We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better the 2nd time around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #50 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Even better the 2nd time around”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I love Japan. I love Kyoto and I especially love the Westin Kyoto.
We stayed for 8 nights in October and I really cannot fault anything about this hotel
We were attended to very quickly upon arrival and because we are Starwood members were given a room with a balcony overlooking the hills. Fantastic! We sat out at night and watched the lights come on over the town and the distant hills.
The Philosopher's walk is across the road and once again we enjoyed the walk with the gardens and the temples, a must for anyone staying in the hotel.
So close to the train, but the shuttle running into town every half hour is brilliant. The drivers are so polite and helpful.
We had breakfast included in our taffif and the food was plentiful and OK.
We ate twice in the restaurant It was OK but there are so many good little cafes down the road where the food is wonderful and SO cheap. We found the Cafe Miyako just down the road really nice.
We didn't use other amenities such as the pool or tennis court so I cannot comment on these. We just did not have time. There is so much to do in this wonderful city.
If we come back to Kyoto and I hope we do, the Westin is the place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Miyako Kyoto. It was nice to hear the rooms, service and the breakfast buffet.
We try our utmost best to ensure that we exceed our guest’s expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!

Toshiyuki Hayashi 
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    950
    429
    119
    70
See reviews for
708
803
172
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed for three nights in September in a deluxe room. This was our first visit to Japan and we found the Westin to be very suited. The hotel is a typical western luxury hotel, with lovely large rooms. It is somewhat distant from the city center (about 15 mins walk) but located close to many temples and other cultural sites. The rooms were very clean, service good and the breakfast buffet was also nice.
We didn't try the restaurants - they appeared to be very pricey. But there are many good restaurants in Kyoto, also close to the hotel.

Overall, we would definately stray again in this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fimsternchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Miyako Kyoto and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Kyoto!
We will try our best to maintain the best service. Thank you again for your comments.

Toshiyuki Hayashi 
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Kanako Oguma got us tickets to a special place and went beyond her means to assist.
If you need assistance please contact her. She's the best. I was going to stay at the Hyatt Kyoto but because of her, I stayed and gave my business to them. However, the Westin is looking tired not the lobby but the rooms itself. I asked for a renovated room, new furniture but scratched, marked desk/tv commode. The staff was great. All the guide books recommend the Hyatt.
Calvin Jen

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Miyako Kyoto. It was nice to hear the concierges, especially Miss Kanako Oguma. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
We are really sorry for the scratched new furniture but hope not impacts your stay. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Toshiyuki Hayashi 
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This was a very average Westin, the entrance was fine until you entered the Lobby where you are presented with a sickly colour scheme of faded gold/yellow cream with water feature
(looks ok). The room on the 8th floor was a good size and located next to the tennis courts
at the back of the hotel. My biggest complaint were the less than heavenly beds, twin beds
too small and hard as a rock plus the pillow gave no head support, so it was a very uncomfortable sleep.

The location is good, near the Philosopher's Walk and 3 mins from a train station into town.
I disliked the automatic cover charge of $15 in the bar before I ordered a drink. The tea shop on the ground floor serves good coffee and delicious cakes.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geranium1HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin-miyako-kyoto, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and we were pleased to read your valuable comments.
As everyone knows, our hotel has a long history which has been 120 years and sometimes it maybe looks a little out of date especially in design contrast with modern style hotels. We will try our best to create an art space to hospitality each customer.
As for the heavenly bed and pillow you mentioned, it is really a pity because these original beddings are actually highly appreciated by a large mount of our guests, but maybe not suitable for everyone. We will send this feedback to our experts and would offer various option plans to satisfy your request.
At last, please allow us to explain the $15 cover charge rule, which is made by Westin Miyako Kyoto and for every guest who enjoys the time on the bar. We can understand your unhappy feeling but hope not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the Hotel.
Thank you again for your comments.
Toshiyuki Hayashi 
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I loved this town. It offers culture intertwined in the city life.
Westin is located near most touristy area i.e. Kiyomizu-Dera, Gion, Shinbashi, Shijo St.

Westin has shuttle bus to/from Kyoto Station which also offers guest to get on / get off on the way (i.e. For those who want to do the walking trail to Kiyomizu-Dera, you can ask the bus driver to stop for you without having to go through subway yourself - save you money)

I got a really good deal to stay there 12,000 yen per night all inclusive through starwood promotion. I think for this rate, it's very good value.

Room is not so big, only bath tub - no shower separated. it has heavenly shower head that they promoted, basically it's two head showers which water from the head will cover your head and body at the same time. :) i guess that's what they called it heaven.

Staff messed up my starpoints for my stay. I had to email them. they fixed it but it's still incorrect and staff shows no responsibility of it being wrong. :(

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Greetings from the Westin Miyako Kyoto.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest at the Westin Miyako Kyoto recently and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Your valued comments are extremely important in enabling us to continually monitor and fine-tune our service we offer.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience that we had not handled your Star Points properly and hope everything clear now.
Your comments were very constructive and helpful and we are most grateful to you for letting us know of our deficiencies.
We hope you were able to enjoy the ancient city of Kyoto and its many temples and shrines.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Miyako Kyoto soon.

Sincerely yours,
Naotoshi Miyamura
Acting Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My review of the Westin Kyoto is partially due in comparison to my stay the week before the Westin Tokyo, which really set the standard for our trip to Japan. That said, let me share the hits and misses at the Westin Kyoto. Overall, I found the location very convenient, just moments from the Keage subway station, which made it a great hub for day trips throughout all of Kyoto. The hotel is clearly high end, and the rooms though a little dirty (check the bedskirts...) were of the typical high Westin standards. As a Platinum, my room was on a higher floor, standard size (typical for Westin) with an upgraded city view that I didn't fully appreciate until daylight when I could see numerous temples, mountains, shrines and landmarks like the famous Heier Shrine. Great support from service express for items like ice, wake up calls, and general questions. Amenities included free breakfast for platinums, and free use of the pool, jacuzzi and sauna, which is a very nominal 500 yen for other guests per day. Also included was access to the Club Lounge for drinks and (very) light snacks. That's where the Westin Kyoto really started to fall short on our trip. The food amenities in the executive club were very nominal (short of the alcohol which was very generous). After the third night of five we stopped going to the lounge for drinks and snacks because one of the attendants cleaning the tables there and handling the food had a bad cold and was coughing on the tables and silverware which really was inappropriate and clearly worrisome (Japan is in the midst of a very active cold and flu season). And the breakfast buffet had a big selection, but is in such a cramped space on the second floor of the hotel that the process of going down, elbowing through crowds for food, sitting virtually on top of others standing in lines and waiting for waiters to bus your tables that the experience was just barely worth the effort. While the Westin Tokyo's breakfast was relaxing and peaceful, the Westin Kyoto was really the opposite. The staff was reactive instead of proactive, you had to flag a waiter down to bus your dishes or request any special items. Lots of kids crying and people coughing and very noisy. The space is really too cramped and it really is a key area of improvement for management there. Also, the concierge service was marginally helpful, but always seeming to steer their support towards in house restaurants or in house tours. Not the most helpful for independent travelers. They will answer your questions but I never sensed the same proactive mission of understanding your needs and anticipating them, and delivering more than asked for, as I did clearly at the Westin Tokyo. To be fair, the Westin Tokyo is a category six hotel vs. a category four, but I'm sure the staff of the Westin Kyoto would want to hold themselves to the same high standards. Also, for some reason, they keep the temperature in the lobby and common areas very warm, almost uncomfortably hot. Not sure the reason for that other than perhaps to encourage you not to stay in the lobby very long! Pool was excellent, decent hot tub and nice hot dry sauna, good workout equipment. Food at the hotel is astronomically expensive but you probably expect that. Some great little restaurants nearby including Okonomiyaki Kiraku, which is a short walk away and features great teppenyaki and noodles, a warm staff and very good value. Also there is a convenience market within short walking distance. If the hotel would cool down the lobby, improve the breakfast dining experience and create a more proactive and supportive concierge culture, this hotel could easily rate five stars.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin-miyako-kyoto, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Thank you for your recent comment relative to your stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and facilities. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had with our executive lounge, concierge, breakfast restaurant, and the lobby. Thank you for ending your review by positive comment. It means a lot to us! We will keep working to improve our service quality. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Online Marketing
Toshiyuki Hayashi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Great hotel although pricey if you pay the rack rate. Great rooms. Gardens on premises. Walking trail and grass tennis courts. High end restaraunts on site. Indoor pool. Subway stop right around the corner. Only drawback is you have to pay for the internet. If you want free internet, walk to the International Community House (5 minutes), register at the desk, and you will get access. Plus they serve coffee and pastries. Hours are 9 to 9.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyketoGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin-miyako-kyoto, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Greetings from The Westin Miyako Kyoto! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and give us comments. We will keep working to improve our service quality. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#18 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Property: The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Starwood APAC, Cancelon, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing