We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
443
140
25
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
443
140
25
7
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 616 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This ryokan is located about 5-10min walk from Kyoto station and there are eateries an convenient stores nearby. I made the reservation through emailing them and it was done smoothly without any problem. Besides that, they were very helpful answering all my questions and doubts during the process.

The room is well equipped, clean and very cozy, we loved it very much and rested well for 3 nights. The staffs were very friendly and helpful, they even arranged activities for us to experience Japanese culture. Highly recommend to those who would like to experience the polite and friendly home stay experience from Japanese.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rencheok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were particularly impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The ryokan is handy for the station, is very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts excellent. The cultural evening activities were also great fun.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trek416645
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The nicest people I've ever stayed with. I feel like I'm staying with family. There is always someone to greet you when you come in and they bring tea up to your room. Free wifi is hugely useful (especially in Japan where data can be an issue) and every Sunday/Tuesday they have a free "cultural night" where you can do basic calligraphy, Japanese language etc. Also, its only a 7min walk from Kyoto Station.

When we come back to Japan we will probably stay in Kyoto one night just so that we can visit here again!

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autospot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Ryokan Shimizu for 2 nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we were invited to do calligraphy in the evening in the dining room which was a lot of fun and a really nice personal touch. Location was perfect (only a 5/10 minute walk from the main bus and train station). rooms were comfortable and roomy with lots of storage space, would definitely recommend anyone to stay here, the only thing i would say is that the traditional breakfast is not for everyone but this is not a complaint as its is definilty worth a try.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natasha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Could not fault this hotel. Very pleasant and, important to tourists, very Japanese! (Get practising with those chopsticks). Exceptionally clean and all the staff did their utmost to give us a memorable stay. Although situated down a quiet side street, it was near to the railway station and bus station so it was simple to travel anywhere.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkFrank123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews