We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice big American hotel close to Northern Kyoto sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #48 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Winnetka, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice big American hotel close to Northern Kyoto sites”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

If you're looking for a large, clean, American-style hotel, the Westin Miyako fits the bill. I stayed there for two nights and found the hotel delivered everything you'd expect from a Westin - decent sized room, good service, good restaurants and nice amenities at a fair (i.e., not cheap) price.

The hotel is an easy walk from the Nanzen-ji and Eikan-do temples and the Philosopher's Path, from which you can reach the Ginkaku-ji temple. There appeared to be a number of restaurants and shops in the neighborhood although I wasn't there long enough to explore them.

The hotel has a bus that runs from Kyoto station to the hotel every half hour. You have to know where you're going to find the bus at the station as it's not completely evident where the hotel buses pick-up/drop-off. I arrived on the shinkansen (bullet train) from Shinagawa and wandered around the large train station looking for any sign of a Westin bus for half an hour before giving up and taking a taxi. It turns out that there's a Westin "concierge" at the station who can point you in the right direction (and store your luggage, etc.). The concierge is on the ground floor and in a fairly new shopping area filled with shops and restaurants.

I ate dinner at one of the several restaurants at the hotel. The food and service was good and the price was what you'd expect to pay at a hotel restaurant. It's nice to be able to stay "close to home" if you're wiped out from a day of touring.

If you're looking for a traditional Japanese experience, I wouldn't stay at the Westin; however, if you're looking for an American refuge after a day of travel/touring in Kyoto, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canucklleheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    952
    431
    119
    70
See reviews for
712
805
173
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Estonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed for one night, and liked a lot. Bed was really heavenly - as promised, balcony, amenities, bathroom - everything was luxurious.
Not really in centre of Kyoto, but if you want to visit Philosopher's walk (what is one of must-places in Kyoto anyway due to temples, shrines and atmosphere) it is well located.
Subway is close so easy connection with other parts of town.
Room was big and staff helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlWithPearlEarring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

I am not sure what the people that gave this hotel 2 stars are talking about. They must have been thinking of another hotel on their trip, because this Westin is anything BUT old and dumpy. It is new, classy, clean, the rooms and bathrooms are fantastic, the service is fantastic, great location, great views. This was one of four cities we stayed in and I would highly recommend this hotel. The breakfast buffet was good, as well as other restaurants in the hotel. Yes, they are pricey like any other restaurant thats in a hotel! They even have some beautiful hiking and bird watching trails next to the hotel. Love this place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonchamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We just spent 3 days in the miyako hotel which must have had better days... it is a bit out of the way, I would stay closer to Gion, it felt as thought they were constantly skimping on all details, you had to pay to breathe... business center and atmosphere sad

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdm28200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I had stayed at a Westin before and this place surpassed it. I have stayed in a few hotels over the last couple of years and this one became my favorite. Beautiful property and the rooms as well. I did not interact with the staff much since I was looking at all the sites. Excellent housekeeping though. There is a metro station 5 minutes away. This helped as it is not close to much of the attractions. The only regret I have is not planning for more time in Kyoto.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillinathtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I though this hotel was great. The location was really only a 20 min walk to the main area in Kyoto, the japanese buffet breakfast they have was amazing, great views of Kyoto especially on the roof top lounge, and a free shuttle that was very handy and convenient .
They also had a great workout facility and pool which was only 500 yen( it is 1600 yen in Tokyo) I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopstergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Visited Kyoto during the cherry blossom season and well knew that the hotel charge was higher than other seasons and demand was great. This hotel was relatively not close to the Kyoto JR. I chose it because of the good comments here on the rooms and also for the reason that it had a carpark at reasonable charge.

The staff who received me at the front door was very nice and spoke good English. Main lobby was nicely decorated and the check in procedure was efficient. However, the room was really disappointing. I could not find the spacious room as other members here did, not to say any up-grade. We had a triple room, which was actually a twim with a sofa bed, which made the room rather crowded. The bathroom was small and worse of all, dated and had stains on the bath tub and water basin. The tv was the old type small crt, which I must say should have been replaced years ago by hotels at this level.

I asked myself whether I booked the lowest or worst type of room of this hotel because the spacious room, huge bathroom and heavenly bed mentioned by other members simply did not come up. But the fact was, I paid US400.00 per night for this room.

Disregard the room, other things of the hotel was great. The breakfast was excellent. I also like the lugguge delievery service to the JR station office of the hotel at reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenlamsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Property: The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Rakuten, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing