We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, solid quality, english speaking staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #8 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have visited this hotel several times in the past few years and it has always been positive experience. I could not find another hotel in Kyoto at par with the Hyatt Regency.

The location is superb: 50 meters to Sanjūsangen-dō, right across the street of the Kyoto National museum, 150 meters to the Toyokuni Shrine and much more - even Gion can be reached on foot (well, it takes a few approx. 15 minutes, but it's downhill).

The interior of the hotel is very nice, especially the wooden lobby hall (which has free wifi-internet. If you book through hyatt.com you might get free cabled internet access in your room).

The size of the rooms are ok (not huge, but good for Japanese standards). Needless to say that the rooms are well maintained and very clean, with a large wash/shower area and the mandatory Japanese high-tech toilet.

The walls of the rooms are thin - unless you have a corner room, you might have to put up with some noise (depending on your neighbour).

The guests seem to a very international crowd. The fact that staff speaks good English (for Japan) might be a supportive factor.

The restaurants in the hotel have good quality Japanese and western food. Especially the Italian restaurant stands out. The grill is a bit over priced from my pov and quality is so-so (I had a fish that I hardly could find on the plate which smelled very fishy - usually a sign for 'fishy'-food ;-) Yeah well, but who orders fish in a grill restaurant anyway... As I didn't have a beer or wine with the fish, I was charged USD 8.5 for not ordering an alcoholic beverage. A hint to the management: such actions do not improve the guest experience!

The breakfast in the same restaurant is great. You have two choices: the 'garden' breakfast (which is continental buffet) - or a full (including warm food) break fast. The latter one is about doubled the price - it's up to you to decide it it's worth it.

The gym of the hotel is a bit tricky to find (there is a separate elevator on the 2nd floor wing of the hotel, that indirectly (with a stop at the spa reception) brings you to the basement). The machines are well maintained, clean, latest stuff - including a good selection of free weights. I have not met anyone in the gym - maybe they are all exhausted from sight seeing...

In the immediate surrounding of the hotel you also find: a drink vending machine at the bus stop right in front of the hotel (saves you from the higher mini-bar prices), a convenience shop 3 minutes down the street and a McDonalds (4 minutes to walk down the street).

A nice smoking corner is just around the hotel corner (for those who need it) - the small forest surrounding the hotel is also home to a few squirrels which you might see there.

In any case: you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: book early - especially if you intend to stay there on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kintung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

I wanted to stay in a ryokan, but wasn't feeling the shared bathroom concept and chose the Hyatt instead. Glad I did! The room was very Asian, great balcony, open shower with HUGE Hiba tub. The service was out if this world. I would call for something and it would be there in 5 minutes. Only negative, very hard bed.

Room Tip: Choose room with Hiba tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is the epitomy of Hyatt....sophisticated...calm..natural feel. Service was spectacular especially by the Duty Manager and Sakura the head concierge.
Despite a few issues they were handled superbly. Its not quite in the centre but very close and cheap to center of town ($7 by taxi) or 10 min walk to metro station. If you're in Kyoto this is the place to stay. Also visit Nara 45 mins away by JR train(so free if you have a JR Pass)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood About ten minutes to the train station, cost was 800 yen. Rooms are a little small, but still ok. We ate lunch at the hotel one day, it was good but expensive. Hotel staff was helpful with dinner reservations and tour information too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetotravelfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We originally booked the Hyatt for 7 days and extended our stay by 3 days due to the great central location of Kyoto for completing our Japanese Rail tour of Japan. Kyoto is fantastic for Day trips. This hotel has all the amenities that one comes to expect from the Hyatt brand and is located with a bus station just outside its doors. Bus passes are 500 yen for an all day pass, and the system is very easy to use. You can visit almost all the tourist cites on the bus lines. If you tire of the bus option, Cabs are always on standby at the Hotel and are only 640 yen for a 2K ride which gets you to the JR station. This hotel is a great buy for the price and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher rooms, 3rd and 4th floor are Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KanoSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a room with twin beds and a little balcony ran along so you could open windows for fresh air and hear a little waterfall. We were so busy touring Kyoto we didn't have much time in the hotel.

We did try the Italian restaurant and we found the food the best Italian Japanese we had tasted, service was excellent, courses well prepared and delicious. Plenty of breakfast with lots of choices,
As usual the Japanese are extremely polite and respectful to us tall older tourist.
Our only regret is that we are always so busy trying to see as much as we can, sometimes one can miss it all while there. We managed to stop and see many times and rested at hotels when we could. Fortunately we have many photos and videos to remind us what we saw!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Hyatt Kyoto,

my main impression is that is seems they tried to be a park hyatt but maybe for some reason they are a regency.
the hotel is in a good location, the rooms are not very big, although we got a little bit bigger room with was very nice. the bathroom same story very clean and nice but not so big. for us no problem.
there are a couple of restaurants on site and we had a drink or a bite in all them but not a ful menu, our impression was very good!

you have to check different dates because price do vary at the hotel.

and Kyoto is a great destination for older travelers,

Room Tip: almost nog suites, but you want to be on the ground or first floor, not on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N I I N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#12 of 407 in Kyoto
3,172 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 407 in Kyoto
1,321 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $326 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing