We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great archetecture”

Kitano Tenmangu Shrine
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.26*
and up
Kyoto World Heritage Hop-On Hop-Off Loop Bus
More Info
$58.42*
and up
Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle
Ranked #34 of 1,119 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great archetecture”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stunning place to visit, a lot to take in and walk around. The buildings are amazing. Good place to visit worth the time

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiserous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    373
    82
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cavite City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I touched the cow and i was blessed”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Last year the Aoi Matsuri festival was cancelled due to bad weather. I went to this shrine after an old lady recommended it and offered to take me there. Thanks oba-chan! ^^! There were lots of students who were on school trip when i got there so i just joined the gang. I studied Japanese language BTW. I found out that if u touch or pet the cow statues u will get smarter! yeah~! When facing the shrine, the cow on the right side is dedicated for girls while the cow for guys is on the left side. This is the perfect shrine to pray at because soon i'll be graduating and taking a national certification exam. And so we petted its head so hard~ each wishing to give us better grades and pass the our own exams... After my trip and went back to my country i was shocked to be on top of my class (i was one of the highest but never consistently placed 1st) and a high grade on the national certification exam. Cheers!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“If you're around the 25th, dont miss the market”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

While the temple itself isnt very special and is perhaps only worth it during the fall light up, the market is a lot of fun! the different kimono, antiques and other nick-knacks makes it unmissable. Check it out on the 25th of every month

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mish_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Pray for Academic Achievement”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the most famous shrine for an academic achievement in Japan. I visited this shrine just because it was close to my main destination Golden Pavilion. Although the shrine was not as impressive as Golden Pavilion, because it doesn't take much time to see both of them, it may be a good idea to visit this shrine as well. Admission is free.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank misocutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Deeply serious / Fun Flea Market”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This Shinto experience, dedicated as it is to the power of education, is a handsome example of the balance that comes from asymmetry design as practiced so perfectly in Japan. The friendly flea market held on each 25th of the month (where we had a remarkable Christmas flea market fest) is exceptional, brilliantly culinary and brilliantly brimming with antique treasures of the kind so popular in Kyoto. From kimono to tea kettles or sake heating pots, from very old scrolls to modern "seconds" tea bowls and cups, their is never a dull moment. Easy to bargain. Easy to smile and take spectacular photos. During the best moments there are people mingling with market venders and the buying public who dress up in ensembles resembling the best kabuki costumes you will see in either kabuki or butoh. Look these people in the eye and smile . . . . . you could be allowed to take a memorable photograph. Some of the best bargains are found here and some of the best moments of contemplative solemnity. It is not Buddhist, but it is deeply Shinto, something to broaden the experience of Japan. If you find this review helpful, please give it a helpful vote. Thanks!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank KyotoBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitano Tenmangu Shrine also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kitano Tenmangu Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing