We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and Fabulous service !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #8 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Kyoto for 4 nights and it was one of our best stay in Japan. The service is very good, Concierge will try their best to attend to your every request. Most staff here speak english. The room is well designed and the bathroom is very comfortable. Good amenities too. They offer a western buffet or Japanese breakfast. The western breakfast is excellent. Location of the hotel is good. About 10 mins walk to the nearest subway and about 25 mins walk to Kyoto main train station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saxonewoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

In November during my weeks of travel in Japan, I accidentally lost all my cash, credit cards and passport in Kyoto, I asked for the direction of police station at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Kyoto. What happened afterwards is so touching and I am forever grateful!!!!

Please note I did not stay at Hyatt in Kyoto this time. The staff, Mr.Nakagawa Schoichiro 中翔一朗 advised Mr. Kazuto Teramoto,寺本和人, front office manager of my unfortunate encounter. The hotel was so busy and surely they really did not have to help me out other than pointing me the direction of the local police station... But amazingly, and I am forever grateful to their deep kindness and really respect their going extra extra efforts in helping me.!! Instead, Mr. Schoichiro walked the miles, accompanied me to the station, interpretated and translated for me with the local policeman, (who spoke not one word in English), it took over one hours!!!Afterwards, he even helped me to get the transportation for my next destination, and phoned my next hotel of the incident.!!!!! I am truly grateful to Mr. Schoichiro, and to Mr.Teramoto for sparing one of his staff at a peak season to help me out.
I have been a Hyatt member for two decades, and this level of kindness and service truly raised the bar in the Hotel Profession. They have most certainly gone beyond their professional duties in assisting me and helping me out. With their help, my next hotel was informed about the situation, and I was able to rush to the consulate for help and obtain my identity paper.

Well I salute you for your wonderful and kindest staff you have on board. Once again, thank you and for sure, see you next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lavoyageuse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

When one of our party became ill and needed to go to a doctor, the hotel recommended a clinic which was literally 30 seconds around the corner! They sent a member of staff along to translate, who stayed around for several hours, even though it was late. They did their best to translate difficult medical terms and were helpful and sympathetic. I ended up staying in the hotel for three weeks, while a family member was in hospital. The staff were charming, caring, concerned and did a great deal to make my stay a lot more pleasant than it could have been. They understood that a European person would struggle with the Japanese hospital food and provided me with breakfast, lunch and dinner from the hotel (they did charge us for this, but that's fair enough). This made everything a whole lot more bearable and the food was all beautifully prepared and presented. Nothing was too much trouble. They sent flowers to the hospital, along with presents and lots and lots of good wishes. All very thoughtful and kind. So, they were there when we needed them and I'm extremely grateful for their help and kindness.
So, in summary, it's a lovely hotel (I should know I stayed there for 3 weeks), the food is delicious, the spa and beauty treatments are very relaxing, and very well executed, and the staff are very thoughtful, helpful and lovely. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dogcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here on honeymoon in December and had a lovely stay. The hotel is beautifully designed, and the management have clearly thought of everything, from the accessories in the room, the excellent showers, to the great choice of a healthy breakfast. The details are everywhere. The Touzan bar in the basement had a friendly barman who made our visit at happy-hour truly perfect.

I do agree the rooms lack a bit of sound-proofing, and the gorgeous wood bedroom furniture makes noise that seems to travel, but I'd argue that the comfortable beds and perfect temperature of the room made sleeping easy enough, despite the jet-lag. Breakfast was delicious and our first dinner in Japan was also great. Would definitely visit again if I come back to Kyoto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the peaceful courtyard with its pretty garden and pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

You cannot call your hotel 4 or 5* when the rooms aren't the slightest bit soundproof. I can hear tv in room next door, toilet flushing above and drawers opening / closing in next room. Absolute rubbish. I challenge the manager of this hotel to try to get a decent nights sleep in one of these rooms. None of the guests are especially noisy. The rooms are just like a 1* motel / hostel. No amount of nice linen, restaurants, etc. can paper over this one key basic item. Do not stay here. Especially at £200+ a night - it is a rip off. Go to hotel Granvia in the station. We were recently there for three nights and you heard a bit of the train noise but it wasn't half as noisy as the Hyatt. Also, Granvia is cheaper and bigger rooms (although the bathroom at the Hyatt is much better compared to Granvia. But you don't need a magnifying mirror to see the circles under your eyes for lack of sleep!!!)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank travelsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent quality hotel with outstanding service. Comfortable rooms with good breakfast and really helpful concierge. Gym was high quality as well. Central station a bit of a walk but otherwise nice location and close to many temples. More expensive than others in Kyoto but very good value.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tigger000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is a short taxi ride away from Kyoto station (approx 7 mins). We arrived by Shinkansen from Tokyo before noon - check-in was not yet available. So we dropped our bags and went into town. This was our second time in Kyoto so were familiar with the places we like to go. We love walking and hence hotel was perfect location for us.

20 mins walk to Kiyomizudera temple. 7 mins walk to Shichijo train station (which we took to visit Kurama Hi Matsuri - fire festival). 20 mins walk to Kyoto station (which is where metro line is). All in all easily accessible.

There's Sanjunsangendo temple just next door to the hotel. We visited this on our first trip to Kyoto and well worth a visit.

Rooms are clean, tidy, functional. Comfy bed. Quiet rooms. Nice rain shower.

All in all we chose this hotel on our second trip for its location. Close enough to station to walk and by cab to catch the train. It's good standard hotel and also very quiet and peaceful. Would choose this again when next in Kyoto.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wiriask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#12 of 407 in Kyoto
3,172 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 407 in Kyoto
1,321 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#14 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $325 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing