We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a perfect time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #47 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“We had a perfect time!”
Reviewed November 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Miyako Kyoto for 7 nights in October.
We were a bit worried about the position of the hotel because of some of the comments of other travellers, but we found it perfect for our needs.
It was a little out of town, but only took about 20 mins to walk right into the centre of the Gion district.
The staff were really helpful and gave plenty of advise on where to go and how to get there, in fact we found the staff very polite and friendly.
Our room was a little outdated, but very clean and as we are Starwood members, they told us that we were being upgraded.
The hotel is built around a central garden and our room looked out over it, it was very lovely to see.
Breakfast was included in our taffif and was OK, but a litte boring. My husband tried the Japanese breakfast and really enjoyed it, but I found sardines, baked salmon and coleslaw a bit confronting in the early hours, especially since I am a vegetarian.
The hotel is next door to a train station, which is great, takes about 5 mins to get there form the middle of town if you don't feel like walking. The hotel supplies a free shuttle bus to and from Kyoto station with a few stops between, it runs every 15 mins.
Also, the hotel is across the road from the Philosophers walk. You must make this trip, it is amazing. You come across some temples but the gardens are fantastic, some are really old, but beautiful.
I can't really think of anything bad to say about this hotel, its all GOOD.
The only thing I thought could have been better was that this hotel charged for the internet . We stayed at 4 different hotels on this trip to Japan and this was the only hotel that did.
This aside, the hotels was great. Stay there!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    934
    419
    117
    69
See reviews for
694
794
169
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

While on the expensive side, it is a very nice hotel with a good view of town. The location isn't far from a station. The staff were, as is typical in Japan, very polite, professional and helpful. I would stay there again if I didn't mind spending the money again.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttrrkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Spent 4 nights here with my wife. Caught the hotels shuttle bus from Kyoto station - to locate the shuttle exit the station via the Hachjo exit, turn to your right, walk approx 100 to 150m and across the road you'll see the New Miyako hotel - the shuttle bus leaves punctually from inside this hotels driveway every half hour @ 27 and 57 minutes past the hour . There is a signposted pole just past the main entrance door. You can download a location map from the New Miyako hotels website.
The Westin Miyako is approx 15 - 20 minute drive from the station but its location is one of its major attractions. Peacefully set into the hillside their grounds and walkways are beautifully presented and very peaceful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and quite large by Japanese standards. The rooms are comfortable and very quite. Its a comfortable 15 minute walk to the major shopping areas and the historic Gion area. There are nunerous shrines and temples scattered nearby and the start of the Phillosophers Walk is less than 5 minutes away. Taxis are always available at the hotel driveway 24/7 . We didn't eat at the hotel prefering to walk to nearby cafes and restaurants to experience the true local flavour. There is a conveniance store (Lawson's) on the main road outside the hotel within a four minute walk which sells everything from pastries to cold beer and wine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Love: Kyoto
Dislike: Westin Miyako

We booked this hotel because we are SPG members. The rest of our trip we stayed in low-budget hostels so we thought our two nights at the Westin Miyako would be a nice treat. When we arrived at at the Westin, we were told that check-in was not until 3 o'clock. This is fairly standard but often , if there is space, Westins make exceptions (especially for SPG members). We had just gotten off the overnight bus from Tokyo and were feeling quite tired and dirty. We asked if there was somewhere we could change and they took us to old style Japanese changing rooms. In a way, this was quaint. However, there were no toilets, showers, or anything really. It was quite difficult to freshen up in this situation. They did take our bags for the day while we went sightseeing.

After a long day of sightseeing, we returned to check-in. We got in the SPG Preferred member line. We stood there for about 5 minutes and no one helped us. We asked someone walking by what was going on and they said "You should stand in the other line it is probably faster." After an unhelpful interaction we switched and waited in the other line. The check-in then went fine. They put us in a room on the SPG Preferred floor (a deluxe room). Although the furnishings in the hallways of the hotel are a blast from a weird past, the room was very nice. It was high up with a beautiful view of Kyoto. The bed was comfortable for Asia and they provided tea/coffee/water. It was a spacious room as well. The actual room was standard for a Westin.

We had a wonderful time in Kyoto but we did everything we could outside of the hotel. The concierge couldn't even help us when we wanted to know how to buy multiple subway tickets. The worst thing of all was upon checkout. When we got downstairs, there was a line of about 20 people. We went over to the SPG line where there was no one (that is the whole reason my boyfriend has this credit card!). No one attended to us once again. This time we persisted. We tried to ask a hotel employee what was going on. She told us to go stand in the other line. We asked what the point of having this line open was. She couldn't understand what we were saying. I am normally the kind of person who thinks there is no reason to get annoyed about lack of English skills. I appreciate even the one or two words of English that check me into a hotel. However, at the international chain hotel!?!??! People at the Westin should speak enough English to provide friendly and prompt service. They called over another employee to help and my boyfriend told him that was an SPG member and he wanted to check out at the SPG counter as the sign said. After about 5 minutes of discussion, I was finally checked out. If we had not persisted, we would have had to wait an hour to check out. This is ridiculous! Forget the idea of the SPG line because in general the idea of "preferred" is a bit dumb. However, what Westin should have such a terrible checkout procedure that it would have a one hour line!?!?!?!?

We were very surprised at how bad this hotel was in terms of service. Our youth hostels in Latin America and China had much much better service and Japan is reputed for its customer service. Failure!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UberLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed two nights at the Westin with my husband, our son and my mother.
The girl at the check in didn't speak good english and didn't want to give us the breakfast (which was included in our deal booked on their homepage on the internet). But after a short call everything was fine.
They were very nice to upgrade us to a huge room with 4 twin beds, a very big tv and small sitting corner with 4 chairs.
The room was big and clean, but old. The bathroom too. The beds were very comfortable.
The breakfast buffet was quite good: a lot of japanese stuff but also smoothies, bread, eggs and standard things of an international breakfast.
The concierge was very helpfull, provided us with good informations and maps.
The location is not so good, it is not central, but they have a shuttle bus to the city centre and to the main stations (but not back!).
If I am going back to Kyoto, I will be looking for another hotel. Still there is nothing to complain about at the Westin, if you don't mind old furniture and bathtub.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Make sure to stay in the new wing of the hotel. The older wing looks a little worn, but the new wing was great. The room was spacious and clean. We had a pretty view overlooking the hills.

The hotel is not in the center of Kyoto, but the subway is very close and quickly gets you there. There is a free hotel shuttle that runs between the hotel and Kyoto Station every half hour (at :15 and :45?). Very convenient.

Although not centrally located, the hotel is within walking distance of many of the temples and museums.

The hotel has great views of Kyoto.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Stayed for two nights. Hotel allowed an early check in at 1230PM. Was told I was upgraded to a better room than superior. The room was a corner room and was large by Japanese standards. Problem was that it overllooked a cemetery. Not the best ambience for a vacation.

Hotel was full. Got a good rate at USD 200 including breakfast by booking early. Breakfast was in a ball room. I guess they were fully booked and the extra space was needed. Breakfast was strictly OK and not a lot of variety for the non Japanese variety. They have a lot of restaurants that are pretty pricey. Limited food choices if you are looking for non Japanese cusisine.

Overall the hotel served its purpose. Its a little out of town and if you are taking tours, you will get picked up first and dropped off last.

Kyoto is a great place for a three day visit and a must do if you are going to Japan. I would say skip a day in Tokyo and add one in Kyoto unless of course the main purpose of the visit is shopping.

The hotel is pretty big with around 600 rooms and threfore not a place with a lot of charachter or warmth. Its advisable that you settle bills early to avoid last minute queues.

They have a reception at the Kyoto Railway station which is near the Hachijo Shinkansen exit. Once you come out of the turnstiles, turn right and keep walking till you see the Westin Miyako sign on your left.

Hotel shuttle to the airport every 30 mins.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 366 in Kyoto
2,241 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,827 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 366 in Kyoto
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#41 of 366 in Kyoto
1,954 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 366 in Kyoto
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Property: The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing