We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at the warmest Ryokan”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryokan Shimizu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryokan Shimizu
Ranked #37 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely stay at the warmest Ryokan”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent unfortunatly only noe night at this inn, but it seemed worth while the whole trio from norway to Japan!! Warm, extremely helpful staff, great location and the most delightful japanese bath!! We loved it here, simple as that. Great energy and good feeling!!
Kari, Norway

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    133
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
80
332
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Around 10min walk from the train station, but if you go in August beware of the blazing sun and humid weather. Price is reasonable compared to other ryokans, but quite pricey compared to hotels. The plus point is the staffs are very friendly and helpful
Room is good size but is old and in need of touch-ups. Bathroom is clean but the hot water is not consistent. It is a ryokan hence the futon beds, no chairs, and sparsely decorated, but we are not feeling the ryokan ambience, but more like a hostel. Perhaps ryokan is not for us, will stick to hotels the next time we are in Kyoto.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I were just blown away by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff here, and we are quite the global travelers. Every single person we talked to went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay - from help navigating around the city to restaurant recommendations, we were extremely pleased with our stay here. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and they always have tea, activities, or free drinks going on to make your stay a pleasant one. It is also close to the main train station and even closer to a number of the busses that go directly to the main attractions. I would recommend this place to any of my friends traveling to Kyoto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalCitizen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Kyoto at the Ryokan Shimizu. Absolutely no complaints! Service was excellent, price quite reasonable and location was very good for using trains and buses. The staff worked very hard to help us even with a little bit of a language barrier. They recommended an excellent tour service (Kyoto Guiding Club), provided names and directions to good restaurants (a reasonable casual 'pub' called Hanakushi was our favorite) and helped my husband find a music shop for Japanese traditional instruments. One day on our return, we must have looked really tired and hot; there was a knock at our door and a staff member had brought us iced tea! Quite thoughtful!
My only recommendation on travel to Kyoto is to avoid travel there in July and August; very very hot and humid!!! But for a reasonable priced, economy ryokan, the Ryokan Shimizu is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ryokan Shimizu as part of our honeymoon and loved. After a week in a Tokyo hotel we really enjoyed the change of pace offered by the Ryokan. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were happy to have the traditional breakfast and think of the evening culture class as a highlight of our trip. Kyoto is an amazing city and would love to go back and stay at Ryokan Shimizu again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASugarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We chose thia ryokan based on the comments on the internet but it was a complete dissapointment. We stayed in a ryokan before which was an absolute delight, this was a nightmare.
- dirty rooms with undefined marks on the wall
- rooms were extremely noisy, when the neighbours coughed, we could hear it loud and clear
- it feels more like a hostel than ryokan
- these particular futon beds were uncomfortable
- terrible bathroom
- we could not place our two bags in the room
- aircon did not work properly

The rate for this hotel is still arous 145 aud per night which is not extremely cheap. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but we left after one bad night and took the loss of the money for that night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLimpens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at Ryokan Shimizu with a friend for 6 days. I strongly recommend this Ryokan - the place is very nice, close to the station, perfectly cleaned, with a very friendly and warm atmosphere and beautiful people to take care of you. I hope to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giellelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#55 of 366 in Kyoto
490 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Motonago
#8 of 366 in Kyoto
342 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#34 of 366 in Kyoto
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Shimizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Shimizu

Property: Ryokan Shimizu
Address: 646 Kagiya-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8317, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryokan Shimizu 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ryokan Shimizu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Shimizu Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing