We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ninna-ji Temple

Ninna-ji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.67*
and up
Private Scholar-led Kyoto Walking Tour: Japanese Gardens and Landscape
Ranked #11 of 1,010 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ninna-ji is a national tresure and also designated as a world heritage site. From over a thousand years ago, it has a deep co nection to the imperial family. Then, Ninna-ji is one of most famous temple which known for beautiful cherry blossoms, its wrapping up the end of the season in Kyoto - a town with many famous cherry trees.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Paris
Level Contributor
557 reviews
315 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is not far from Ryoan-ji but I would include it in your itinerary only if you spend two or more days in Kyoto.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    292
    63
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Absolutely lovely, really enjoyed it. I thought Kinkakuji would be the highlight of the day, but instead it was Ninna-ji. Very peaceful and serene, not overrun by tourists. Great fall colors.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishna1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,569 reviews
683 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,211 helpful votes
“Pretty but not a personal favourite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Perhaps because this temple is slightly out of the way of central Kyoto, or perhaps as it is overshadowed by its more famous neighbour the Kinkaku-ji, we found Ninna-i to be very quiet and almost tourist free when we visited, which made it a lovely peaceful visit.
I wouldn't say it was my favourite temple, nor would I say it is the most well preserved or maintained in Kyoto, however the calmness and different types of buildings in the temple grounds made it a really interesting place to visit.
If you are in the area and visiting Kinkaku-ji or Myoshin-ji, then definitely add this to this list.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
301 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“historic place surrounded by natural beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

the gardens surrounding this temple are beautifully maintained . the temple structure is beautiful and this was one of the best places we went to in kyoto

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gayatri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet another imperial palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We got by accident to this temple when trying to switch buses right across the street, it was not in the "recommended list" that we had from friends. It actually became one of the places I enjoyed the most.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rodulfo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninna-ji Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Ninna-ji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing