We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay in Kyoto”
Review of Ryokan Shimizu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ryokan Shimizu
Ranked #40 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Really nice place to stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ryokan Shimizu has big comfortable rooms, a beautiful onsen, excellent Japanese breakfast and an absolutely first rate staff highly proficient in English. We really enjoyed our stay. The location isn't close to most of the attractions but is convienently located for the train station and public transportation. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    135
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
81
336
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Ryokan Shimizu in early June with 3 kids age 12, 18 & 21 and a 74 year old mum.
It was a great experience for all of us and the kids just loved it! The ryokan is clean and well managed by a group of young English speaking Japanese. Kyoto station is really close by and you can take train or buses to everywhere. There are many eatery places in Kyoto station. A ramen street is located on 10th floor of Isetan in the station. The ryokan also provide a list of recommended restaurant if you ask them.
Do get the one day pass for bus ride, which cost 500yen for a unlimited ride in a day. Traditional breakfast serves in the ryokan for 1050yen and it was so yummy! We tried the private bath in the ryokan by booking in advance, a good experience :) We thank all the staffs who have served us during our stay, and they made our Japan trip a very memorable one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ryokan Shimizu provided a fantastic and welcoming place to stay, making our first visit to not only Kyoto but Japan an even more memorable one. Therefore I must admit this was my first stay in a Ryokan but I found the accommodation to be clean and very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. It must be noted that there are many rules when staying at the Ryokan, including a midnight curfew but it must be understood this is in place for the consideration of all staying there and we certainly benefitted from this with a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Most importantly though was the staff, with friendly people always willing and able to help us enjoy our limited time in Kyoto. In addition, the evening activities put on by volunteers were throughly enjoyable and educational and a nice introduction to Japanese culture first hand. Breakfast, though an optional extra, was very delicious and a great start to the day. We had a wonderful time in Kyoto and Ryokan Shimizu played an important part in that. Not only would we like to visit Kyoto again soon but we would very much like to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I`ve loved my stay and the staff was so friendly and nice!
I could experience the japanese culture and really want to go back. In fact I didn`t want to leave. It`s so clean, the staff is so helpful and had an amazing time!
Don`t hesitate to stay here! You`ll have a wonderful time and a guarantee of an amazing experience.
it` no wonder that I`ve given them the highest rate and i just stayed there for a day!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianalee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The location is excellent if you plan on taking public transportation since it is less then a 10 minute walk to Kyoto Station (where you can catch buses, trains, subways, etc). Also, the staff is truly lovely and helpful. They have cultural activities at night if you want to take part and a Japanese breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnabrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Chose to stay at this Ryokan based on its excellent Tripadvisor ratings and I was happy I did. Booked two months in advance and still got the LAST room! You can walk to this location from Kyoto Station and it is located right in the middle of the city, a great position to visit all areas and see all the major shrines/temples/attractions. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful with all your needs. The rooms are simple and clean, a perfect place to sleep after a long day of sightseeing. Definately opt for the morning breakfast, a delicious Japanese mix of rice, fish, vegetables, and miso soup. One day when I return to Kyoto I will definately return to this Ryokan!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saiklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed her for 3 nights while we were in Kyoto. You have to book thru japanhotel.net and make sure you book in advance, since it only has 12 rooms and are booked up quickly. I picked this ryokan because of it's great reviews on Tripadvisor and because of it's location. It is only 10 min walk from the Kyoto train station. No need to take the cab, we just used a GPS and strolled to it. The staff were young students, speaking great english and were friendly and very helpful. On one of the days, it was rainy and they even had umbrellas, that we could borrow! We also tried their hot bath, which was located on the first floor. The water is super hot - but worth an experience. If you tried an onsen bath before, then no need to try this one - since it's just mostly a big bath tub (fits maybe 4 people max). The walls are very thin, so you can hear other peoples conversation, but most of them were considerate and you barely heared anything after 10 pm. We mostly ate at Kyoto station, they had plenty of restaurants! We also walked each day back to Kyoto station to take the subway and buses for our sightseeing tour.

Tip: make sure to buy the all-day passes for your sightseeing, it's so easy to get around and worth the money. All-day pass for Subway: 600 Yen, for Bus: 500 yen, and they also have a 1-day sightseeing pass for subway and bus for: 1200 yen, or 2-day pass for 2000 yen. It's so worth it!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with bath and restroom in the same room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#7 of 369 in Kyoto
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#63 of 369 in Kyoto
501 reviews
Motonago
#10 of 369 in Kyoto
350 reviews
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#31 of 369 in Kyoto
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Shimizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Shimizu

Property: Ryokan Shimizu
Address: 646 Kagiya-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8317, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Shimizu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Ryokan Shimizu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Shimizu Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing