarket near by for late night snacks or if you needed something last minute.

Service was great, always helpful and giving us directions and tips on where we should go and what was the best way eg taxi or train.

Only bad thing i have to say is that hotel lifts were really small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I only stayed here as we could not find another single hotel available in Kyoto during the time we were visiting (Hanami time with the sakura in full blossom). That said, we were not disappointed with our stay.

After struggling to find the place (The map on the hotel's website shows the hotel in the wrong location. We had to use the TripAdvisor Kyoto app to find it, two blocks north of the hotel's map!), we were pleased with the place. The room is small by any standards, but the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom was large enough and the pyjamas provided were comfortable!

It's a nice looking hotel inside, shame they don't make more of the lobby which is attractive. We had a coffee and cake in the cafe/bar attached to the hotel. Expensive and probably not worth the money, but nice all the same. All the more appreciated as we'd walked with several heavy bags from Kyoto shinkansen station - we'd recommend a taxi!! (It's not a long walk, but if you have heavy bags it will seem that way.)

Location is good for seeing lots of downtown and central Kyoto. Unfortunately, the metro system means other parts of the city (Arashiyama in the west, Higashiyama in the east) are a bit of a trek away, but this is less a symptom of the hotel's location and more of the Kyoto metro system - it doesn't seem to link east and west very well at all. That said, the size of Kyoto means it's still perfectly possible to explore both east and west from the hotel (though not on the same day, probably).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Property: Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing