We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
LiJianlie
Hangzhou, China
Best Hotel during vacation in Japan!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 9, 2016
This is the best hotel I stayed during the vacation in Japan. Japanese style room with very hospitable staffs. Location is great, walking distance to Nikishi market and bus station in Shijo area.Dinner and breakfast is also very delicious. I can never forget the staff even wave a flag for farewell after check out. Amazing experience!
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
1.3 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.2 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
art room 2213
1.7 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
アプローチ
1.1 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
4.1 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
スタンダードツイン-エグゼクティブフロア  Standard Twin-Executive Floor (10F)
1.6 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.4 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.5 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
中庭
0.5 miles from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
75
28
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
75
28
9
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 114 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

With Japanese hospitality at its best, this ryokan and it staff made my stay very enjoyable. The staff are gracious, kind, attentive, and always helpful. The rooms are comfortable, elegant, and very clean. This ryokan is conveniently situated in the heart of Kyoto.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Nesrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

My family stayed there around Christmas time. We all love it. Excellent Ryokan experience. The setting and environment are perfect for a quiet stay. It cleansed your mind body and soul during you stayed there. The room is huge. The staff are extremely friendly.

It locates on a quiet street, about 10 mins walk from Nishiki market, major department stores and bus/subway stops.

And there is an owl cafe across the street from the hotel. Don't miss it if you have this "Japan only" experience.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savorymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

Such a great find of a place, location is perfect for exploring Kyoto. Nishiki market is on the doorstep. The traditional Japanese style rooms were great to experience. The Onsen was lovely and a must to use.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank loubeeloua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

There is not much to say, as this was simply a mind blowing cultural experience...and I do not give 5 points so often. From the moment entering this Ryokan to the final greeting upon departure by the manager. However - and I have read some of the negative comments which say more about the authors than about the Ryokan - if you think everything must be like in your home country and have not informed yourself about the concept of Ryokans, have no time and no interest for different cultures or back issues or think, while the largest part of japanese don't speak or understand english they must do otherwise at this Ryokan: don't go there!
Otherwise: arrive, relax, lean back and enjoy the surprises (I won't tell too much...) awaiting you!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasG591
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 26, 2016

We stayed one night in a traditional hotel and two nights in this ryokan while in Kyoto. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. It is a little hit or miss how much English each of the staff members speak. The public bath (onsen) in the basement was very clean and super relaxing at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. The traditional kaiseki dinner will add a lot to your hotel bill, so we opted only for breakfast. The Japanese breakfast on the first morning was better than the western breakfast on the second morning. Due to the nature of a ryokan, you cannot come back and relax on a couch or a lounge chair. You are either lying on the futon that you sleep on or sitting in the uncomfortable pseudo-chair on the tatami floor. We would recommend a maximum of one or two nights just for the traditional experience.

Room tip: Room away from elevator
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edwinl556
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews