We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush, green and relaxing”
Review of Gio-ji Temple

Gio-ji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.46*
and up
Kyoto Rickshaw Tour
More Info
$82.00*
and up
Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour
More Info
$128.06*
and up
Sagano Bamboo Grove and Arashiyama Walking Tour With Yakatabune Lunch Cruise
Ranked #49 of 1,120 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lush, green and relaxing”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This place is DEFINITELY worth the detour. Gio-ji is a shrine dedicated to a beautiful dancer who fell out of favour with the local lord, renounced the world and became a nun. It's set deep in the forest, filled with trees, shrubs, lush green moss covers the ground everywhere - it's magnificent to wander the paths. But it's tiny in comparison to some of the other places in Arashiyama. It's far enough removed from the main tourist attractions in town that there are fewer people here, and you can really enjoy the zen tranquility of the site. Don't forget to visit the building at the back of the gardens - there is a dedication to a big white temple cat who used to roam the gardens. Very cute.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank skyisblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    98
    27
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a beautiful spot to visit if you love moss. The temple is quite small, but has a very compelling history. recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellyDinCoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were on our way to Arashiyama by cab and was surprised at the area where we got off. It was in the middle of a quiet residential district which was not the Arashiyama I saw the first time I went by train.

We made our way up a short street to a nondescript gate and was pleasantly surprised by the quaint moss garden that greeted us beyond the stone posts. The calming effect the tiny forest with a blanket of various moss varieties was enhanced by the story behind the temple. If I got my guide right, it was the place where two women, accepting the reality that the love of their lives belonged to someone else, decided to live in recluse until their deaths.

The garden was very natural and rustic. It was small enough to give an air of serenity and space to really appreciate what is in front of you and who you're with. As we visited Kyoto at the height of Golden Week, the trip to Gouji Temple was a welcome antidote to the crushing crowds at the more well known and bigger attractions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peewee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Zen Haven - Approach with Calm and Peace of Mind”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Truly a wonderful small temple accessed only after a little effort. But it is such an exquisite and wonderful place. The history is moving, the temple is simple and the scenery and ambience is truly peaceful tranquil and eternal. It needs to be visited to be fully appreciated. A moving and delightful place which one will never forget.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little spot.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Wind your way around the backstreets of Arashiyama and you will discover this little gem. A very tranquil little spot for a short visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Creme_Brulee_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio-ji Temple also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Gio-ji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing