We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of B & B Juno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B & B Juno
Ranked #8 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at B&B Juno in June 2012 when we stayed for 7 nights. Ian and Sybilla are a wealth of information and truly make you feel at home. The house is beautiful and the rooms are extremely comfortable, and the free wi-fi was a great perk. Location is excellent in a quieter area of Kyoto, but close to the Philosopher's Path and the temples and shrines that line it. There is also a bus line that runs right around the block, and it's a short walk to one of Kyoto's rail lines. Delicious breakfasts to start the day along with great conversation and tips from Ian and Sybilla. There are also many great restaurants in the area, which is handy after a long day of sightseeing. I would highly recommend B&B Juno and will certainly stay there again if I am ever in Kyoto.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
31
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles area
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Sybilla and Ian are wonderful tourist and culture advisors, Our room was comfortable and the bath being downstairs was not a problem. We had the upstairs bathroom to ourselves two of the three nights, and, the other night shared it with only one other person. It would have been nice to have hot water in the bathroom upstairs, but not a deal-breaker for us.Very nice to have Western breakfasts. Finally, there are great restaurants nearby, some only a stone’s throw away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camelSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

B&B Juno is a small, traditional guesthouse with three guestrooms, but from the moment you arrive owners Ian & Sybilla make you feel like it's a home away from home. There are slippers reserved for each guest and free use of tea and coffee facilities in the house, and you can choose what you want for breakfast - as long as you don't mind vegetarian options (the rolls, muffins, eggs, yoghurt and fruit were amazing though, so even as meat eaters we felt catered for). I don't drink coffee, but my boyfriend said it was excellent - and drank it by the gallon to prove it!

Keeping in mind that it is an old, traditional Japanese house, as long as the other guests are respectful - and they certainly were while we were there - there was no problem with noise, lack of privacy or lack of comfort. While you have to cross the dining room/kitchen area to reach the shower room, there is plenty of privacy once you're there and the shower is fantastic.

Ian is a well of knowledge about Kyoto and is more than happy to share it with his guests - he suggested great days out for us and his advice was always spot on. While we were there, he even went though the trouble of making lunch packs for other guests who were hiking for the day. The hosts are also fascinating and insightful people and we spent hours chatting to them about subjects ranging from Japan to global politics.

Regarding the location, the B&B is located within walking distance of the Gingakuji and the Path of Philosophy, from where you can explore some of the main attractions of Kyoto easily enough. It is also near Kyoto University, which means the area is well served with bars, restaurants, convenience stores and other amenities. Just watch out for cyclists when walking on the main roads' pavements - while they should be on the road, most don't bother and can be dangerous if you don't pay attention.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay at this place and can't recommend it highly enough. The only sad part was that due to it being high season in Kyoto, we could only stay there for three of the six nights we had in the city.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is right by the toilet, so I'd suggest you request one of the other two. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Innkeepers Ian & Sybillia personifies B & B Juno's passion for true & complete hospitality. Always eager, willing and able to help us settle into our accommodation and to offer suggestions to make our stay in Kyoto (and its surrounds) meaningful and stressfree - they are indeed the ultimate hosts. 4 of us - me and a couple with their adult daughter - had 2 rooms over 2 nights at Juno's on 10th & 11th Dec 2011. Upon our arrival, we were personally briefed in English by Ian (a personable, friendly gentleman) on the best ways to enjoy Kyoto, orientating us from our lodging, checking out our sightseeing plans, giving us bus-route guidance and an English copy of Kyoto's Visitor's Guide. The 3rd (and only other room in the inn) was occupied by a couple. He suggested that my group of 4 have breakfast earlier than the couple since our stay is shorter and we should set out on our sightseeing early in order to take in more sights. He then swapped our breakfast schedules. Wow!

Breakfast was fantastic. It certainly filled us up for an energetic day on the tourist trial. Sybilla chatted enthusiastically with us whilst preparing our breakfast.

Our 2 rooms were spacious, brightly lit, immaculately clean, charmngly commissioned and decorated - as were the entire house. Japanese knicknacks abound, adding cute little details to the delightful, subtly lit inn that it exuded warmth and an entirely homely ambience ... for indeed, we are in Ian/Sybilla's home. Wonderful! The futons on the tatami mat was perfectly comfortable. Storage facilities within the room - no worries. Towels are provided. One room came with a boutique balcony. Great! There could be weasels on the roof when they seek warmth in winter, we were told. "Why not?" ... we dared to hope.

The shared toilet on the 2nd level, next to the room - had no hot water. It didnt bother us. The shared shower/changing room was on the ground level, accessible through the kitchen -
charmingly decorated - no worries!

The tea/coffee making counter on the 2nd level adds a thoughtful touch - casual, homely.

The historic building that is the inn is nestled in a quaint Jap neighbourhood, close to bus stops and Kyoto attractions. Convenient.

There were 2 futons in each room. We changed the configuration so that I stayed alone with the remaining 3 futons in the other room. I could have been charged as a 'single occupant' which would have mean't us having to pay more. They didn't levy the charge. Amazing.

BB Juno, named after Ian/Sybilla's daughter - is an unforgetably pleasant experience. I have had varied and wide experiences with rooming arrangements worldwide... both as a guest and as a manager in hotels.

BB Juno is an unbeatable. What makes it so memorable? BB Juno's service is personalised, gracious, welcoming.The inn anticipates my expectations ... & surpasses them! Everything seems to have been planned with me in mind. Unbelievable!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

For a visit of five nights in Kyoto our preferred accommodation was away from the city; somewhere closer to the quieter hillsides of Kyoto. Juno B & B has an ideal location, slightly off a main thoroughfare, handy to buses and a short walk to the Silver Pavillion and leafy Eastern hillsides of Kyoto.
Booking online was easy, the website informative and very comprehensive details were provided to locate the B & B. Juno’s three traditional Japanese tatami guest rooms on the upper level are accessed by a steep, short, flight of steps, down the hallway a toilet and handbasin with cold water. Adjacent to the guest rooms, a little area set aside with electric kettle, small fridge, and tea/coffee making facilities. Our room was a good size, light and airy, with personal touches to give a Japanese feel, a long, low cabinet with ample drawers along one wall for storage. An efficient reverse cycle air conditioner provided warmth during our late November visit. The Dining room is located on the lower floor, and behind this breakfast area, access to the large, low ceiling bathroom, with showers, and separate alcove with a handbasin, hot and cold water. Free wireless network is available, no TV or guest lounge, however shelves groaning with a large selection of reading material, and reference books on Japan are available for guests during their stay. Breakfast was Yoghurt and Muesli or an egg dish, bagels , breads, croissants, tea of various blends and coffee. Breakfast time was ideal for planning the day’s activities with Ian or Sybilla whose knowledge was invaluable to make the most of the day. Their little sketch map of eating places, ATM, 7-11 Supermarket, laundrette location etc was handy. Prior to an excursion we would visit the 7-11 store and purchase tasty, inexpensive bento boxes for our picnic lunch, these came with chopsticks, and handwipes; this way we could stop anytime a suitable picnic spot was found. We noticed many elderly Japanese also carried their bento boxes.
Our early morning departure on our last day at Juno was long before normal breakfast time and Sybilla prepared our ‘ breakfast-to-go,‘ so beautifully packaged, (as is the traditional Japanese style) it was a shame to open the package.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights during our tour of japan. The rooms are traditional Japanese and very light and comfortable. Breakfast was great every morning and the English speaking hosts are wonderful for providing info on where to visit and how to get there. You'll be provided with maps of the city and of local area for it's nice restaurants. I loved my stay here, if you are looking for a place to stay in Kyoto, this is it. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We chose the accommodation again based on location and price first. We really wanted to be away from downtown and near many of the sights. Gion area was ridiculously expensive, and after seeing it I can see that it's more Disney version of Kyoto anyway.

We ended up at B&B Juno, which I was originally worried was too far out, but I was proved wrong. The bus system is really easy and transport around is really not a time consuming process.

The B&B itself is run by a kind American man who makes a great cup of coffee, is willing to take his time to chat and help, and make a good breakfast. The room is a mix of Japanese meets west. Ours had a balcony, but didn't get a chance to spend time there due to heavy snowfall.

All in all, I was really happy for a smaller B&B experience in this city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
FUJITAYA BnB
FUJITAYA BnB
#1 of 136 in Kyoto
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamuroan
#6 of 136 in Kyoto
43 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Uji Cha-gan-ju Tei House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Juno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Juno

Property: B & B Juno
Address: 115-8 Nishidacho Jodoji, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8417, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B Juno, Kyoto, Japan is an international Japanese bed and breakfast that is all about great service from start to finish: clear guidance and friendly service in English, Portuguese, and Spanish; wireless internet; quality breakfasts; minutes on foot from Kyoto University, the Silver Pavilion, the Path of Philosophy, many major bus routes, all kinds of restaurants, laundry mat nearby; the friendly, super-helpful proprietor Keiko Kariya also run Guesthouse Keiko (listed under Kyoto specialty accommodation on TripAdvisor); We look forward to taking care of you in Kyoto . . . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Juno
b & b Juno Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing