We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay with Some Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #12 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, CT
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay with Some Issues”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

There were many positives about our 5-night stay at the Hyatt. Our fourth floor room was spacious, functional and mostly well appointed. The WiFi worked well and was free because we have Platinum status. The concierge was great in assisting us with restaurant reservations for our group of 6 and making arrangements for a taxi for a 5:30 AM departure to Itami Airport. Much is expected from a hotel of this caliber however. While the shower stall in the bath was huge and had a rain-shower head, the bath was not equipped with a double sink. Although there were reading lights over the bed, the lighting in the rest of the room was barely adequate. For many staying here, the excellent breakfast buffet was included in the rate. Ours was not and the cost was steep - about $35 per person. Although tables turned over quickly, we were forced to wait on a couple of mornings. The two of us had dinner at the Japanese restaurant, Touzan and were largely disappointed with the mediocre food and indifferent service. Later in our stay our group of 6 had dinner at Trattoria Sette, the Italian restaurant. That experience was such a disaster that the restaurant comped us the entire meal and paid for our taxi to the airport. My 4-star rating does not reflect our dinner experiences as I have written a separate review on TA of Touzan and one of our dinner companions wrote a separate review here of Trattoria Sette.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,391
    718
    186
    51
    25
See reviews for
611
1,072
159
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stylish, understated, wonderful staff, comfortable rooms. This is a lovely hotel. We arrived after a 10 hour flight and 4 hrs on the trains so were pretty tired but it's the perfect place to get over your travel. Great food too, which was a relief as we were far too tired to go restaurant hunting on arrival!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had the great fortune of staying in this hotel for two nights during a recent business trip. The hotel is exquisite, with a beautiful garden of bamboo and brilliant autumn leaves of other trees. Very lovely rooms, great breakfast and wonderful service. I could hear my neighbor from time to time, but nothing too noisy. I didn't try out the spa but it did sound tempting. Next trip. Also, the hotel is conveniently located -it seemed to be central to every place I went.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a family and the hotel was very accommodating and welcoming to the children. Our travel agent had booked us 2 adjacent rooms but when the reception staff saw that our children were aged 4 and 6 they organised for us to have interconnecting rooms which was much more convenient. The room had special kids amenities including bathrobes and slippers. For our last night we were upgraded to a suite as all interconnecting rooms had been booked. For anyone looking to upgrade to a suite, I would recommend it. The suite had all the amenities you would expect plus a traditional Japanese dining room and a large bathroom and one wall was floor to ceiling windows overlooking a beautifully tranquil Japanese garden.

The buffet breakfast was fantastic and there was a great bakery/deli in the hotel.

The hotel is within walking distance of various temples and Kyoto railway station and all the fabulous restaurants and shops that it has to offer. The street on which the hotel is located has a number of traditional Japanese restaurants as well as a couple of western convenience stores. There is also a laundromat close by which is very handy when travelling with children.

We were always greeted warmly by all the staff as we passed through the lobby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katedonnellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This past Summer we took a family vacation in Japan. Among all hotels we have stayed in, this is my most favorite. Excellent services, spacious and comfortable room with a fabulous view of the garden. Breakfast buffet was fresh and full of delicious choices. Location is very convenient. We walked to nearby temples and shops. I even found a little Japanese laundromat within 10 minutes of walking – that was a fun experience. Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We recently spent six nights here in Kyoto, and were very impressed with this hotel. Our room was quiet, comfortable and serene, with a modified Japanese bath that was easy to get used to. The hotel is a five-minute bus or taxi ride to Kyoto station, and is convenient to the bus/metro network that allows you to visit all the major landmarks without breaking the bank on taxi fares. Breakfast is served in the Grill, with large windows opening onto a view of one of the two well- planned gardens that give the hotel a feel of being in the country even though it is in the middle of a crowded city. The Garden Breakfast is good value, for a luxury Japanese hotel, compared to the full buffet breakfast. We also ate dinner at the Grill one night, and were impressed with the cooking. We had a minor medical problem while we were there, and I cannot speak more highly of the help we got from the concierge desk, who made us an appointment with a doctor at a nearby clinic and carefully explained to us the process of getting medical attention in Japan, which has a universal healthcare system. The hotel is across the street from the National Musem and right next to the thousand-buddha hall at Sanjusangendo, making your first sightseeing excursion a snap, even if punished with jetlag.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbx295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and found that the location was one of it's best points. We walked from our hotel to see a few different sights around the city. Not too far from bus and metro stops either. The rooms were small, but worked for us for 2 nights. We found that the breakfast area was a little crowded each morning, as it just barely contained the number of people breakfasting at the same time. In the few days that we stayed there we saw multiple weddings, so clearly it's a hint amongst local people too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 373 in Kyoto
3,002 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 373 in Kyoto
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 373 in Kyoto
1,218 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
888 reviews
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Property: Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing