We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$170
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$97
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$100
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$100
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$174
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$283
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,564)
Filter reviews
2,564 results
Traveler rating
1,525
764
195
54
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,525
764
195
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumtouzan barken yokoyamatrattoria settecomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxiconcierge deskbeautiful hoteltrain stationthe general managera short taxi ridewet roomzen gardenwestern style hoteldeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,552 - 1,557 of 2,564 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Very nice 5-star hotel with superb service and lovely rooms. Located at the start of the Eastern Kyoto temples/shrine route there are a number of bus services that run to the front door and taxis are quite reasonable to most areas. If you are arriving at Kyoto station there is a free taxi/shuttle service to the hotel.
The room that we stayed in had a very nice wet shower room which was great and the room itself was large and looking onto a dry garden.
The only negative that I found was that the hotel is slightly out of the tourist areas and there isn't anything within walking distance

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seraph101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Weekend leisure stay. High level of service at check-in, feels very busy and cosmopolitan. Nice comfortable room with great wet-bath bathroom. Location is a five minute (complimentary) taxi from Kyoto station, near a subway station and on a main bus route. Bike rental through the hotel is another option we've tried though not this time as the weekend was rained out. So we ate in the hotel, chose the Italian as it was the cheapest option. Not that you could tell; great food, even better service, nice view of the Japanese garden, and all non-smoking which is a real plus point for Japan (the Grill restaurant had a half and half set up for smoking). Anyway if that's what you get for a 4500yen set menu the Japanese restaurant must be something else at three times the price. A few issues with plumbing noises in the room and at high-season prices it can get a bit expensive but at our Hyatt advance purchase rate it was a great bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

I booked the Hyatt based on the previous reviews, and can only say everyone was right. The concierge was lovely. She couldn't do enough for us. Everything she suggested was just right, and she made all the reservations for restaurants and entertainment. Nothing was too much trouble. We wrote a note to her General Manager before we left as she made our stay very special. The hotel rooms were lovely although we didn't have a nice view, but it didn't matter.

Would definately go again

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

nice rooms, great location. the italian restaurant in the hotel is a must try!! nice bars in kyoto are hard to find so pop into the bar for a drink in a nice setting!!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Chets_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

What a disappointment!!! I got to my room finally, it is in the annex portion of the hotel just above ground floor. It literally takes 7 minutes to get to the lobby all by walking. That may not seem far, but after you go through all the mazes, you might agree. Awaiting for me was a polite note that they were having hotel maintenance. Workers speaking loudly, front diggers grinding the cement and shovels digging, were my new found neighbors.

When I voiced my concern, the reaction of the hotel was basically...live with it. So much for the nice Japanese service I have been accustomed to receiving all this trip.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clovis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews