We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite accommodation in Japan!”
Review of B & B Juno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B & B Juno
Ranked #8 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite accommodation in Japan!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The b&b is a beautifully decorated old Japanese house located in a quiet suburban street. The location is fantastic as it is a short, scenic walk to some important temples & the philosophers path. The area in general is a great place to walk around in & observe the Japanese neighborhood. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby of all price ranges, a train station you can walk to & a bus stop right outside.
Our wonderful host Keiko was so kind & welcoming. She made us a plentiful breakfast everyday & was really helpful with travel tips to sights in the area.
Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
31
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Ian and his partner have thought of every detail at B&B Juno. The rooms are beautiful, with soft comfy futon beds, plenty of space, and thoughtful Japanese decor that make it much more than just a bed for the night. The bathroom is immaculate. The breakfasts are hearty, varied and beautifully presented. Ian and his partner are very friendly and full of useful information. We mostly stayed in hostels on our trip, for only slightly more money B&B Juno is a totally different experience and much recommended. I also loved the quiet location near to the Philosopher's Path.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplepalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We really loved this B&B. It's beautifully decorated and the hosts are very friendly and informative. The rooms were very clean and we slept so well. Breakfast was great, lovely food and presented beautifully, we looked forward to it every day!

For us, the location in East Kyoto was great as it's near the Silver temple and the Philosopher's Path and the whole area has a charming feel. The bus stop into town is a 1 min walk so it was easy to get around.

Brilliant value as well

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

During my last trip to Kyoto, I stayed at the five star hotel on top of Kyoto station. Juno's was nothing like that; and all the better for it.

The location is on the edge of the city and I worried that might be a problem, but it wasn't. There is a bus stop two minutes from Juno which will take you into the centre, or can serve as a starting point for anywhere you want to go. Unlike the city centre, this part of Kyoto (being close to the university) is well served with small, interesting and inexpensive restaurants. Goya was my favourite. Finally, the location is close to many temples and attractions and there are hours of lovely walks to be had in the area.

Juno's is nothing like an impersonal hotel. It's an old, comfortable house with three rooms for guests. My room was spacious and a welcome, warm refuge after a day out in the city in the cold! The (shared) toilet is clean and the shower room is huge with an excellent shower.

Breakfasts are substantial and healthy.

But what makes Juno's special are the owners, Ian and Sybilla. Ian is an endless source of advice and guidance, and Sybilla offers a perspective on Japan and the world which is intriguing; such that I found that one of my breakfasts extended to two and a half hours of chat! Their daughter Juno is charming. By the end of my six day stay I felt like I was staying with friends, and you can't wish for better than that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FracturedRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you want to stay in a traditional but comfortable and thoughtfully decorated Japanese house and get an inside view on Japanese culture through the eyes of expats, this is the place. I wanted to stay in an affordable spot in a good location that still had style and character. Juno was all this and more. The hosts went out of their way to explain the ins-and-outs of Kyoto. They gave us city and bus maps, a sheet with nearby restaurant recommendations, and upon learning I was vegetarian, a sheet to give to restaurants that explained this in Japanese and English. The breakfast was yummy and such a welcome break from Japanese food and eating out for every meal. The conversations with the hosts were even better. They really helped us sort through all there was to do and see to find stuff aligned with our interests. Ian made reservations at a temple vegetarian restaurant, and they sweetly did my laundry. We loved this place more than any other spot we stayed during our 2 weeks in Japan. It's right next to a bus stop with buses going lots of convenient places and walking distance to a commuter rail line. The main street nearby has lots of interesting spots to check out - restaurants and cafes. We didn't see any need to stay downtown in the crowds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pricelessSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our hosts were so helpful in giving us advice and information. The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. The location was excellent because it is very near a bus stop. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osuddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked all three rooms for 11 days during my stay here last here. Booked the place again this year when I return with other friends. Awesome place, the perfect accommodation choice. Lovely couple who could give you all the practical advice on where to explore in the beautiful old capital. Lovely traditional japanese house. Clean and with high speed wifi. Very personalized service and a cosy place with lots of good restaurants around the neighbourhood. We have come to see it as a home away from home. Will definitely return for a third time someday. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthlingA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
FUJITAYA BnB
FUJITAYA BnB
#1 of 132 in Kyoto
29 reviews
Northern Kyoto
Kamuroan
Kamuroan
#6 of 132 in Kyoto
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Juno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Juno

Property: B & B Juno
Address: 115-8 Nishidacho Jodoji, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8417, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B Juno, Kyoto, Japan is an international Japanese bed and breakfast that is all about great service from start to finish: clear guidance and friendly service in English, Portuguese, and Spanish; wireless internet; quality breakfasts; minutes on foot from Kyoto University, the Silver Pavilion, the Path of Philosophy, many major bus routes, all kinds of restaurants, laundry mat nearby; the friendly, super-helpful proprietor Keiko Kariya also run Guesthouse Keiko (listed under Kyoto specialty accommodation on TripAdvisor); We look forward to taking care of you in Kyoto . . . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b & b Juno Hotel Kyoto
Bed And Breakfast Juno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing