We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
$348
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Gion Hatanaka(Kyoto)
$381
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$194
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$300
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$128
$78
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$151
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
$169
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$390
$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
$570
$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,696)
Filter reviews
2,696 results
Traveler rating
913
1,070
493
137
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
913
1,070
493
137
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busheavenly bedthe executive loungestarwood pointskeage stationphilosopher's walkjunior suiteshuttle servicetea roomconcierge desksilver pavilionheian shrinelarge hotelcity viewbit datedjapanese style roomsubway stop
Filter
Updating list...
860 - 865 of 2,696 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Westin Miyako was a delight from the moment we entered until we left. Service was gold level - staff very helpful, and the shuttle is great to have. It is located close to a lovely hill of trees that make the outlook very restful. The brekkie buffet was good - continental ~$16 AUD but lots to choose from. Kyoto is a great city and this hotel one of the best I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Maybe a non-smoking room/floor if you don't smoke.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dulcima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant and relaxed stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Kyoto. If you come in another season, we will see another Kyoto. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We made the mistake of staying here-what a dreadful experience. They get you in on cheap room rates then rip you off on every possible thing. The main issues are listed
- windows in room not double glazed so impossible to get sleep from noise outside
- they charge you to use the business centre! (By the minute!)
- they have a cover charge to use the hotel bar for guests 950 y per person!
- check out is 11am. We requested a late checkout which they finally acceded. They moved it to 12 and at 12.06 when we weren't down they phoned our room to say they were waiting on us!
- they charge you to use the gym. The gum and pool are very substandard-like something you'd find in an amenity centre not a 5 star hotel
- when we came down to have breakfast at 9:35 they informed us to hurry on as they would be clearing the breakfast at 10am strictly. Couldn't relax at all
- the wifi only works in your room. When you leave your room it goes unless you get a separate voucher to use it in the lobby only
- the restaurant hotels are all very expensive which is tricky as shuttle buses stop at 8:30pm and there's no other restaurants nearby in walking distance

When I complained the assistant manager dealt with me as the gm does not speak English.she was very nice but did not make any real concessions to our bill which I thought was poor customer service. She did remove the business centre fee which was really to be expected given there was no sign to warn customers of the steep fee. On the whole a poor experience I'd recommend spending more money if you want to enjoy a true 5 star stay

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for your feedback again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I have spent 5 nights here, and the location is perfect (near from the main temples, philosophy path, and shuttle from the main station)
Hotel room fastastic Westin way, lots of dining options in the hotel and some surroundings, good reception and concierge services... a fantastic experience... plus Kyoto... loved it... do not miss it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llunastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us for 5 nights. We believe that you had a wonderful time in an ancient city, Kyoto. We pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time you come to Kyoto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in the Westin Miyako for three nights in January 2014. It's a wonderful hotel in the foothills of Kyoto, with a lot of history and beautiful gardens. We loved the location - it's walking distance to various shrines, temples, gardens and other cultural locations, as well as Gion (if you're in the mood for a longer walk). The rooms were great - clean, comfortable and big. And the beds were divine - after sleeping in a tatami room in our previous accommodation, it was like floating on a cloud. Finally, they offer a free shuttle twice an hour into town, which is great. We'll definitely stay here again when we next return to Kyoto - great value and great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank framling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Heavenly beds are located in our all rooms for your delight.
It is called that it is the feeling to sleep on a cloud.
Please come back and relax with heavenly beds again in the near future.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Miyako Kyoto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

There has been a hotel on this property since 1890. It was one of the first and largest hotels in Japan. The staff and service are first rate. The room was very nice and quite comfortable. The free shuttle to the Kyoto train station was a real convenience and allowed us to visit several other cities in the area without additional cost.

Room Tip: Don't wait until you check out to review your bill...there is no so such service on the tv as in other hotels. I used points and pay in advance but the hotel didn't bill my credit card until i checked out.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our hotel has been started the name MIYAKO hotel since 1890, after that, it has been rebranded with Starwood in 2002 and changed to The Westin Miyako Kyoto.
Next year in 2015, we will celebrate 125th anniversary. Let’s join and celebrate with us. We very look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Miyako Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews