We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryokan Uemura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryokan Uemura
Ranked #190 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay.The woman who runs the inn is very kind and welcoming. The building is old but clean - lots of character. The bathroom area was very modern looks as though it was newly renovated. The futons where comfortable and a large, home-cooked breakfast is included in the cost of the room. Some of the other reviewers complained of being cold. I visited Kyoto in late November so the temperature was quite cool but my room had its own heater that I could adjust as I pleased. I was very warm. The inn was very quiet and relaxing in the evening.

Room Tip: The single room has a nice little seating area by the window - perfect for enjoying afternoon and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun_doreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a delightful two-night stay in Ryokan Uemura. Uemura san was most hospitable, very friendly and helpful. We were the only guests at the time, so had the facilities to ourselves. The location is wonderful - a lovely small street in Higashyama, described in many guides as "the most beautiful street in Kyoto", within easy walking distance of Gion and of many temples and shrines. Uemura san provided very good breakfasts - we had one western breakfast as she had to go out early that day, and one wonderful Japanese breakfast. She also gave us tea and a sweet treat in the afternoons, and a souvenir of green tea on our departure. We would return if we visit Kyoto again!

Room Tip: We had the one room downstairs - large and comfortable, opening on to the tiny garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Ryokan Uemura is a beautiful and excellent place to stay in Kyoto. The location is in an historic area of considerable character, on the temple route in Higashiyama. Kiyomizu-dera, Chion-in, and Shoren-in are all within a short walk, as are the restaurants and shops of Gion. Cobbled streets and historic homes are a departure from other parts of Kyoto, which is a beautiful city. Monks roamed the streets in the mornings, as the quiet area came to life.

Mrs. Uemura is a warm, friendly, funny, and hospitable lady of considerable energy. An excellent hostess. The ryokan is very clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent, as was the afternoon tea. I see that some have commented on the shared facilities or older fixtures, but that should not be an issue to detract from the ryokan experience - which is quite different from a 5-star hotel. The experience of spending three days in this ryokan was amazing, and an excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Staying with Uemura san was a very special experience. Her warmth and friendliness, combined with the wonderful atmosphere of the historic ryokan, plus the excellent location makes for a great, restful experience. Uemura san is a considerate, friendly host who will help with all issues, although her English is limited. We requested a Japanese breakfast and enjoyed it thoroughly. She provided a different breakfast mix every morning and complemented that with a variety of little sweets each night with green tea when we returned from our day out.
The building itself and its garden are beautiful, and very restful, a part of old Japan. Yes, the facilities are shared, but overall that is the only downside to having the opportunity to experience such a great place to stay. For most of our stay we were the only guests, and she only has three guest rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 572Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Uemura Kyoto

Our 6th visit to this small Ryokan warmly run by the gentile Madam Uemura for the past 54 years. It's located in the atmospheric side streets of old Kyoto near Kodai-Ji temple. An easy 5 minute walk to say Gion corner and a gentle 10 minute stroll to the magnificent Chion-In temple.
Her property is always very clean.It has a " family character" and always very relaxing to stay there. The rooms do not have their own facilities, with toilets and the bathroom shared with 2 or 3 other guests. Never a problem.
The Western breakfast is always welcome after a few days or weeks on the road in Japan. A bowl of fresh fruit, egg over bacon, excellent tea or coffee and " doorstep" toast - see photo.
We hope we are fortunate enough to return again to Kyoto and our beloved Uemura San.
We mixed our 2 day visit with new temples for us, plus a very pleasant day to Kurama where we visited the hillside temple and also the outside Onsen a 15 minute walk from the station. Free shuttle ride runs often. Yen 1,000 for the Onsen, with lovely wooded hillside views. Check out the train arrangements with the tourist office when you arrive in Kyoto. You can also save a Yen 1,000 on taxi fare to Uemura Ryokan by taking the 206 bus from Kyoto railway station and getting off for Kodai-ji. Ask Uemura San to fax you a small map of the side streets. 
All Ryokans in Kyoto are expensive. Uemura is expensive by UK standards particularly with a strong yen. We balance the overall cost of the trip by sometimes staying in cheaper modern hotels in other cities.

Room Tip: We prefer the downstairs " Garden" room but we have also stayed in the room upstairs. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, tr
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Ryokan Uemura is a delightful little place, right in the middle of a dreamy district of lovely Kyoto.
All the problems mentioned in other reviews are true: it is a bit rough around the edges, the toilets (shared!) are spotless but a bit dingy, it is a bit cold at night and yes, it feels expensive for the kind of luxury it offers (or better, it does not offer), but the truth is that Ryokans are a different experience from western hotels: they cost a lot (upper end Ryokans prohibitively so) and offer you basically a cot on the floor in sparse sorroundings, and, again, shared toilets (I cannot stress that enough: in the West, a shared toilet is found in the cheapest hotels, here it belongs to ryokans).
But you don't stay to Ryokan for the plasma tv: you stay for the welcome, the silence, and the location: tourists (japanese tourist) look at you with amazement and envy while you are putting your shoes on the steps of the hotel (inside is strictly slippers, and different ones for different rooms: god forbit that you step in your room with your toilet slippers!). Monks roam the street in the early morning, praying for alms. You walk the cobbled street and you join the midst of the tourist procession along the temples of Kyoto.
Mrs Uemura welcomes you personally every time you return home, and has always biscuits and tea for you. She even ran after me on a very early morning carring a warmer jacket, when I stepped out of the ryokan with only a yukata: it is probably a cultural pas faux, but she was honestly worried I'd catch a cold.
Breakfasts are amazing: if you are brave you can dare to try the japanese style one (my wife could not), but western ones are so fullfilling too, with toasted breads and fresh fruit.
Were I to return to Kyoto, I would like to try a more luxurious ryokan, if I can afford it, but in its price range (again, for ryokans, a cheap one, almost a minshuku) nothing can beat this little home in the middle of amazing, poetic Higashiyama.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yudhisthira70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We chose this ryokan because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Mrs Uemura was so accommodating and helpful. The first night we were there, we didn't know about the 10pm curfew and came back close to 11pm. She was waiting up for us and didn't say a thing! It's only later that we saw the sign in our room about the curfew and apologised profusely the next morning......
The ryokan was beautifully kept and in the prettiest side street in Kyoto, so convenient to most attractions. The breakfast was yummy too.
I would definitely go back if given the opportunity!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prettyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Northern Kyoto
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ryokan Yamazaki
#159 of 351 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Motonago
#19 of 351 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#43 of 351 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#33 of 351 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Uemura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Uemura

Property: Ryokan Uemura
Address: Ishibei-koji, Shimogawara, Gion, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0825 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#82 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ryokan Uemura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Uemura Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing