We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you TA for Ninna-Ji!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ninna-ji Temple

Ninna-ji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.67*
and up
Private Scholar-led Kyoto Walking Tour: Japanese Gardens and Landscape
Ranked #10 of 1,074 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ninna-ji is a national tresure and also designated as a world heritage site. From over a thousand years ago, it has a deep co nection to the imperial family. Then, Ninna-ji is one of most famous temple which known for beautiful cherry blossoms, its wrapping up the end of the season in Kyoto - a town with many famous cherry trees.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thank you TA for Ninna-Ji!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I was in the neighborhood and used the TA app to find nearby attractions. That's the only way I knew about Ninna-Ji and I'm so glad I did! While not the top attraction in Kyoto (Golden Pavilion, Kinkaku-ji, did it for me), this is amazing and not crazy crowded. In one place you get a beautiful rock garden, gorgeous art panels, a pagoda, and other photogenic buildings. There is a train station just a short two blocks or so outside the main gate (a sight in itself to see). DO NOT MISS THIS.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    302
    64
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best of the least touristy temples in Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you want peace and quiet, this is probably it. The whole complex offers a lot to see and is beautiful in its simplicity. While I wonder why it does not have the same recognition as the other more popular temples in Kyoto I must confess to secretly wishing for it to remain under the radar, as it's one of the places I enjoy visiting ever time I'm in the city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Underrated Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

To be honest, I feel that Ninna-ji is more picturesque than it's better known counterpart - Kinkakuji (Golden Temple). The grounds are more expansive and the gardens just have so many good angles that it looks different in every picture.

What I loved most about it though is that it invites you to just stop, pick a good corner and quietly regard the scene in front of you.

The design of the complex seem to make people flow through the buildings with such ease that it never seems crowded.

I highly recommended a visit to Ninnaji for the weary traveller who just needs a little break and a place to just contemplate in relative peace.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peewee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
147 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The majesty of surprises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

You can walk from Ryoanji to Ninnaji and though it was quite a walk in the freezing rain my visit to Ninnaji was a delightful surprise. As noted on TA, this site is not on many visitors itinerary. However, the blogs of those who have visited piqued my interest.

Ninnaji, once a palace that was later converted into a temple for the Shingon sect is set in a large complex with various interconnected buildings. In addition there are other ruins, pavilions in the complex that you can visit without fees.

It's often very hard to describe why some places touch our hearts and others don't register much.
The building structures at Ninnaji were not overly ornate nor do they provide the so called 'wow' factor in terms of being plastered in gold or full of ornate carvings etc. However, walking along the interconnected verandahs, there was a wonderful sense of peace, calmness and beauty about the place despite some noisy school kids running about.
As you walk along the verandah you are treated to glimpses of the raked sand/gravel garden, a pond or two, thick carpets of fallen autumn leaves, the naked branches of trees that have lost its leaves, the evergreen pines and clusters of shrubs in various shapes, forms and hues.
Not everything is in full view but the slow discovery of each element and surprise that greets as you meander, makes this place quite special. I suppose in many ways, this is classic quintessential Japanese architecture and landscape.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank birdcagewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My plan had been to visit the Golden Pavilion in the morning and then go to Arashiyama in the afternoon, but Kinkakuji took much less time than I had anticipated so I decided to go to Ninnaji because it is sort of on the way to Arashiyama. But I did not expect much, the various reviews were not all that compelling. So, I was pleasantly surprised at the depth and quality of the sights at Ninnaji. Mind you, this was my third day in Kyoto and this was the tenth site I visited so I was already suffering a bit of “temple overload”. Yet, I was very impressed by Ninnaji and would recommend it.

For one thing, it is not just a temple, it is an entire complex. The grounds are extensive and include a variety of constructions from epic gates to small shrines and gardens, starting with a fearsome pair of guardian warriors at the front gate.

The first complex of buildings on your left when you enter the grounds has a series of painted doors (fusuma) that depict a variety of scenes – some of nature and wild life, others depicting people in action. Some of the more popular places I visited (Nijo, Nanzenji, etc.) also feature wonderfully painted doors and that is among their main attractions. The ones at Ninnaji are every bit as good, but for some reason that does not seem to draw the crowds. And that was the second benefit of Ninnaji: there were very few people. Or maybe it just seemed that way after coming from the Golden Pavilion!

Its about 2KM from Kinkakuji, so that would be about 800 yen by taxi. From Ninnaji you can walk five minutes to the Omuro Ninnaji Station on the Keifuku Kitano Trolley line. You can take that four stops to Katabiranotsuji and change trains to Arashiyama. So it fits right in as part of a full day itinerary.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flat_Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninna-ji Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Ninna-ji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing