We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,808)
Filter reviews
2,808 results
Traveler rating
956
1,112
506
147
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
956
1,112
506
147
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus heavenly bed bird watching the executive lounge spg points keage station philosopher's path shuttle service junior suite philosophers walk tea room silver pavilion concierge desk large hotel heian shrine bit dated japanese style room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,808 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

This is an over 50 year old hotel. And looks like it. Worn and frayed. Rooms don’t even have empty drawers. The three tiny ones are filled with bathrobes etc. Bathroom is tiny and uncomfortable. The step up into the room is dangerous. Except for the gorgeous gardens, the hotel is charmless Again why is this a westin !

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank katatink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMiyakoH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.
We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.
We are renovationg the room at this moment until 2020.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The renovated rooms are beautiful. Honestly the best shower I've ever had - roomy shower space, incredible water power, multiple water sources (rain shower, hand spray on wall, foot wash) which can all work simultaenously. Ambient lighting in room, comfortable bed, space for storing clothes, very quiet. The concierge was so helpful in recommending restaurants and making reservations for us. They also directed us to a place where we could rent bicycles - a good way to see the temples (go early in the morning to avoid crowds). We love walking, and this location provided an easy walk to many of the more historically charming areas of Kyoto. Very nice to have a shuttle bus to/from the train station. I'd recommend this hotel and we will stay here again next time we are in Kyoto.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMiyakoH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our renovated room.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

The hotel is very large, located about 30 minutes's ride away from the train station. There are shuttles from the station to hotel, but it can accommodate only 25 pax. There are number of good restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast was average but got very crowded due to conference attendees. Staff throughout the hotel was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were of average size, clean with modern bathroom. The building is old but well refurbished. I was told some rooms are undergoing refurbishment.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMiyakoH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kyoto!
As you mentioned, the bulding is a bit old.
However, we are renovationg until 2020.
Since you will enjoy the revocated room very soom, we are looking forward to welcoming you in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Visited yet again , BEAUTIFUL KYOTO - this time summer experience !!!!

Room was spacious but the furnitures (chairs) were rather old. Understand that the hotel has started renovations and in 2020 there will be an onsen in this property .

The shuttle service from the hotel to and from the Kyoto train station is really helpful.

Buffet breakfast spread was ok.. was surprised to see a Long Q as early as 7am..one has a Choice of having the traditional Japanese breakfast set or the international buffet..

This hotel has some ryokan rooms .. was tempted to try staying for a night but changed my mind.. as one has to get to level 7 to get to the Ryokan rooms .. if you come back late you need to walk pass a garden to get to your room.
For this , I wasn’t that adventurous as I came back very late most of the nights.

I must say the Ryokan rooms are pretty though ! And it gives you a different kind of experience staying in compared to the standard hotel rooms !

There is a convenience shop located at the basement of this hotel.. titbits are sold at a reasonable prices ..

The front desk staff were very helpful.
Having too many coins in my bag , I approached them to have my coins changed before heading back to Singapore.... without hesitation they changed!! BRAVO

I would love to stay again in Westin Miyako. Hopefully the next time when I return, there are newer furnitures.

Thank you Westin Miyako for making stay an enjoyable one!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank angie_marie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMiyakoH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kyoto!
Since we would like to spend much better time in renovated room, we are looking forward to welcoming you renovated rooms in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Hotel is sprawling. Took us a while to.locate our room. Room has smoke smell although it's a non smoking room. But after we open the window (our room is on 7th floor) the smoke smells disappears somewhat and get better by day 2. We stay 5 days. Easy to get everywhere with a combination of the hotel shuttle, walk and public transport. Room is nice and has a beautiful northern city view. With window opens it has a bit of noise but we don't mind that. We are SPG Gold, Amex Business Open -- no upgrade, no club lounge access offered. We buy BF pass at front desk (small discount) to try out the BF buffet. Tasteless, both Japanese and Western -- we did not go back again. Not worth the 2300 per person charge; really tasteless. (Both my husband and I think it's the worst SPG hotel BF buffet we have ever eaten in Asia, Europe and US.) Staff service and attentions to guests are impeccable. But need better language (English) ability.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dragonhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMiyakoH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are deeply sorry that you smell smoking in non-smoking room.
As for the breakfast, It is good to hear feedback from you as we consistently are aiming to improve our services to our guests.
We also do our best to improve the English skills.
We very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your valuable customers back to the improved Westin Miyako, Kyoto in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews