We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
75
28
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
75
28
9
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 114 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

This establishment is a modernised version of the traditional ryokan but a great experience nonetheless. The facilities are immaculate throughout, and the service faultless. Both baths are new and beautiful (one is designated for men and the other for women in the evening, then in the morning they swap around). The kaiseki meal served in the room was sumptuous, and no additional request to the staff was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank korm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We stayed as a large group in this ryokan which was very good albeit not a ryokan in the traditional sense of the word. The rooms were comfortable although my fellow roommates kept me awake with the snoring. Apparently, the compliment was returned!

There is an in-hotel onsen which we all made daily use of. The hotel itself is well appointed and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff.

It is a curious mix of modern hotel and old-style values and traditions. some of the modernity felt a little incongruous against the backdrop of tradition as our previous halt was a traditional 15thC Ryokan in Hida but in no way did it detract from the experience.

Very good for tripping around Kyoto and some very nice eateries close by. The breakfast will really set you up for the day! Recommended.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Faversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

This was our first experience of a Japanese ryokan.

Pros:
- great location
- green tea and Japanese pancakes welcome for the adults / toys for the kids
- western breakfast available (we loved trying the traditional Japanese breakfast on our first day but were pleased to be able to switch afterwards)
- beautiful onsen
- traditional Japanese home clothes provided
- umbrellas provided for rainy days
- staff greeting at the door every time we came in

Cons:
- children under the age of 6 are treated as second-class citizens: no breakfast or even bottle of water provided - despite the fact that they are paying guests (even if at a discounted rate). We didn't know that and it came as a bad surprise. Given the price we paid per night, this is really poor and young children should not be made to feel like that
- noisy room (street side)
- very expensive

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank JulieInHvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

While the staff was friendly and ryokan beautiful and clean, I felt it was not a "traditional Japanese ryokan experience" Years ago I stayed in a ryokan with my family and it was very different. Matsui Bekkon was geared more to what the tourist would like. Dinner was very pretty and offered several dishes to taste. However, breakfast was not served in our room and while the meal was nicely presented, there was only one dish that was tasty.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 23, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, nice rooms , great hot spring baths and a superb Japanese breakfast ....

They do not speak much English although enough for you to get by...

Very central to s lot of sites to visit

I highly recommend!!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank FibreFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews