We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ninna-ji Temple

Ninna-ji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.67*
and up
Private Scholar-led Kyoto Walking Tour: Japanese Gardens and Landscape
Ranked #11 of 1,010 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ninna-ji is a national tresure and also designated as a world heritage site. From over a thousand years ago, it has a deep co nection to the imperial family. Then, Ninna-ji is one of most famous temple which known for beautiful cherry blossoms, its wrapping up the end of the season in Kyoto - a town with many famous cherry trees.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This slightly off the beaten path former imperial palace was beautiful, not crowded and, therefore, very tranquil...the cherry tree orchard, in season, is especially wonderful...just outside the front gate is a very nice little eating place with excellent soba noodles.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    292
    63
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place I've ever seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The former palace (current temple) is very beautiful. It felt like I'm in an anime or in ancient times. The back garden is the most relaxing place I've ever seen. I would stay there forever..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sirius_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent for late blooming Cherry Blossom species”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place was filled with the late blooming cherry blossom species (white). Though it was jam packed with tourist, it was well worth the visit if you missed out on the early blooming cherry blossoms.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJ_Heng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Temple but it was devaju all over....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place is off the beaten track. I recall as I walked in to the compound, it was devaju all over again. While enjoy the every bit of it, it just look the same as the one I visited before, or the one I was going to visit....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hownang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A pleasant stop but not the highlight for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stop at Ninna-ji but compared to Eikan-do and Kiyomizu Temple it was not quite as awe-striking for us. There is one particular location just after you enter where you turn a corner to find a splendid view of the pagoda with a zen garden in front. That is really something special and if it weren't for the tour group 10 steps ahead of us it would have been a highlight of our trip.

The rest of it was a bit blah for us, the caveat being that we're long term residents of Japan and have been to so many temples that we're a little anesthetized to all but the very best. Can imagine it might be nicer in sakura season. We went on the hottest day of the year which didn't help - the heat made it tough getting around and staying well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank beroccstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninna-ji Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Ninna-ji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing