We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best mix of traditional and modern Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #13 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“The best mix of traditional and modern Japan”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed for one week with my family at this hotel and I love it!

Reasons? Splendid architecture, combining modern Japanese style with traditional elements. The rooms look like traditional houses, with wooden elements as part of the decoration. They are very comfortable and the bathrooms have also some wooden area were besides a common shower, you can have a Japanese scrub bath.

The lobby is made of light carved wood and the use of lights are very well worked, giving a sensation of coziness, although a large area. The hotel has 3 different restaurants, all of very high quality. Breakfast is served in the area close to the lobby and it has good quality and options.

Staff if friendly and effective.

Besides that, the hotel is located in front of the Historic National Museum that unfortunately we could not visit because it was closed that week. There are 2 other temples from a walking distance, one of them, which has 1000 sculptures, is on the corner.

The hotel is some 3 blocks from the Kamo River, which is a nice walk and some 15/20 minutes walk from Gion, the famous Geiko's and Maiko's area, which is an attraction in itself. The whole neighbourhood around the hotel is interesting for a walk.

No regrets at all for experiencing this hotel. I definitely would suggested in Kyoto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    710
    186
    50
    25
See reviews for
601
1,065
157
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here for the second time (last in 2011). My experience again was excellent! The entrance area and lobby are welcoming and have a nice Japanese atmosphere. These areas were never too crowded, nor bustling. Thus, the context of the hotel is one of peacefulness. The room size was ample, although I would not call it spacious. The bathroom was excellent and had a Japanese feel. We were on the B1 subground floor, which made the room especially quiet. View was of a bamboo garden area, and it was apparently quite private. The services were top-notch, and the concierge was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was exceptional, although I can't vouch as strongly for the a la carte selections, which were just OK. The location is away from the crowded, bustling town center, but it is reasonably close to the train station. Importantly, the Hyatt is surrounded by notable temples and is close to the west-side quaint shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuisinator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having just left this hotel in Kyoto, I cannot express how wonderful the experience was. The staff was extremely helpful and gracious; the room was spacious and modern; and the food was excellent and well-priced. The breakfast buffet was about $30 USD and the fixed priced lunch in the Grille was about $20 USD. Both delicious with good service.

On a prior trip, we went for the convenience factor of the Hotel GranVia at Kyoto station, but now I would definitely return to the Hyatt on all future trips. The serenity and luxury of the Hyatt are exceptional for almost the same price as the GranVia.

Unlike prior reviewers, I thought the location was very convenient for sightseeing. Several buses stop right outside the hotel which made getting around very easy. Even the taxi ride to the hotel from Koyto station was reasonable--a bit over 800 yen. Several sites were within walking distance.

This hotel is a five star experience.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden are particularly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent a lot of time looking at the many lodging options before our first visit to Kyoto. This was a perfect choice. It's located just a few minutes away from the main train station by taxi with easy access to the city's many awesome sites. There is a bus stop immediately in front of the hotel that can take you to many sites - though taxis are affordable and the drivers are great!

For a large hotel, it blends surprisingly well with its surroundings. You arrive to a cool bamboo grove and suddenly friendly people are everywhere making you feel welcome. The main thing that stood out during our stay is that every staff member we encountered was genuinely gracious. From the check-in, to the concierge, to the restaurant staff, to people you'd meet in the hall, they all were just nice.

The hotel really is beautiful. The lobby is a large, open space covered with an intricately carved, light-colored wood. There is a Japanese restaurant and bar in the hotel, a really good Italian restaurant, and a large dining area in the lobby where breakfast and lunch is served. The food is awesome with, of course, immaculate service.

We had a double room and that was plenty of space. The bathroom was fantastic with a very cool glassed in shower and bathtub area, separate from the rest of the bathroom. We had a strong wi-fi signal. There was a large television, but no channels in English, but we didn't miss it at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is situated in a quiet spot, yet very assessible by public transport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was so clean, and a very nice atmosphere. Nothing I could pick on!
It's also a walkable distance to two of the major sight-seeing sites (temples) in town, with convenient stores close by. 24 hours taxi services and polite front desk service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoghurtland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Hyatt Kyoto is a stunning hotel with an amazing Japanese garden as a centre piece. The staff are all very helpful and the service extremely efficient. The rooms are decorated in modern Japanese style with lovely bathrooms. The bar has a very serene atmosphere with great cocktails and canapés served by the executive chef Shaun, a very charming Australian. The Japanese restaurant looks over the stunning garden and serves authentic food with timely service. This is the only hotel I would stay in when in Kyoto.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel concierge has helped us a lot on planning the trip. They have given us the bus route on how to go to different templates in one day, recommending some good local restaurants around those areas, booking the wagashi workshop etc.

Besides, the design of the hotel and room sounds nice to me as it seemed to have a good blend of modern design and Japanese culture. I am not a design expert but I do appreciate that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,955 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,201 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Property: Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing