We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$288
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$284
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$285
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,519)
Filter reviews
3,519 results
Traveler rating
2,192
955
250
81
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,192
955
250
81
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sanjusangendo temple national museum touzan bar trattoria sette free taxi japanese restaurant train station beautiful hotel a short taxi ride concierge staff breakfast buffet deluxe room garden view gion district four seasons rooms are small lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,795 - 1,800 of 3,519 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel has managed to create the spirit of old Kyoto while having the most modern conveniences and beautiful, quite, relaxing rooms. Love this place and cannot wait to return. Take a cab from the Kyoto train station - it looks a lot closer on google maps than it is!!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProfSummerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

If youre going to stay in a hotel while visiting Kyoto as opposed to a ryokan The Regency ticks all the boxes. It is in a good loaction - near a lot of sights, near the older parts of town and is walkable from the station - helpful giving the high cost of taxis and the often busy traffic. Service is good, staff are friendly and helpful and rooms are well appointed.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeanY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is in a very good location , 10 min by car from many good attractions in Kyoto.
the staff are very kind and speaks well English. breakfast was very good.
room was a bit small but i guess for japan its considered to be a true luxury.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Namd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is great as a base to explore Kyoto: good location, very comfortable rooms, but what makes it truly special is the service: this was our first visit to Kyoto and the staff at the concierge desk was absolutely great helping us planning our days, taking into consideration the family situation (young children), weather, avoiding busiest hours, etc

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emicla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was attending a conference in Osaka and chose to stay at Hyatt Regency Kyoto. I would have to say that the hotel is so good, it is worth the extra commute. I particularly like the bamboos next to the rooms and main restaurant. So green, so leafy and so serene -- it was unreal. Having a cup of coffee in the morning while staring at the bamboos by the window definitely elevates the mood.

Service, room and the hotel overall are spotless. One minor confusion is how the rooms are numbered. They all start with '1', so a room number of 14xx is on the 4th floor.

Location is great too. Walking distance to some great temples and not far from tourist attractions.

Finally for travelers who may need to go from Kyoto to Osaka. My daily train rides (30 min each way on the express train, which runs every 10-15 min during rush hour) between Kyoto and Osaka were... well... full of commuters but not over-crowded. Train cars are quite and clean as you will find in any Japanese public transportation. The Hyatt Regency is only a 5-min taxi ride away from the Kyoto JR train station so that helped a lot too. You can expect to get from Hyatt Kyoto to Osaka main station in 40 min if you know the train departure times.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DT94024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews