We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
$348
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$265
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$275
$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$328
$274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$511
$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$618
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$337
$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$317
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$386
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$452
$298
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,658)
Filter reviews
2,658 results
Traveler rating
895
1,057
490
134
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
895
1,057
490
134
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busheavenly bedthe executive loungestarwood pointskeage stationphilosopher's walkjunior suiteshuttle servicetea roomconcierge desksilver pavilionheian shrinelarge hotelcity viewbit datedjapanese style roomsubway stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
778 - 783 of 2,658 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel offered everything I expected from a Westin. My room on the executive floor was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Although there wasn't an iron/ironing board in the room, one was readily prepared when I requested it. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, too, even offering advice on near-by sights and restaurants and suggesting that I borrow an umbrella in case it rained (it is the rainy season, after all).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banda-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Westin Miyako Hotel, Kyoto is nestled on the side of a hill overlooking the city, with the forest behind. Several temples and The Philosopher’s Walk is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly and courteous staff, both at the door and at the reception desk. My husband and I were an hour early for checking in, the concierge took our luggage, while we made ourselves comfortable in the Mayfair Room and enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea.
We appreciated being upgraded to a room on the 7 floor, which had a balcony and a lovely view of Kyoto and of the forest. Our room was very comfortable, clean and peaceful. The bathroom with a full bath and separate toilet was very clean with quality products provided.
The only issue we experienced was in the Aqua Blu dining room, the service left a little to be desired, such as, one morning we had been lead to our table and after selecting our breakfast at the buffet, we returned to find another gentleman had been seated at our table by the staff! The other occasion was at dinner one evening when we ordered a la carte and the waiter delivered some of the courses out of sequence! Annoying!
Another evening we enjoyed a lovely dinner in the Grand View Restaurant, where the service and the meal were excellent!
All in all we enjoyed our 3 night stay and would consider returning when next in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueMount-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We trust you brought back home great memories to remember.We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. However, We regret that our service did not meet your expectation in the restaurant.We sincerely apologize for the attitude of restaurant staff. I told them your feedback. We will improve our service and make an effort to welcome guests more.We hope we could welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

During our 5 night stay, we had one night in a desperately in need of an upgrade typical Western-style room, two nights in a Japanese style room, and three nights in an updated Western room. Our original room had stained wallpaper, stained carpet, smelled like mildew and the a/c dis not work well. The traditional Japanese room was a fun adventure for one night, but was not particularly comfortable for middle-aged travelers. Once the futons were unrolled for the night, there was no place to sit other than on the floor, and getting up and down from futons on tatami mats was a bit of a challenge. Because there was no designated sleeping space, the only lights were overhead, and not conducive for reading. The toilet was Western-style, but bathtub was a traditional Japanese wooden box. My 20-year old loved it but it required more bending ability than I could manage. There was also a regular shower. The bathroom overall was cramped with very limited counter space and no room to hang or store towels. The updated Western rooms were lovely, but you apparently need to ask for those specifically or else they assign the older rooms.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Cotton77025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto.
We value your feedback and appreciate the thought you have put in. We shall discuss internally.
Kasuien, is an outstanding example of traditional noble Japanese house, has 20 Japanese rooms. Its gardens and guest rooms give a true sense of refined harmony within nature.
We hope that you had a memorable stay with us and appreciate your feedback again as it will assist us in further improving our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for our week in Kyoto which was a great base for our adventures. The hotel was comfortable and we had plenty of room to spread our selves out. Service and staff were excellent. The hotel ran a shuttle to Kyoto station throughout the day which we used regularly as well as having a subway station next to the hotel. We could walk to the Gion area where we spent some time. Kyoto is a beautiful city and the hotel is positioned overlooking the city providing great views from the moonlight bar (once we found it - you have to wander through several long corridors - you need a drink once you get there)! Enjoyed several plum wines over a ball of ice while relaxing at the end of our daily exploring!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mollyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.We trust you brought back home great memories to remember. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.We hope that you had a memorable stay with us and appreciate your feedback again as it will assist us in further improving our service.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Top of the line standard and service, exceedingly helpful staff, perfect location. The Westin Miyako is where you check in and chill, be it on business or at leisure. The standard of food and hospitality is indeed above par wherever. Thank you Miyako!

Room Tip: The higher the better always
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DivineDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for a lot of good comments. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews