We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just shy of perferction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #11 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Just shy of perferction”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is an excellent western style hotel and very well located to explore Kyoto. The stand out point to me about this hotel was the quality of service. Every single member of staff we encountered had very good English and was incredibly helpful and really made you feel at home. The front of house manager of the hotel really deserves credit to have such a well trained set of staff who are so knowledgeable and helpful. Of the six hotel we stayed in on our trip to Japan I think the staff at the Hyatt Tokyo were by far and away the best. What let this hotel down for me was the layout and design of the hotel our room was a full 5 minute walk from the lobby and the rooms were the smallest of the hotels we stayed in.

The hotel offer a free taxi service from Kyoto station to the hotel, we were only made aware of this afterwards. If you are arriving at Kyoto station you should use this complimentary service.

Pros:
Service across the hotel was magnificent.
Concierge was very knowledgeable and really helped us make the most of Kyoto.
Location
Good Breakfast

Average:
Italian restaurant
Room furnishings

Below par:
Hotel design and room size.

I would definitely recommend the Hyatt Kyoto.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the next Annex, our room was a 5 minute walk from the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RST1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    698
    184
    49
    23
See reviews for
582
1,051
157
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and 1yo stayed at this hotel in late August 2012, We had a nice stay and recommend it. The lobby is open plan with a traditional Japanese design covering the ceiling it has a clean business like feel to it, the staff are warm and welcoming without creating a fuss. The rooms are average size and starting to age but still lovely and in very good condition. The bathroom is large but some people might find it lacks some privacy as the vanity adjoins the the entrance corridor without a door then one enters the toilet or shower area through a separate doors (ok as long as you're not too prudish). The room is not very well insulated against sound so one can hear street noise and noises from other rooms, that said, I'm a light sleeper and wasn't woken once by noise. The breakfast buffet was ok, nothing to write home about but all the stapes were there. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Pick one on a higher floor facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 days at the HR Kyoto in August and we really loved it. The staff is exceptionally nice and helpful, The rooms are average in size but very comfortable beds and spacious well-appointed bathrooms. A previous review by AR mentions that there is no lounge but that is not correct. THere is a very lovely, romantic lounge on the lower level. One nice aspect of it was that if you are using the lobby wi fi, you can order a drink in the lounge and they will bring it up to you in the lobby. Other reviews mention the primary disappointment that there is no wi fi in the room. I agree that this is very disappointing. It meant that only one person at a time could be on the internet. The Italian restaurant is outstanding. Really one of the best I've ever been to.

The only problem we had was when we had to send our bags to the airport two days before our flight due to the fact that you cannot take large suitcases on the bullet train. We got the bags to the front desk alright and the transfer company picked up the bags alright but the hotel failed to give us a claim ticket so when we arrived at the airport we had no idea where our bags were. Fortunately, a very nice ticket agent for American Airlines helped us find them.

Kyoto is a magical place. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinman525_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was a great stay. The hotel staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful in organising onward accommodation (to the extent of printing out maps of Hiroshima and writing out directions for the taxi driver and booking several different options when hotel rooms were scarce, for various reasons). We also got a voucher for 3,000 JPY off in all restaurants/bars etc.

Breakfast was very good - particularly the French bread, which is amazingly authentic. The room was very comfortable. We also used the spa, which was excellent and reasonably priced.

A few small gripes - the location is not ideal. It is a bit of a walk from anywhere you might want to go as a casual tourist, though there are buses, taxis and trains. Room service is obscenely expensive - JPY 3000 for a steak sandwich. Only Japanese language TV channels - not even CNN/BBC World.

N.B. this was booked using hotel points, not cash, so I can't really comment on value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig_2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the Hyatt Regency in Kyoto in November 2011 for 1 week and we very much enjoyed it. Such a beautiful place surrounded by bamboo trees. Neat, modern and stylish with attention to details. Close by museums and temples and bus stops nearby to head to the old part of Kyoto. About 20 mins walk to central station but 5-10 mins by taxi. Service from the hotel staff was excellent. During our stay, like many other guests, we were also invited for free cocktails as a welcome by the hotel manager. The only small downside though, is that the lights in the main reception were always so dim that it was rather difficult to read or fill in the details at the reception when checking in. But that didn't stop us from appreciate what the hotel had to offer and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnès L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We loved this hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms are small, but the bathrooms were surprisingly large. Both are stylish and luxurious. We ate at their Italian restaurant a number of times and the food was excellent. They have a small outdoor space where you can sit and relax and eat or drink, but it's not picturesque, so don't expect a walled garden. Also, there's no pool. The hotel is in a good location with a bus stop to all the major attractions right outside. However, there are no other restaurants within walking distance, everything is a cab ride away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor where there is more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,926 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 369 in Kyoto
1,195 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Property: Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing