We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #45 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Fuss free check-in although we would appreciate more if we can check-in earlier if there are available rooms. The hotel did please us with a free upgrade though. Very helpful and attentive staff.

The room was large (as compared to the usual Japan’s standard) with a lovely view of the Higashiyama district. The pillows was however, a little uncomfortable. The bathroom was lovely; especially the huge bathtub. We had 2 nights of good sleep.

The hotel was located at a quieter district so the shuttle bus service was really helpful. And there is a convenience store located at the basement floor which was equally helpful.

We will definitely stay here again if we visit Kyoto again and will recommend it to everyone who is considering. Reasonably priced!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gayeonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a good sleep during your stay. For your comfort and good rest, all our rooms are equipped with the Heavenly Bed. Regarding early check in, if there is an available room of your reservation room type on your arrival, we will check you in . However, if not ready, we would appreciate if you could wait until check in time. We keep your baggage until your room is ready. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    922
    409
    115
    67
See reviews for
687
778
166
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We found the staff in the executive lounge excellent and very helpful in planning our sightseeing and restaurant bookings. Given a short timetable we asked them to arrange a driver and Toshi was perfect, with very good English a great sense of humour and very informative. The rooms we stayed in was non smoking western style room and my only fault was we could not turn down the heating so slept with the window slightly open. We would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HaweaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with your family during your stay. However, we apologize that air conditioning was not able to turn down enough for your pleasant sleep. Thank you for your feedback. I will forward your feedback to executive lounge team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth the price, though a bit above average. I stayed for 1 night with breakfast. Breakfast is average while the room is excellent, spacious and up to westin standard.

Shuttle bus service add values to the hotel since it provide easy access between hotel and kyoto station.

Will consider the hotel again when I visited Kyoto again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Kyoto. You will see another Kyoto if you come in a different season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed at Westin Kyoto for 3 nights. Booked through SPG with a very good price, used my suite award to upgrade to Japanese style suite. Hotel service is excellent! SPG P member is very well treated here: free breakfast, free room upgrade, club/lounge access, afternoon tea etc.

The Japanese room is located in a decent Japanese garden. My room has a huge window and you can just sit and enjoy the beautiful view on tatami. Room is very spacious and bed is comfortable. Breakfast includes 2 options: continental breakfast or Japanese style one. Suggest to have continental one as Japanese one is usually a small set.

Hotel provides shuttle bus to Kyoto station every half an hour. There are subway stations and bus stations around the hotel, pretty convenient.

Room Tip: Japanese room is perfect! Choose one with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto and also thank you for your loyalty towards to Starwood hotels. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our Japanese room with our SPG platinum benefits. Kasui-en (Japanese rooms) is an outstanding example of a traditional noble Japanese house. Guests are able to look down the Japanese garden from their windows in a Japanese suite room only. However, other guests who stay in other Japanese rooms are able to look at the garden on the way to their room. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The location is not the most convenient but it's a nice hotel with Western travelers in mind. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. They do have a shuttle that has two drop off locations in Gion and then goes to the Kyoto Train Station but you cannot pick it up for the return ride (except from the station). So a taxi or bus or decent walk is needed at the end of the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in your room with us. Our hotel is located a little bit out of central but because of that, we have a couple of beautiful gardens in our property and very close to many historical sites such as Nanzenji Temple and Heian Shrine. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Westin Miyako was a delight from the moment we entered until we left. Service was gold level - staff very helpful, and the shuttle is great to have. It is located close to a lovely hill of trees that make the outlook very restful. The brekkie buffet was good - continental ~$16 AUD but lots to choose from. Kyoto is a great city and this hotel one of the best I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Maybe a non-smoking room/floor if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulcima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant and relaxed stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Kyoto. If you come in another season, we will see another Kyoto. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We made the mistake of staying here-what a dreadful experience. They get you in on cheap room rates then rip you off on every possible thing. The main issues are listed
- windows in room not double glazed so impossible to get sleep from noise outside
- they charge you to use the business centre! (By the minute!)
- they have a cover charge to use the hotel bar for guests 950 y per person!
- check out is 11am. We requested a late checkout which they finally acceded. They moved it to 12 and at 12.06 when we weren't down they phoned our room to say they were waiting on us!
- they charge you to use the gym. The gum and pool are very substandard-like something you'd find in an amenity centre not a 5 star hotel
- when we came down to have breakfast at 9:35 they informed us to hurry on as they would be clearing the breakfast at 10am strictly. Couldn't relax at all
- the wifi only works in your room. When you leave your room it goes unless you get a separate voucher to use it in the lobby only
- the restaurant hotels are all very expensive which is tricky as shuttle buses stop at 8:30pm and there's no other restaurants nearby in walking distance

When I complained the assistant manager dealt with me as the gm does not speak English.she was very nice but did not make any real concessions to our bill which I thought was poor customer service. She did remove the business centre fee which was really to be expected given there was no sign to warn customers of the steep fee. On the whole a poor experience I'd recommend spending more money if you want to enjoy a true 5 star stay

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for your feedback again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#43 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Property: The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing