We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #13 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
keerbergen
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is great. The personnel is friendly and their English is far above the average you find in Kyoto. The japanese restaurant is very good (and not expensive). Breakfast is ok (coffe could be better but we must say, without aksing the waiter made us an espresso, did he see our reaction?)
The rooms are ver cosy and the bathroom is clean and the shower super).
Location is ok, bus in front of the door and taxis waiting at any moment. Also by foot you can see a lot of attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheshoedai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    698
    184
    49
    24
See reviews for
583
1,052
157
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Suva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the Hyatt. The staff where very friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic. Our room wasn't the largest however we spent most of our time exploring the city any way. My wife even forgot one of her dresses and they look after it's safe return. I didn't follow up on it for two weeks but this was no trouble and they kept it safely. The hotel is also very conveniently located and everywhere is easily accessible. We want to come back to Kyoto and if we do this is definitely where we will stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Malachy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family of five just returned from five nights at the Hyatt Kyoto as part of a 2-week, first time trip to Japan. I loved this hotel. It feels different from the typical Hyatt/business hotel. It's 3-4 stories high and has nice gardens surrounding the rooms. Our two rooms looked out onto rock gardens. They were on the first floor and very quiet. Beautiful bathrooms with a waterfall shower. One of the highlights was the morning buffet, which was a little pricey ($28.50/adult) but worth it! We ate there every morning. We also ate at the Italian restaurant in the hotel one night (needed a break from Japanese food), and it was very good. I wish the hotel had a pool for the kids. My husband had a massage at the spa which he said was good. The staff was very helpful and friendly. No complaints at all. I hope to be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFtoSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Hyatt Regency Kyoto was a terrific place to spend three nights. The room was lovely, the service was excellent, and the hotel even gave us a 30USD$ off coupon for use at any of their restaurants. The only issue I have is that the location could have been better, but it was still a near-perfect hotel.

Location:

The Hyatt Regency is located almost due east of Kyoto Station, in no man's land where the Metro is concerned. There's a suburban rail line that functions within the city as a quasi-subway which is within walking distance, but it only goes north-south and gives limited connectivity. Essentially, you're going to have to use Kyoto's bus system or cabs. Thankfully the former is as user-friendly as a bus system can possibly be in a foreign country and the latter are fairly cheap and plentiful.

Also, in the positives for location, one of Kyoto's cooler sights (Sanjūsangen-dō) is located within 100 yards of the hotel and the Kyoto National Museum is literally across the street

Room/Facilities/Service

Really excellent in every regard. The room was beautifully furnished and the bed was comfortable, if a bit hard for my tastes. The bathroom and shower were top notch and very spacious. As for the staff, everyone we interacted with was courteous and caring. The concierge helped with my requests, the front desk staff gave me a 3000 yen discount to use in the restaurants (which may have been one of those clever inducements to get me to patronize their restaurants, but hey, for 30$ off I'm happy to oblige) and I felt fully taken care of throughout my stay.

Internet:

WiFi was free for me as Hyatt Platinum but not for general guests I believe. However, the connection was excellent.

TIPS:
To get here from KIX airport, take the JR Hakura (~70 minutes) to Kyoto Station. To get here from Tokyo, take the Shinkansen/bullet train (~145 minutes) Hikari to Kyoto Station. Once at Kyoto station, take a cab. It'll cost less than 8 US$

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Everything at this hotel was just right. The hotel staff were really helpful and the English spoken there was much like in the USA. We stayed there with our children in a big basement room and our stay was excellent. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious and there was a great variety to choose from western , Japanese or healthy. Getting to the train was just $7 each day. Thank you for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junkyard70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Second time to stay at this particular hotel. First time was in a rather large suite. This time, is was an ordinary room, on the third floor. The hotel is wonderful in that it caters to American's. And ask for Mr. Toby as a guide/interpreter. Second time to have Toby, and he is wonderful. But, the hotel needs some updating and the shades need to cover the windows and blackout the light. Only the rooms in the basement, we heard, could you not see the rising sun through the hot cracks in the pull down shades. And, they SHOULD NOT allow cigar smoking in the bar! It's terrible. Have a dedicated enclosed smoking section, or no smoking at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

While near the train station, the hotel is located next to a hospital, which is not in a nice location. The building itself is old, although it has been updated at some point.

The view from our room is the rooftop of a building. The hotel is not tall, so I'd expect all of the rooms have horrible views.

There are no English channels and no movie options for rental, although there are DVDs available. Calling to the front desk at all hours to try to get a movie is not convenient. There isn't even a list of the movies in the rooms, so we're unsure if any of those movies available are in English. Our daughters did bring their tablets, but the wifi was poor, quite possibly because we didn't upgrade to the "premium" internet. Speaking of upgrading the lockers and sauna are an additional charge.

Beds are the same as what we've had at other Hyatt hotels in Japan, which are adequate. The nightstands have no outlets near them, so charging phones next to the bed at night is not an option. That's very inconvenient, as my job requires me to have my phone available.

The coffee is the worst we've ever had. There is a kettle to boil water in the room, but you have to call for coffee. The coffee itself is instant and doesn't come with creamer. Even the cups that are available are inadequate. Don't expect to be able to hold them if you like your coffee hot. The cups have no handles.

The bathroom is small and without adequate counter space. The shower is very large, which was nice, but the tub is literally enclosed in the same space with the shower. It's an odd design, to say the least.

We are Hyatt Gold Pass members, but beacause the room was booked and paid for in advance we were not allowed to use our membership for any benefits. We stayed at the Hyatt in Tokyo under the same pre-paid arrangement and this was not a problem.

If all of the issues with this hotel were present in other hotels we might be able to chalk it up to cultural differences, but the simple fact of the matter is that this place is worse than subpar. We absolutely would not stay here again and would recommend that anyone wishing to have a nice hotel experience look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,935 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,196 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Property: Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing